Language selection

Search

2021 public service pay calendar

From: Public Services and Procurement Canada

Use this pay calendar to find paydays by month for federal public service employees.

On this page

 

2021 paydays by month

 
 
The dark green indicates a Wednesday payday. 
 
Image description: Pay dates and pay periods for 2021

January 2021

  • Wednesday, January 6 (pay period: December 10, 2020 to December 23, 2020)
  • Wednesday, January 20 (pay period: December 24, 2020 to January 6, 2021)

February 2021

  • Wednesday, February 3 (pay period: January 7 to January 20)
  • Wednesday, February 17 (pay period: January 21 to February 3)

March 2021

  • Wednesday, March 3 (pay period: February 6 to February 19)
  • Wednesday, March 17 (pay period: February 18 to March 3)
  • Wednesday, March 31 (pay period: March 4 to March 17)

April 2021

  • Wednesday, April 14 (pay period: March 18 to March 31)
  • Wednesday, April 28 (pay period: April 1 to April 14)

May 2021

  • Wednesday, May 12 (pay period: April 15 to April 28)
  • Wednesday, May 26 (pay period: April 29 to May 12)

June 2021

  • Wednesday, June 9 (pay period: May 13 to May 26)
  • Wednesday, June 23 (pay period: May 27 to June 9)

July 2021

  • Wednesday, July 7 (pay period: June 10 to June 23)
  • Wednesday, July 21 (pay period: June 24 to July 7)

August 2021

  • Wednesday, August 4 (pay period: July 8 to July 21)
  • Wednesday, August 18 (pay period: July 22 to August 4)

September 2021

  • Wednesday, September 1 (pay period: August 5 to August 18)
  • Wednesday, September 15 (pay period: August 19 to September 1)
  • Wednesday, September 29 (pay period: September 2 to September 15)

October 2021

  • Wednesday, October 13 (pay period: September 16 to September 29)
  • Wednesday, October 27 (pay period: September 30 to October 13)

November 2021

  • Wednesday, November 10 (pay period: October 14 to October 27)
  • Wednesday, November 24 (pay period: October 28 to November 10)

December 2021

  • Wednesday, December 8 (pay period: November 11 to November 24)
  • Wednesday, December 22 (pay period: November 25 to December 8)

How pay periods and paydays work

Paydays are every 2 weeks, on Wednesdays.

On a payday, you are getting paid for the pay period that ended 2 weeks before. This is called payment in arrears.

Pay periods are 10 weekdays. They start on the Thursday after a payday, and end on the Wednesday 2 weeks later (on the payday).

The payday for a specific pay period is 2 weeks after the end of that pay period.

To find out when you will get paid for a specific work day:

  1. find the work day you're looking for in the calendar
  2. add 2 weeks to that date, and find the following payday in the calendar — this is when you will get paid
  3. if the work day falls on a payday, you will get paid for it on the following payday

Your first pay

If you have not received any pay within the first 4 weeks of starting work, you should discuss the situation with your manager and can request an emergency salary advance if needed.

Example of a pay period

Sample calendar shows days a month starting on a Wednesday, with 30 days. An explanation of the example follows.
 
The example pay period consists of 10 consecutive weekdays, from Thursday the 2nd to Wednesday the 15th. Weekends are not counted, but statutory holidays are.
 
The payday for this pay period is 2 weeks later, on Wednesday the 29th.

More information

Date modified: