Language selection

Search

2023 public service pay calendar

From: Public Services and Procurement Canada

Use this pay calendar to find paydays by month for federal public service employees.

On this page

 

2023 paydays by month

 
The dark green indicates a Wednesday payday. 
 
Payday for the month of January-Image description below Payday for the month of February-Image description below Payday for the month of March-Image description below Payday for the month of April-Image description below Payday for the month of May-Image description below Payday for the month of June-Image description below Payday for the month of July-Image description below Payday for the month of August-Image description below Payday for the month of September-Image description below Payday for the month of October-Image description below Payday for the month of November-Image description below Payday for the month of December-Image description below
 
 

Pay dates and pay periods for 2023

January 2023

  • Wednesday, January 4 (pay period: December 8, 2021 to December 21, 2021)
  • Wednesday, January 18 (pay period: December 22, 2021 to January 4, 2023)

February 2023

  • Wednesday, February 1 (pay period: January 5 to January 18)
  • Wednesday, February 15 (pay period: January 19 to February 1)

March 2023

  • Wednesday, March 1 (pay period: February 2 to February 15)
  • Wednesday, March 15 (pay period: February 16 to March 1)
  • Wednesday, March 29 (pay period: March 2 to March 15)

April 2023

  • Wednesday, April 12 (pay period: March 16 to March 29)
  • Wednesday, April 26 (pay period: March 30 to April 12)

May 2023

  • Wednesday, May 10 (pay period: April 13 to April 26)
  • Wednesday, May 24 (pay period: April 27 to May 10)

June 2023

  • Wednesday, June 7 (pay period: May 11 to May 24)
  • Wednesday, June 22 (pay period: May 25 to June 6)

July 2023

  • Wednesday, July 5 (pay period: June 8 to June 22)
  • Wednesday, July 19 (pay period: June 22 to July 5)

August 2023

  • Wednesday, August 2 (pay period: July 6 to July 19)
  • Wednesday, August 16 (pay period: July 20 to August 2)
  • Wednesday, August 30 (pay period: August 3 to August 16

September 2023

  • Wednesday, September 13 (pay period: August 17 to August 30)
  • Wednesday, September 27 (pay period:August 31 to September 13)

October 2023

  • Wednesday, October 11 (pay period: September 14 to September 27)
  • Wednesday, October 25 (pay period: September 28 to October 11)

November 2023

  • Wednesday, November 8 (pay period: October 12 to October 25)
  • Wednesday, November 22 (pay period: October 26 to November 8)

December 2023

  • Wednesday, December 6 (pay period: November 9 to November 22)
  • Wednesday, December 20 (pay period: November 23 to December 6)

How pay periods and paydays work

Paydays are every 2 weeks, on Wednesdays.

On a payday, you are getting paid for the pay period that ended 2 weeks before. This is called payment in arrears.

Pay periods are 10 weekdays. They start on the Thursday after a payday, and end on the Wednesday 2 weeks later (on the payday).

The payday for a specific pay period is 2 weeks after the end of that pay period.

To find out when you will get paid for a specific work day:

  1. find the work day you're looking for in the calendar
  2. add 2 weeks to that date, and find the following payday in the calendar — this is when you will get paid
  3. if the work day falls on a payday, you will get paid for it on the following payday

Your first pay

If you have not received any pay within the first 4 weeks of starting work, you should discuss the situation with your manager and can request an emergency salary advance if needed.

Example of a pay period

Example of a month calendar with a pay period and a pay day highlighted.  The explanation of the example follows.
 
The example pay period consists of 10 consecutive weekdays, from Thursday the 2nd to Wednesday the 15th. Weekends are not counted, but statutory holidays are.
 
The payday for this pay period is 2 weeks later, on Wednesday the 29th.

More information

Date modified: