Language selection

Search

2024 public service pay calendar

From: Public Services and Procurement Canada

Use this pay calendar to find paydays by month for federal public service employees.

On this page

 

2024 paydays by month

 
The dark green indicates a Wednesday payday. 
 
Payday for the month of January-Image description below Payday for the month of February-Image description below Payday for the month of March-Image description below Payday for the month of April-Image description below Payday for the month of May-Image description below Payday for the month of June-Image description below Payday for the month of July-Image description below Payday for the month of August-Image description below Payday for the month of September-Image description below Payday for the month of October-Image description below Payday for the month of November-Image description below Payday for the month of December-Image description below
 
 

Pay dates and pay periods for 2024

January 2024

  • Wednesday, January 3 (pay period: December 7, 2023 to December 20, 2023)
  • Wednesday, January 17 (pay period: December 21, 2023 to January 3, 2024)
  • Wednesday, January 31 (pay period: January 4, 2024 to January 17, 2024)

February 2024

  • Wednesday, February 14 (pay period: January 18 to January 31)
  • Wednesday, February 28 (pay period: February 1 to February 14)

March 2024

  • Wednesday, March 13 (pay period: February 15 to February 28)
  • Wednesday, March 27 (pay period: February 29 to March 13)

April 2024

  • Wednesday, April 10 (pay period: March 14 to March 27)
  • Wednesday, April 24 (pay period: March 28 to April 10)

May 2024

  • Wednesday, May 8 (pay period: April 11 to April 24)
  • Wednesday, May 22 (pay period: April 25 to May 8)

June 2024

  • Wednesday, June 5 (pay period: May 9 to May 22)
  • Wednesday, June 19 (pay period: May 23 to June 5)

July 2024

  • Wednesday, July 3 (pay period: June 6 to June 19)
  • Wednesday, July 17 (pay period: June 20 to July 3)
  • Wednesday, July 31 (pay period: July 4 to July 17)

August 2024

  • Wednesday, August 14 (pay period: July 18 to July 31)
  • Wednesday, August 28 (pay period: August 1 to August 14)

September 2024

  • Wednesday, September 11 (pay period: August 15 to August 28)
  • Wednesday, September 25 (pay period: August 29 to September 11)

October 2024

  • Wednesday, October 9 (pay period: September 12 to September 25)
  • Wednesday, October 23 (pay period: September 26 to October 9)

November 2024

  • Wednesday, November 6 (pay period: October 10 to October 23)
  • Wednesday, November 20 (pay period: October 24 to November 6)

December 2024

  • Wednesday, December 4 (pay period: November 7 to November 20)
  • Wednesday, December 18 (pay period: November 21 to December 4)
  • Wednesday, December 31 (pay period: December 5 to December 18)

How pay periods and paydays work

Paydays are every 2 weeks, on Wednesdays.

On a payday, you are getting paid for the pay period that ended 2 weeks before. This is called payment in arrears.

Pay periods are 10 weekdays. They start on the Thursday after a payday, and end on the Wednesday 2 weeks later (on the payday).

The payday for a specific pay period is 2 weeks after the end of that pay period.

To find out when you will get paid for a specific work day:

  1. find the work day you're looking for in the calendar
  2. add 2 weeks to that date, and find the following payday in the calendar — this is when you will get paid
  3. if the work day falls on a payday, you will get paid for it on the following payday

Your first pay

If you have not received any pay within the first 4 weeks of starting work, you should discuss the situation with your manager and can request an emergency salary advance if needed.

Example of a pay period

Example of a month calendar with a pay period and a pay day highlighted.  The explanation of the example follows.
 
The example pay period consists of 10 consecutive weekdays, from Thursday the 2nd to Wednesday the 15th. Weekends are not counted, but statutory holidays are.
 
The payday for this pay period is 2 weeks later, on Wednesday the 29th.

More information

Date modified: