Manager's Disability Insurance plan guide

Process description

The Disability Insurance (DI) Plan is available to represented employees of the federal public service. The plan, administered by the Sun Life Assurance Company of Canada (Sun Life), provides benefits to eligible employees who become totally disabled as a result of an illness or injury.

This guide is designed to help you, as a manager to ensure an employee’s claim is properly processed.

Employee responsibilites

When an employee’s illness or disability is expected to be prolonged beyond the 13-week elimination period or exhausted their sick leave balance, whichever comes later, the employee should notify their respective manager.

Manager responsibilities

When an employee notifies you of their intent to apply for disability benefits, it is your responsibility to immediately complete the Employer’s Statement form (immediate supervisor or manager, 4841-E). You are required to include the employee’s exact information, such as their last day of work, Personal Record Identifier, position, job description, etc.

If your department is served by the Pay Centre:

Note

The Pay Centre will complete the Statement completed by Compensation Advisor (4811-E) form and send both statements to Sun Life.

If your department is not served by the Pay Centre:

Note

It is your responsibility to complete and send the Employer’s Statement to the Pay Centre or your departmental compensation services or human resources as soon as you are advised of your employee’s intent to apply for disability benefits. This will help to ensure timely processing of their claim. A late submission may result in your employee not being entitled to some, or all benefit payments. As a courtesy, please notify your employee once you have completed the steps listed in the manager responsibilities section.

Should you require assistance to complete the steps you are responsible for, contact the Client Contact Centre or your departmental compensation services or human resources.

For more information on how to support an employee in their recovery and return to work, see the Disability Management Handbook for Managers in the Federal Public Service.

For more information on the Disability Insurance Plan for the Federal Public Service, please visit the Sun Life Disability Insurance web page.

Date modified:

Guide sur le Régime d’assurance-invalidité à l’intention des gestionnaires

Description du processus

Le Régime d’assurance-invalidité (AI) est offert aux employés syndiqués de la fonction publique fédérale. Le régime, administré par la Sun Life du Canada, Compagnie d’assurance-vie (Sun Life), fournit des avantages sociaux aux employés admissibles qui sont frappés d’une invalidité totale suite à une maladie ou une blessure.

Ce guide est conçu pour vous aider, en tant que gestionnaire, à assurer que la réclamation d’un employé est traitée adéquatement.

Responsabilités de l’employé

Quand il semble probable que la maladie ou l’invalidité d’un employé dépasse la période d’attente de 13 semaines, ou quand l’employé a épuisé sa réserve de congés de maladie, selon la dernière de ces éventualités, l’employé doit aviser son gestionnaire respectif.

Responsabilités du gestionnaire

Lorsqu’un employé vous avise de son intention de demander des prestations d’assurance-invalidité, vous avez la responsabilité d’immédiatement remplir la Déclaration de l’employeur (supérieur ou gestionnaire immédiat 4841-F). Vous êtes tenu d’y inscrire les renseignements exacts concernant l’employé, comme sa dernière journée de travail, son code d’identification de dossier personnel, son poste, la description de ses tâches, etc.

Si votre ministère est desservi par le Centre de services de paye :

Remarque

Le Centre de services de paye remplira la Déclaration de l’employeur à remplir par le conseiller à la rémunération (4811-F) et fera parvenir les deux déclarations à la Sun Life.

Si votre ministère n’est pas desservi par le Centre de services de paye :

Remarque

Vous êtes responsable de remplir la Déclaration de l’employeur et de la faire parvenir au Centre de services de paye ou à votre service de rémunération ministériel ou votre service de ressources humaines ministériel dès que votre employé vous informe de son intention de demander des prestations d’assurance-invalidité. Cela aidera à assurer le traitement rapide de la réclamation de l’employé. Une soumission tardive pourrait faire en sorte que l’employé ne soit pas admissible à une partie ou à la totalité des versements de prestations. Par mesure de courtoisie, veuillez aviser votre employé une fois que vous avez complété les étapes énumérées sous la section des responsabilités du gestionnaire ou du supérieur .

Si vous avez besoin d’aide pour compléter les étapes dont vous êtes responsable, veuillez communiquer avec le Centre de contact avec la clientèle ou avec votre service de rémunération ministériel ou votre service de ressources humaines ministériel.

Pour plus de renseignements sur les façons de contribuer au rétablissement d’un employé et à son retour au travail, veuillez consulter le Guide de gestion de l’incapacité à l’intention des gestionnaires de la fonction publique fédérale.

Pour plus de renseignements sur le Régime d’assurance-invalidité de la fonction publique, veuillez consulter la page Web sur l’assurance-invalidité de la Sun Life.

Date de modification :