Change in exclusion status

Information: Life events disclaimer

The following material is intended to provide you with information about some of the common types of change in employment situations and the effects it will have on your employment.

What is an exclusion status?

As an employee of the Public Service, your terms and conditions of employment are determined based on the exclusion status of the position that you occupy. You will be appointed to a position that has an exclusion status as follows:

  • Represented by collective bargaining - Your terms and conditions of employment are as specified in the Collective Agreements that represents your particular classification and supplemented by the Directive on Terms and Conditions of Employment. Union dues deductions will be withheld from your salary on a monthly basis and will be remitted to the bargaining agent representing your group.
  • Excluded from collective bargaining - Your position is excluded from the collective bargaining process as a result of the managerial or confidential duties associated with it. As such, you will not be required to pay union dues. However you have to follow the provisions of the relevant Collective Agreements of the bargaining unit that you would have been assigned to if your position was not excluded. You will also be subject to the Directive on Terms and Conditions of Employment.
  • In addition to the above, there are specific terms and conditions of employment applicable to various upper level job groups. This information can be found in the Directive on Terms and Conditions of Employment for certain excluded or unrepresented employees.
  • Executive terms and conditions of employment can be found in the Directive on Executive Compensation. You are not required to pay union dues.
  • Non-employee status
    • If you are employed as a casual or a term of less than three months, you are subject to part 4 of the Directive on Terms and Conditions of Employment you are not required to pay union dues.
    • If you are employed as a Ministers’ exempt staff member, your terms and conditions of employment can be found in the Policies for Ministers' Offices. You are not required to pay union dues.
    • If you are a Governor-in-Council appointee, you are subject to the Directive on Executive Compensation as well as the Terms and Conditions of Employment for Full-Time Governor in Council Appointees. You are not required to pay union dues.
    • If you are a student, you are subject to the Terms and Conditions of Employment for Students. You are not required to pay union dues; however, you will follow the provisions of the relevant collective agreement for the bargaining unit of the predominant group whose duties you are understudying or performing during the assignment period.
    • If you are a part-time worker, you will follow certain provisions of the relevant collective agreement of the bargaining unit that you would have been assigned to if your hours of work had been in excess of one third of the hours of a full-time employee. You are not required to pay union dues. Some exclusions from the collective agreement provisions include the earning of vacation leave, and union dues deductions. Part-time workers are not entitled to the bilingualism bonus.
  • Unrepresented
    • If you are an employee in a position classified as personnel administration, or organization and methods, you do not have a bargaining agent. As such, you are not required to pay union dues; however, you will follow the Collective Agreements for the Program and Administrative Services Group.
I am currently paying union dues and will be appointed to an excluded position at the same group and level. What should I be aware of?

As an excluded employee the following things will occur:

  • you will follow the provisions of the relevant collective agreement of the bargaining unit that you would have been assigned if your position was not excluded and also the Directive on Terms and Conditions of Employment
  • deductions for union dues will cease
  • deductions for Disability Insurance Plan will cease and the deductions will be changed to long-term disability insurance
    Note: Long-term disability insurance is an element of the Public Service Management Insurance Plan; and
  • you will be offered additional insurance through the Public Service Management Insurance Plan
    Note: The Public Service Management Insurance Plan is available to excluded and unrepresented employees only.
I am currently an excluded employee and will be appointed to a position that will require union dues. What should I be aware of?

As an employee represented by collective bargaining, the following things will occur:

How will the Pay Centre be notified that my employment tenure has changed?

As part of the staffing process, your departmental human resources section will be providing you with a letter of offer for the new change in position and will be forwarding various pieces of information about your new exclusion status to the Pay Centre.

How will I be informed about benefits, allowances, and insurances that I may be eligible for?

Once the Pay Centre has received notification of your change in exclusion status, you will be provided with a letter detailing the effects that your change in exclusion status will have on your pay, insurances and other benefits.

Date modified:

Changement relatif au statut d’exclusion

Information : Avertissement événements de la vie

La section Évènements de la vie du site web du Centre des services de paye de la fonction publique a été élaborée pour vous fournir des renseignements généraux au sujet de la paye et vous guider dans les divers processus liés à la paye. Veuillez prendre note que les renseignements fournis ne sont pas exhaustifs et qu'ils doivent être lus en parallèle avec votre convention collective ou vos conditions d’emploi particulières. Si le contenu contredit les autorités compétentes, les autorités compétentes ont préséance.

Qu’est-ce qu’un statut d’exclusion?

À titre d’employé de la fonction publique, vos conditions d’emploi sont établies selon le statut d’exclusion du poste que vous occupez. Vous serez nommé à un poste dont le statut d’exclusion est le suivant :

  • Représenté dans le cadre des négociations collectives - Vos conditions d’emploi figurent dans les Conventions collectives qui représente votre classification particulière, et à laquelle s’ajoute la Directive sur les conditions d’emploi. Des cotisations syndicales sont retenues mensuellement sur votre salaire et remises à l’agent négociateur qui représente votre groupe.
  • Exclu des négociations collectives - Votre poste est exclu du processus de négociation collective en raison des fonctions de direction ou de confiance s’y rattachant. Par conséquent, vous n’avez pas de cotisations syndicales à payer. Il vous faut toutefois vous conformer aux dispositions des Conventions collectives pertinentes de l’unité de négociation dont vous feriez partie si votre poste n’était pas exclu. Vous seriez également assujetti à la Directive sur les conditions d’emploi.
  • Outre les conditions énoncées ci-dessus, des conditions d’emploi particulières s’appliquent à divers groupes d’emploi de niveau supérieur. Vous trouverez de plus amples renseignements sur le sujet dans la Directive sur les conditions d’emploi de certains employés exclus ou non représentés.
  • Les conditions d’emploi des cadres supérieurs sont par ailleurs énoncées dans la Directive sur la rémunération des cadres supérieurs. Vous n’avez pas à payer de cotisations syndicales.
  • Situation de non-employé
    • Si vous occupez un emploi à titre de travailleur occasionnel ou d’une durée de moins de trois mois, vous êtes assujetti aux dispositions de la partie 4 de la Directive sur les conditions d’emploi et n’avez pas à payer de cotisations syndicales.
    • Si vous faites partie du personnel exonéré des ministres, vos conditions d’emploi figurent dans le document intitulé Politiques et lignes directrices à l’intention des cabinets des ministres. Vous n’avez pas à payer de cotisations syndicales.
    • Si vous êtes nommé par le gouverneur en conseil, vous êtes assujetti à la Directive sur la rémunération des cadres supérieurs, ainsi qu’aux Conditions d'emploi et avantages sociaux particuliers aux personnes nommées par le gouverneur en conseil à des postes à temps plein. Vous n’avez pas à payer de cotisations syndicales.
    • Si vous êtes étudiant, vous êtes assujetti aux Conditions d'emploi pour les étudiants. Vous n’avez pas à payer de cotisations syndicales, mais devez vous conformer aux dispositions de la convention collective pertinente de l’unité de négociation du groupe prédominant dont vous étudiez ou exécutez les fonctions au cours de la période d’affectation.
    • Si vous êtes un travailleur à temps partiel, il vous faut vous conformer à certaines des dispositions de la convention collective pertinente de l’unité de négociation à laquelle vous auriez été affecté si vos heures de travail avaient dépassé un tiers des heures de travail d’un employé à temps plein. Vous n’avez pas à payer de cotisations syndicales. Les gains relatifs aux congés annuels et les retenues de cotisations syndicales sont notamment exclus des dispositions de la convention collective. Les travailleurs à temps partiel n’ont pas droit à la prime au bilinguisme.
  • Situation d’employé non représenté
    • Si vous êtes employé à un poste entrant dans le groupe Gestion du personnel ou Organisation et méthodes, aucun agent négociateur ne vous est affecté. Par conséquent, vous n’avez pas à payer de cotisations syndicales, mais devez vous conformer aux dispositions de les Conventions collectives du groupe Services des programmes et de l’administration.
Je paye à l’heure actuelle des cotisations syndicales et je serai nommé à un poste exempté du même groupe professionnel et du même niveau. Que dois-je savoir à ce sujet?

La catégorie d’employé exclu entraîne ce qui suit :

  • vous êtes tenu de vous conformer aux dispositions de la convention collective pertinente de l’unité de négociation dont vous feriez partie si votre poste n’était pas exclu, ainsi qu’à la Directive sur les conditions d’emploi
  • vos retenues au titre des cotisations syndicales prennent fin
  • vos retenues au titre du Régime d’assurance-invalidité prennent fin et sont remplacées par des retenues au titre du Régime d’assurance-invalidité de longue durée
    Il est à noter que le Régime d’assurance-invalidité de longue durée constitue une composante du régime d’assurance pour les cadres de gestion de la fonction publique; lien vers la section du site du Conseil du Trésor portant sur le Régime d’assurance-invalidité et le Régime d’assurance-invalidité de longue durée
  • l’adhésion au régime d’assurance pour les cadres de gestion de la fonction publique vous est proposée à titre d’assurance complémentaire;
    Il est à noter que ce régime n’est offert qu’aux employés exclus et non représentés
Je suis à l’heure actuelle un employé exclu et je serai nommé à un poste qui requiert le paiement de cotisations syndicales. Que dois-je savoir à ce sujet?

La catégorie d’employé représenté entraîne ce qui suit :

Comment le Centre des services de paye sera-t-il informé du changement relatif à mon statut d’exclusion?

Au cours du processus de dotation, le service des ressources humaines de votre ministère vous remet une lettre d’offre portant sur votre changement de poste, et transmet au Centre des services de paye divers renseignements sur votre nouveau statut d’exclusion.

Comment serai-je informé des prestations, des allocations, des indemnités et des régimes d’assurance auxquels je pourrais être admissible?

Lorsqu’il est informé du changement relatif à votre statut d’exclusion, le Centre des services de paye vous remet une lettre décrivant les répercussions qu’aura ce changement sur votre paye, sur vos régimes d’assurance et sur vos autres avantages sociaux.

Date de modification :