Response from Shared Services Canada

From Public Services and Procurement Canada

Mr. Michael Wernick
Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary to the Cabinet Privy Council Office
80 Wellington Street Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0A3

Dear Mr. Wernick:

I received your letter dated November 2, 2017. This letter outlines Shared Services Canada's efforts in addressing the backlog of transactions and other challenges related to pay.

Various communications products are provided to Shared Services Canada's employees and managers on regular basis, including messages in the Department's weekly newsletters such as the SSC Connexion,  and in information sessions  on Phoenix for the benefit of employees and managers. The Department continues to issue salary advances as required to support our employees.

In recent months, Shared Services Canada has hired 10 resources to help with the Pay Centre backlog, and to assist employees with their pay issues. A Quality Control team was put in place on April 1, 2017 to monitor the data entry impacting pay, and to process the additional PeopleSoft transactions.

Shared Services Canada is currently in the process of hiring up to 20 resources to implement a human resources Pay Stabilization team, which entails the centralization of duties impacting pay. In the future, the Department's plan is to increase its communications to employees and managers, develop and implement an integrated compensation reporting and monitoring framework, provide regular briefings to the senior management team, and implement the mandatory Human Resources to Pay training sessions.

Shared Services Canada continues to take these actions to help stabilize the pay system and ensure employees are paid accurately and on time. The Department is committed to working with Public Services and Procurement Canada to assist in any way we it can.

Sincerely,
Ron Parker President

c.c. The Honourable Carla Qualtrough, P.C., M.P.,
Minister of Public Services and Procurement Canada Yaprak Baltacioglu, Secretary of the Treasury Board,
Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Catrina Tapley, Deputy Secretary to the Cabinet (Operations), Privy Council Office
Les Linklater, Associate Deputy Minister, Public Services and Procurement Canada

Date modified:

Réponse de Services partagés Canada

De Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Monsieur Michael Wernick
Greffier du Conseil privé et secrétaire du Cabinet
Bureau du Conseil privé
80, rue Wellington
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0A3

Monsieur,

J’ai bien reçu votre lettre datée du 2 novembre 2017. La présente lettre présente les efforts de Services partagés Canada afin de résoudre l'arriéré de transactions et d’autres défis liés à la paye.

Une vaste gamme de produits de communication ont été fournis régulièrement aux employés et aux gestionnaires de Services partagés Canada, y compris les bulletins hebdomadaires du Ministère, tel que Connexion SPC, et des séances de formation sur le système Phénix destinés aux employés et aux gestionnaires. Le Ministère continue de verser des avances de salaire comme requis afin de soutenir nos employés.

Ces derniers mois, Services partagés Canada a embauché 10 personnes-ressources qui apportent leur aide dans le cadre de l’arriéré de travail au Centre des services de paye ainsi que pour soutenir les employés qui éprouvent des difficultés avec leur paye. Une équipe de contrôle de la qualité a été mise en place le 1er avril 2017 afin d’examiner les entrées de données qui touchent la paye et pour traiter les transactions supplémentaires dans le système PeopleSoft.

Services partagés Canada procède actuellement à l’embauche d’au plus 20 personnes afin de mettre en place une équipe de ressources humaines en vue de stabiliser la paye, ce qui entraînera la centralisation des tâches liées aux payes touchées. Dans l’avenir, le Ministère prévoit d’accroître ses communications aux employés et aux gestionnaires, de développer et de mettre en œuvre un cadre intégré de surveillance et de communications de rapports sur la rémunération, de fournir des séances d’information régulières à l’équipe des cadres supérieurs et d’établir des séances de formations obligatoires sur la paye par les Ressources humaines.

Services partagés Canada continue de prendre ces mesures afin d’aider à stabiliser le système de paye et de s’assurer que les employés sont payés correctement et en temps opportun. Le Ministère s’est engagé à travailler avec Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada pour lui apporter toute l’aide possible.

Recevez, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

Ron Parker
Président

C.C. L’honorable Carla Qualtrough, membre du Conseil privé, députée
Ministre de Services publics et de l’Approvisionnement Canada
Yaprak Baltacioğlu, secrétaire du Conseil du Trésor
Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor
Catrina Tapley, sous-secrétaire du Cabinet (Opérations)
Bureau du Conseil privé
Les Linklater, sous-ministre délégué
Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Date de modification :