Response from Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario

From Public Services and Procurement Canada

November 9, 2017

Mr. Michael Wernick
Clerk of the Privy Council and
Secretary to the Cabinet
80 Wellington St.
Ottawa, ON  K1A 0A3

Dear Mr. Wernick:

The Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) is actively working with our employees and the Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) Pay Centre to identify and resolve all pay issues within our Agency. Currently, our internal tracking report indicates that FedDev Ontario has 211 pay issue cases, affecting 135 of our employees, which constitutes 56 percent of the Agency staff. The Executive Committee and I are fully committed to ensuring employee compensation remains a departmental priority and to taking actions to mitigate any undue hardship resulting from pay issues that may be experienced by FedDev Ontario employees.

FedDev Ontario is a small department of 240 employees. Headquartered in Waterloo, the Agency has additional offices in Toronto, Ottawa and Peterborough.  In February 2016, FedDev Ontario transitioned to the PSPC Pay Centre and the Phoenix pay system and in July 2016, transitioned to the My GCHR system. As such, FedDev Ontario is 1 of 11 departments in the HR-PAY-Pension Landscape that have transitioned to all three areas of pay transformation.  

Preparatory Actions

To prepare staff for the transition to Phoenix and the PSPC Pay Centre, the Agency provided all employees with a “Transition Checklist” that explained what would be required of them during the transition. This checklist included:

  • Instructions for all staff to complete online Phoenix training (function-specific modules);
  • Access to Agency-led classroom training on how to interact with the PSPC Pay Centre; and,
  • Information on how to access and use both MyKey and the Compensation Web Access (CWA) portal.

Training

Prior to the transition to Phoenix and the PSPC Pay Centre in February 2016, 100 percent of FedDev Ontario employees, managers, finance and HR staff completed function-specific Phoenix online training through the Canada School of Public Service. In addition, after transitioning to My GCHR in August 2016, the Agency offered all employees additional access to Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED) information sessions.

The Agency began to implement actions to support the resolution of employee pay issues as soon as it became apparent that staff were experiencing challenges with the new pay system. These included:

Emergency Pay

To minimize undue hardship to employees experiencing pay issues, the Agency immediately implemented a transparent approach to requests for Emergency Salary Advances (ESAs) and priority payments. This approach was clearly communicated to all employees through their managers, as well as through departmental emails and the HR intranet site. FedDev Ontario employees are continually reminded that ESAs and priority payments are available to them. Since February 2016, we have issued a total of 179 ESAs and priority payments.

Tracking

The most significant action taken by the Agency has been to set up and maintain detailed tracking of all employee pay issues, in parallel with the PSPC Pay Centre reports. The internal tracking report is structured to track the number of new cases reported per pay period, the number of cases that have been resolved and the number of ESAs or priority payments that have been issued by the Agency. Similar to other departments, we have continued to see an upward trend in the number of outstanding cases, as the number of pay issues reported each pay period exceed the number of issues that have been resolved.

FedDev Ontario’s internal tracking process provides recorded evidence of the types of issues that FedDev Ontario staff have experienced. The pay issues are broken down into priority categories: no pay, at risk for no pay and error with pay. With the implementation of My GCHR during summer 2016, we began to share this information with PSPC to increase their awareness of the challenges and issues experienced in the Agency. In tracking employee pay issues, we continually compare our internal information with reports and dashboards from PSPC and Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat (TBS) as they have become available. Importantly, as a small department, we are able to quickly contact staff who have identified concerns to reassure them that their issues are being monitored by the HR unit. In addition, my HR team and finance staff have been able to prevent some issues from occurring through careful monitoring of Section 33 salary approvals. Going forward, the Agency will continue to strongly encourage employees to come forward and report all pay issues to both FedDev Ontario HR and the PSPC Pay Centre.

Communication to Managers and Employees

FedDev Ontario is committed to ensuring that managers and employees are kept well informed of pay issue updates and the tools available to assist them. I have continually provided updates on employee pay issues in regularly held town hall meetings with staff. The HR Branch also ensures that all relevant information is routinely shared across the Agency, including updates from PSPC and TBS such as:

  • Year-end tax information;
  • Simple instructions regarding the completion of Pay Action Requests (PARs);
  • Tips and Tricks series created by the PSPC Pay Centre; and,
  • Collective agreement employee pay schedule.

In addition, our HR intranet site is continually updated to provide information on the PSPC Pay Centre, Phoenix, Leave, Pension & Benefits, TBS information sheets, as well as contact information for reporting pay issues. The touchdown page of the HR intranet site provides a direct link to the Phoenix feedback form so employees can easily report any pay issue.

Senior Management Engagement

Since February 2016, regular updates on My GCHR, Phoenix and the Pay Centre have been provided to the Agency Executive Committee who, in turn, communicate these issues in their own branch meetings. Since July 2017, pay issue updates have been provided biweekly as a standing item of the Executive Committee by the Director General (DG) of HR, accompanied by our own internal tracking report.

Agency HR Branch Organization

As a small department, we have a small HR Branch that is responsible for all corporate and operational HR functions for the Agency, including My GCHR data management and compensation liaison. In August 2016, the Agency recognized the need for increased resources to support employee pay issues by reallocating funds in support of a full-time compensation liaison officer, as well as an additional HR assistant to improve timely and accurate data entry into My GCHR. In September 2017, the HR Branch was re-organized to create a blended HR Data and Compensation Liaison Unit, comprised of a Team Leader and Coordinators that are responsible for both My GCHR data, as well as compensation liaison activities. This Unit devotes a portion of its time to forensic pay work in an effort to identify causes of employee pay issues. This summer, one of our HR coordinators participated in the Phoenix Bootcamp to strengthen the Unit’s ability to better understand and identify employee pay issues.

Partnership with the Pay Centre

To build on our relationship with our new pay service provider, HR Branch staff participate in teleconferences with the PSPC Pay Centre and the HR Transformation Team at the Office of the Chief Human Resources Officer (OCHRO) to review system-wide and employee-based issues, issues of data integrity and HR data management. To date, 331 employee issues have been resolved through these efforts.

Students

During the Agency’s 2017 student hiring campaign, the Agency ensured all students were provided with a thorough orientation session, including detailed information regarding pay and how to report any concerns. We continually checked in with students to ensure they were not experiencing pay difficulties. All student pay issues that were reported to HR were addressed on a priority basis with the Pay Centre, and personal follow-up was provided by the Agency’s HR unit to all affected students.

Collective Agreement Implementation

In preparing for collective agreement implementation, we worked closely with TBS to ensure our HR data was accurately entered into My GCHR to support processing in Phoenix.

Bargaining Agents

I communicated the Agency’s commitment to pay issues to our bargaining agent colleagues at our bi-annual National Labour Management Consultation Committee (NLMCC) meetings in November 2016 and May 2017.

To date, we have received three grievances related to pay issues. Of these, one was withdrawn as the issue was resolved, one is at adjudication and the third is currently being scheduled at final level within the Agency. In responding to the second grievance, we were able to provide a detailed breakdown of pay actions on the employee’s file as a result of our detailed tracking.

Going Forward

Going forward, I am committed to continue with our current actions towards the goal of stabilizing pay for all FedDev Ontario employees. In recognition of the integrated nature of HR data and compensation, we plan to implement the HR-to-Pay Training provided by the HR Management Transformation Sector of OCHRO across the Agency and are targeting to roll this training out to the Agency by December 2017.

Further, on an enterprise-wide basis, the Agency will be participating in the “POD Pilot” with the PSPC Pay Centre, OCHRO, ISED and Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC). This pilot project is moving the operational teams in the Pay Centre to a more client-based approach, organizing Compensation Advisors (CAs) and Compensation Assistants into “Pods”, and processing pay transactions oriented to departmental needs. My DG of HR and members of her team visited the Pay Centre in Miramichi last week as the first stage in our active participation in the POD Pilot. I view our participation in the pilot as important given that some 35 percent of departments serviced by the Pay Centre are considered “small” or “micro.” Smaller departments and agencies, as a function of their size, can more easily contact affected employees personally to demonstrate institutional support ‎and attention, as well as more quickly identify potential systemic trends and issues. I look forward to offering my Agency’s full support to our colleagues at the Pay Centre in this pilot, and hope that we will be able to identify additional actions to respond to the challenges experienced by our employees.

In closing, I would like to thank you for this opportunity to provide detailed information on FedDev Ontario’s response to the challenges posed by the pay system and to reiterate that the resolution of employee pay issues will remain a priority for FedDev Ontario. I am committed to ensuring that the Agency continues to implement actions that will introduce increased stability in the pay system.

Yours sincerely,

James Meddings

c.c.: The Honourable Navdeep Singh Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development
John Knubley, Deputy Minister, Innovation, Science and Economic Development
Les Linklater, Associate Deputy Minister, Public Services and Procurement Canada
Yaprak Baltacioglu, Secretary of the Treasury Board
Catrina Tapley, Deputy Secretary to the Cabinet (Operations), Privy Council Office

Date modified:

Réponse de l’Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l’Ontario

De Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Le 9 novembre 2017

M. Michael Wernick
Greffier du Conseil privé et
secrétaire du Cabinet
80, rue Wellington
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0A3

Monsieur,
L’Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l’Ontario (FedDev Ontario) travaille activement en ce moment avec nos employés et le Centre afin de cerner et résoudre tous les problèmes liés à la paye dans notre Agence. Présentement, notre rapport de suivi interne indique que FedDev Ontario compte 211 cas de problèmes liés à la paye qui touchent 135 de nos employés, ce qui constitue 56 pour cent du personnel de l’Agence. Le Comité exécutif et moi-même sommes pleinement engagés à nous assurer que la rémunération des employés demeure une priorité de l’Agence et à prendre les mesures nécessaires afin d’atténuer toute difficulté excessive découlant des problèmes de paye dont les employés de FedDev Ontario auraient fait l’objet.

FedDev Ontario est une petite agence de 240 employés. L’administration centrale de FedDev Ontario est située à Waterloo, et l’Agence a des bureaux à Toronto, Ottawa et Peterborough. En février 2016, FedDev Ontario a fait une transition au Centre des services de paye de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) et au système de paye Phénix, et en juillet 2016, l’Agence a effectué une transition au système Mes RHGC. Ainsi, FedDev Ontario est l’un des 11 ministères dans le paysage des systèmes RH-Paye-Pension ayant effectués la transition à tous les trois secteurs de transformation du système de paye.

Mesures préalables

Afin de préparer le personnel pour la transition au système Phénix et au Centre de paye de SPAC, l’Agence a fourni à tous les employés une « Liste de vérifications relatives à la transition » décrivant ce qui serait exigé d’eux durant la transition. Cette liste de vérifications comprend ce qui suit :

  • des instructions pour que tout le personnel puisse suivre une formation en ligne sur Phénix (des modules adaptés à la fonction);
  • l’accès à des formations en classe menées par l’Agence sur la façon d’interagir avec le Centre de paye de SPAC;
  • des renseignements par rapport à l’accès et l’utilisation du système maCLÉ et du portail des Applications Web de la rémunération (AWR).

Formation

Avant d’effectuer la transition au système Phénix et au Centre de paye de SPAC en février 2016, la totalité des employés, gestionnaires, et le personnel des finances et des RH de FedDev Ontario ont complété une formation en ligne sur Phénix spécifique à la tâche et organisée par l’École de la fonction publique du Canada. Par ailleurs, suivant la transition au système Mes RHGC en août 2016, l’Agence a donné aux employés plus d’accès aux séances d’information d’Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE).

L’Agence a commencé la mise en œuvre de mesures qui soutiennent la résolution des problèmes liés à la paye des employés dès qu’il est devenu évident que le personnel éprouvait des difficultés par rapport au nouveau système de paye. Mentionnons notamment :

Salaire d’urgence

Afin de réduire au minimum les difficultés excessives des employés qui éprouvent des problèmes de paye, l’Agence a immédiatement mis en œuvre une approche transparente en ce qui a trait aux demandes d’avances de salaire en cas d’urgence et aux paiements prioritaires. Cette approche a été clairement communiquée à tous les employés par l’entremise de leurs gestionnaires, ainsi que par la voie des courriels ministériels et du site intranet des RH. On rappelle continuellement aux employés de FedDev Ontario que les avances de salaire en cas d’urgence et les paiements prioritaires leur sont disponibles. Depuis février 2016, nous avons versé un total de 179 avances de salaire en cas d’urgence et paiements prioritaires.

Assurer le suivi

La plus importante mesure prise par l’Agence a été de mettre en place et de maintenir un suivi détaillé de tous les problèmes liés à la paye des employés, parallèlement aux rapports du Centre des services de paye de SPAC. Le rapport de suivi interne est structuré pour faire le suivi du nombre de nouveaux cas recensés par période de paye, le nombre de cas qui ont été réglés et le nombre d’avances de salaire en cas d’urgence ou paiements prioritaires qui ont été publiés par l’Agence. De manière similaire aux autres ministères, nous avons continué à observer une tendance à la hausse dans le nombre de cas non résolus, comme le nombre de problèmes liés à la paye signalés à chaque période de paye dépasse le nombre de problèmes résolus.

Le processus d’examen interne de FedDev Ontario fournit des preuves documentaires des types de problèmes que le personnel de FedDev Ontario a connus. Les problèmes liés à la paye sont répartis en catégories prioritaires : sans paye, à risque sans paye, et erreur de paye. Dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre de Mes RHGC pendant l’été 2016, nous avons commencé à échanger ces renseignements avec SPAC pour accroître leur sensibilisation aux défis et problèmes rencontrés au sein de l’Agence. En assurant le suivi des problèmes liés à la paye des employées, nous comparons constamment nos renseignements internes aux rapports et tableaux de bord de SPAC et du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT) alors qu’ils sont devenus accessibles. De manière importante, en tant que petit ministère, nous sommes en mesure de contacter rapidement les membres du personnel qui ont signalé des préoccupations pour les rassurer à l’effet que l’objet de leurs préoccupations est en train d’être examiné par l’unité des ressources humaines. De plus, l’équipe de Mes RHGC et le personnel des finances ont pu empêcher quelques problèmes d’arriver au moyen d’une surveillance minutieuse en vertu de l’article 33 sur les approbations salariales. à l’avenir, l’Agence continuera d’encourager fortement les employés à signaler tous les problèmes liés à la paye aux RH de FedDev Ontario et au Centre des services de paye de SPAC.

Communication avec les gestionnaires et les employés

FedDev Ontario s’engage à faire en sorte que les gestionnaires et les employés soient bien informés en ce qui concerne les mises à jour des problèmes liés à la paye et les outils à leur disposition pour les aider. J’ai constamment fourni des mises à jour sur les problèmes liés à la paye des employés et j’ai régulièrement organisé des séances de discussion ouverte avec le personnel. La Direction générale des RH veille aussi à ce que tous les renseignements pertinents soient couramment répartis dans l’Agence, y compris les mises à jour de SPAC et du SCT tels que :

  • renseignements fiscaux de fin d’exercice;
  • instructions simples concernant l’achèvement de la demande d’intervention de paye (DIP);
  • création d’une série d’astuces et de trucs par le Centre des services de paye de SPAC;
  • calendrier de paye de l’employé pour la convention collective.

De plus, notre site intranet des RH est continuellement mis à jour afin de fournir des renseignements sur le Centre des services de paye de SPAC, Phénix, les congés, le régime de pension et les avantages sociaux, les fiches d’informations du SCT, ainsi que les coordonnées pour signaler les problèmes de paye. La page d’accueil du site intranet des RH fournit un lien direct au formulaire de rétroaction de Phénix afin que les employés puissent facilement signaler tout problème de paye. 

Mobilisation des cadres supérieurs

Depuis février 2016, nous faisons des mises à jour régulières sur Mes RHGC, Phénix et le Centre des services de paye au Comité exécutif de l’Agence, qui à son tour, présente ces problèmes dans ses propres réunions. Depuis juillet 2017, les mises à jour des problèmes liés à la paye ont été fournies toutes les deux semaines en tant que point permanent du Comité exécutif, par le directrice générale (DG) des RH, accompagné de notre propre rapport de suivi interne.

Organisation de la Direction générale des ressources humaines de l’Agence

En tant que petit ministère, nous avons une petite Direction générale des RH qui est responsable de toutes les fonctions opérationnelles et organisationnelles des RH pour l’Agence, y compris la gestion des données de Mes RHGC et la fonction de liaison en matière de rémunération. En août 2016, l’Agence a reconnu le besoin d’augmenter les ressources pour résoudre les problèmes des employés liés à la paye en réaffectant des fonds pour soutenir un agent de liaison de la rémunération à temps plein ainsi qu’un adjoint des RH supplémentaire afin d’améliorer la saisie de données rapide et exacte dans Mes RHGC. En septembre 2017, la Direction générale des RH a fait l’objet d’une réorganisation afin de créer une Unité de liaison mixte en matière de rémunération et de données des RH qui comprend un chef d’équipe et des coordonnateurs qui sont responsables des données de Mes RHGC ainsi que des activités de liaison en matière de rémunération. Cette Unité consacre une partie de son temps aux travaux spécialisés liés à la paye pour déterminer les causes des problèmes de rémunération des employés. Cet été, l’un de nos coordonnateurs des RH a participé au camp de redressement de Phénix afin de renforcer la capacité de l’Unité à mieux comprendre et déceler les problèmes de rémunération des employés.

Partenariat avec le Centre de paye

Pour tirer parti de notre relation avec notre nouveau fournisseur de services de paye, le personnel de la Direction générale des RH participe régulièrement à des téléconférences avec le Centre de paye de SPAC et l’équipe de transformation du Bureau du dirigeant principal des ressources humaines (BDPRH) pour examiner les problèmes des employés et ceux présents dans l’ensemble du système, les problèmes d’intégrité des données et la gestion des données des RH. À ce jour, ces efforts ont permis de résoudre 331 problèmes des employés.

Étudiants

Au cours de la campagne d’embauche d’étudiants de 2017 de l’Agence, l’Agence s’est assurée que tous les étudiants assistent à une séance d’orientation approfondie comprenant des renseignements détaillés concernant la paye et la façon de signaler toute préoccupation. Nous effectuons continuellement des vérifications auprès des étudiants afin de nous assurer qu’ils ne rencontrent pas de difficultés au niveau de leur paye. Tous les problèmes de paye des étudiants qui ont été signalés aux RH ont été résolus à titre prioritaire avec le Centre de paye, et l’Unité des RH de l’Agence a effectué un suivi personnalisé auprès de tous les étudiants touchés.

Mise en œuvre de la convention collective

Pour nous préparer à la mise en œuvre de la convention collective, nous avons collaboré étroitement avec le SCT pour nous assurer que nos données de RH étaient saisies de manière rigoureuse dans Mes RHGC afin d’appuyer le traitement dans Phénix.

Agents négociateurs

J’ai communiqué l’engagement de l’Agence envers la résolution des problèmes de paye à nos collègues agents de négociation au cours de nos réunions semestrielles du Comité national de consultation patronale-syndicale (CNCPS) qui ont eu lieu en novembre 2016 et en mai 2017.

À ce jour, nous avons reçu trois griefs concernant des problèmes de paye. Parmi eux, un a été retiré puisque le problème a été résolu, un est à l’étape de la décision et le troisième est actuellement mis au calendrier à la dernière étape de traitement au sein de l’Agence. En ce qui concerne le deuxième grief, nous avons été en mesure de fournir une ventilation détaillée des mesures de paye présentes dans le dossier de l’employé à l’aide de notre suivi rigoureux.

Prochaines étapes

À l’avenir, je m’engage à continuer d’appliquer les mesures actuelles pour atteindre l’objectif de stabilisation de la paye pour tous les employés de FedDev Ontario. En reconnaissance de la nature intégrée des données des RH et de la rémunération, nous prévoyons mettre en place une formation sur les « RH à la paye » offerte par le Secteur de la transformation de la gestion des RH du BDPRH dans l’ensemble de l’Agence et nous prévoyons lancer cette formation à l’Agence d’ici décembre 2017.

De plus, à l’échelle ministérielle, l’Agence participera au « projet pilote des modules » en collaboration avec le Centre de paye de SPAC, le BDPRH, ISDE et Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC). Ce projet pilote fait passer les équipes opérationnelles du Centre de paye à une approche davantage axée sur le client, organisant les conseillers en rémunération (CR) et les adjoints à la rémunération en « modules », et traite les mouvements de paye en fonction des besoins ministériels. Ma DG des RH et les membres de son équipe ont visité le Centre de paye à Miramichi la semaine dernière dans le cadre de la première étape de notre participation active dans le projet pilote des modules. Je considère notre participation au projet pilote comme étant importante puisque près de 35 pour cent des ministères desservis par le Centre de paye sont considérés comme étant « petits » ou « minuscules ». Les plus petits ministères et organismes, en fonction de leur taille, peuvent plus facilement communiquer personnellement avec les employés touchés pour démontrer le soutien institutionnel et l’attention en plus de déterminer plus rapidement les tendances et les enjeux systémiques potentiels. Je me réjouis d’avance à l’idée d’offrir le soutien complet de mon Agence à nos collègues du Centre de paye pour ce projet pilote, et j’espère que nous serons en mesure d’indiquer d’autres mesures pour résoudre les problèmes vécus par nos employés.

En conclusion, je souhaiterais vous remercier pour cette occasion de fournir des renseignements détaillés sur la réponse de FedDev Ontario face à ces problèmes posés par le système de paye et pour réitérer que la résolution des problèmes de rémunération des employés demeurera une priorité pour FedDev Ontario. Je m’engage à m’assurer que l’Agence continue à mettre en œuvre des mesures qui permettront d’accroître la stabilité du système de paye.

Veuillez agréer mes salutations distinguées.

James Meddings

c.c. : L’honorable Navdeep Singh Bains, ministre de l’Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique
John Knubley, sous-ministre de l’Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique
Les Linklater, sous-ministre délégué, Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada
Yaprak Baltacioğlu, Secrétaire du Conseil du Trésor
Catrina Tapley, sous-secrétaire du Cabinet (Opérations), Bureau du Conseil privé

Date de modification :