Insurance information

General information about various insurance plans is available below.

When you are hired in the Public Service or when your work tenure changes you may become eligible for insurance benefits. The Pay Centre will advise you of your eligibility, should the option become available to you.

The Public Service Health Care Plan

This plan is optional and provides health care coverage for employees and their eligible dependants. Further information is provided in the Public Service Health Care Plan Directive.

The Public Service Dental Care Plan

Membership in the plan is automatic for eligible employees and their dependants. Benefits become payable after a waiting period of three months from the day you become eligible. Details on coverage are available at Public Service Dental Care Plan.

The Disability Insurance Plan for the public service

This mandatory plan provides monthly benefits to eligible members who are unable to work for a lengthy period of time because of a totally disabling illness or injury. Further information is available at the Disability Insurance Plan for the public service.

The Supplementary Death Benefit Plan

Supplementary Death Benefit Plan coverage begins when an employee becomes eligible to contribute to the public service pension plan. This plan provides life insurance protection to members of the plan.

The Public Service Management Insurance Plan

The Public Service Management Insurance Plan provides life insurance, accidental death and dismemberment insurance, dependants' insurance and long-term disability insurance to certain Public Service employees generally employed in managerial or confidential positions or other members of certain designated groups.

Long-Term Disability Insurance

The Long-Term Disability component of the Public Service Management Insurance Plan provides income protection for certain Public Service employees. It provides a monthly income benefit for employees who are unable to work for long periods because of a totally disabling illness or injury.

British Columbia Medical Services Plan

Eligible employees can join the Federal Group Plan, which pays 50% of the required premiums. Plan details are available on the British Columbia Ministry of Health Services website.

Additional administrative process information

You will find answers to commonly asked questions related to Public service group insurance benefit plans.

You will find general guidelines to help you understand your responsibilities as a member of some or all of the Group Benefit Plans which are provided to you as an employee of the public service.

Date modified:

Renseignements sur les assurances

Vous trouverez ci-dessous des renseignements généraux sur les différents régimes d'assurance.

Lorsque vous êtes embauché par la fonction publique ou lorsque des changements sont apportés à votre période d'affectation, il se peut que soyez admissible au régime d'assurance collectives. Votre Centre des services de paye de la fonction publique vous avisera de votre admissibilité, le cas échéant.

Régime de soins de santé de la fonction publique

Le Régime de soins de santé de la fonction publique est facultatif et fournit une protection en matière de soins de santé aux employés et à leurs personnes à charge admissibles. De plus amples renseignements sont fournis dans la Directive du Régime de soins de santé de la fonction publique.

Régime de soins dentaires de la fonction publique

L'adhésion au Régime de soins dentaires de la fonction publique est automatique pour les employés et leurs personnes à charge admissibles. Des remboursements au titre du régime peuvent être effectués trois mois suivant la date d'admissibilité. Des renseignements sur la protection se trouvent à la page Régime de soins dentaires de la fonction publique.

Régime d'assurance–invalidité

L'adhésion au Régime d'assurance–invalidité est obligatoire et procure une prestation de revenu mensuelle aux participants qui ne peuvent travailler pendant une longue période en raison d'une maladie ou d'une blessure entraînant une invalidité totale. Des renseignements supplémentaires sont disponibles sur la page du Régime d'assurance–invalidité.

Régime de prestations supplémentaires de décès

Le Régime de prestations supplémentaires de décès entre en vigueur lorsqu'un employé devient admissible au régime de pension de retraite de la fonction publique. Ce régime fournit une assurance–vie aux personnes inscrites.

Régime d’assurance pour les cadres de gestion de la fonction publique

Le Régime d'assurance pour les cadres de gestion de la fonction publique offre aux participants une assurance-vie collective, une assurance en cas de décès ou de mutilation par accident, une assurance pour les personnes à charge et une assurance-invalidité de longue durée. Il s'adresse aux employés occupant des postes de gestion ou de confiance ou faisant partie de certains groupes désignés.

Régime d'assurance–invalidité de longue durée

Le volet Régime d'assurance–invalidité de longue durée du Régime d’assurance pour les cadres de gestion de la fonction publique offre à certains employés de la fonction publique une protection contre la perte de revenu. Il prévoit le versement d’une prestation mensuelle aux employés qui sont dans l’incapacité de travailler pendant de longues périodes de temps en raison d’une blessure ou d’une maladie totalement invalidante.

Régime d'assurance médicale de la Colombie-Britannique

Les employés admissibles peuvent s'inscrire au régime collectif fédéral, qui paie 50 % des primes exigées. Vous trouverez de plus amples renseignements à ce sujet sur le site Web du British Columbia Ministry of Health Services (en anglais seulement).

Renseignements supplémentaires sur le processus d’administration

Vous trouverez des réponses à des questions fréquemment posées sur les assurances, ainsi que des lignes directrices générales qui vous aideront à comprendre vos responsabilités en tant que participant à certains ou à la totalité des régimes d'avantages sociaux collectifs qui sont offerts aux employés de la fonction publique.

Date de modification :