Parliament Hill emergency power modernization

Fairness monitor final report, January 5, 2016

Addendum to final report, January 27, 2016

Submitted to Director, Fairness Monitoring Program

Submitted by Samson & Associates

85 Victoria St
Gatineau QC  J8X 2A3

Telephone:
819-772-0044
Fax:
819-595-9094

Parliament Hill emergency power modernizationPDF version (342KB)
Alternative formats and plug-ins

On this page

1. Introduction

Samson & Associates was engaged as a Fairness Monitor (FM) on August 28, 2015 to observe the competitive selection process for the Parliament Hill Emergency Power Modernization undertaken by was issued by Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC), issued as solicitation EP754-161586/A. Samson & Associates is an independent third party with respect to this activity.

We reviewed all of the information provided and observed all relevant activities. We had full access to all aspects of the procurement process and co-operation from all stakeholders.

We hereby submit the Final Report, covering the activities of the FM, commencing with the issuance of and continuing through to the evaluation of the Invitation to tender (ITT) Phase of the procurement initiative.

This report includes our attestation of assurance, a summary of the scope and objectives of our assignment, the methodologies applied and relevant observations from the activities undertaken.

2. Parliament Hill emergency power

The Parliament Hill Emergency Power Modernization was developed to increase the emergency power capacity on Parliament Hill between the years 2017 and 2028. With the expected completion in 2017 of the West Block Rehabilitation Project and Phase 1 of a new Visitor Welcome Centre, the requirements for base building and client driven emergency power on Parliament Hill will increase. Since the existing generators in the Centre Block building cannot provide the anticipated emergency power capacity required by Parliament Hill between 2017 and 2028, they will therefore be removed and replaced with two new and larger generators.

Public Services and Procurement Canada wishes to proceed with the Parliament Hill Emergency Power Modernization. The project will consist mainly of the removal of the two existing generators located in the Centre Block Underground Services building and their replacement with two new larger units. The existing fuel storage tank, that provides fuel to the generators, will also be removed and replaced with a larger fuel storage tank.

To meet emergency power requirements on Parliament Hill including the West Block and the new Visitor Welcome Centre, upgraded emergency power must be available by the fall of 2016.

3. Attestation of assurance

The FM hereby provides the following unqualified assurance statement concerning the competitive selection process for the Parliament Hill Emergency Power Modernization, commencing with the issuance of and continuing through to the evaluation of the ITT.

It is our professional opinion that the competitive selection process for the above activities we observed, was carried out in a fair, open, and transparent manner.

Original signed by
Mathieu Farley, CPA , CA, CIA, CISA
FM Team Leader
Partner, Audit & Advisory Services
Samson & Associates

Original signed by
Robert Frappier, CPA , CA
FM Specialist

4. Methodology

Samson & Associates was engaged as an FM to observe the competitive selection process for the Parliament Hill Emergency Power Modernization, and to attest to the fairness, openness and transparency of this monitored activity.

In accordance with the terms of our engagement, we familiarized ourselves with the relevant documents, and observed bid solicitation activities (e.g., ITT, two site visits, Question and Answer process), identified fairness-related matters to the contracting and technical authorities, and ensured that responses and actions were appropriate.

4.1 Fairness monitor activities and observations: Invitation to tender phase

An ITT was issued via buyandsell.gc.ca on November 6, 2015 to invite interested suppliers to submit bids for the Parliament Hill Emergency Power Modernization requirement. The FM reviewed the ITT documents prior to their publication.

A mandatory site visit was held on November 12, 2015, as well as an optional site visit on November 25, 2015. The FM attended both visits.

There were seventy (70) questions submitted and responded to during the ITT process through ten amendments, the last of which was posted to buyandsell.gc.ca on December 7, 2015. The closing date was December 9, 2015. The FM reviewed all questions and responses, as well as related amendments that were issued.

Observation: The ITT document was written in a clear and understandable manner. All questions submitted were responded to in a clear and understandable fashion and responses were provided to all proponents through the amendments that were issued. No fairness issues were identified.

FM summary of findings: It is the opinion of the FM that the ITT Phase of the competitive selection process was conducted in a fair manner. In this context, fairness refers to decisions being made objectively, free from bias, favouritism or influence and conform to established rules.

4.2 Fairness monitor activities and observations: Invitation to tender evaluation phase

A total of five bids were received.

The bids were evaluated individually by the evaluators, who met on December 11, 2015, to determine whether bidders had met the Mandatory Requirements. The FM, the Technical Authority and the Contracting Authority were also in attendance. 

Of the five bids received, two proponents were deemed qualified following evaluation. As a result of the Financial Evaluation a successful proponent was identified on December 15, 2015.

No fairness issues resulted from any of the noted observations.

Observation: The instructions and tools of the evaluators were complete, respected the terms of the ITT, were consistent with the principles and practices of fairness, and were executed fairly. Evaluation criteria, weighting, points and passing notes complied fully with what had been established in the ITT. The evaluation was performed as described by the ITT and the scoring was performed in strict accordance with the criteria. Consensus discussions were open, all evaluators were present, and a consensus was reached for all the criteria.

FM summary of findings: It is the opinion of the FM that the ITT evaluation Phase of the competitive selection process was conducted in a fair manner. In this context, fairness refers to decisions being made objectively, free from bias, favouritism or influence and conform to established rules.

5. Reference documents

The following documents referenced by number in this report and unless otherwise indicated, are all available through PSPC.

Table summary

The following table includes a list of documents referred to in the report such as the Request for Proposal (RFP), amendments, clarification letters, debriefing letters, etc. Each row is numbered, followed by the document title, then a document identifier such as a date or document number.

No. Document Date
1 Invitation to tender (EP754-161586/A) Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on November 6, 2015
2 Plans and specifications Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on November 6, 2015
3 Amendment No. 001 Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on November 12, 2015
4 Amendment No. 002 Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on November 13, 2015
5 Amendment No. 003 Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on November 19, 2015
6 Amendment No. 004 Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on November 25, 2015
7 Amendment No. 005 Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on November 25, 2015
8 Amendment No. 006 Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on November 30, 2015
9 Amendment No. 007 Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on December 1, 2015
10 Amendment No. 008 Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on December 3, 2015
11 Amendment No. 009 Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on December 3, 2015
12 Amendment No. 010 Published on buyandsell.gc.caa on December 7, 2015

6. Addendum to final report
January 27, 2016

Addendum to fairness monitor final report dated January 5, 2016 on the competitive selection process for the Parliament Hill emergency power modernization project.

This Addendum to the FM Final Report covers the period following the conclusion of the evaluation phase.

Fairness monitor activities related to contract award and debriefings

There were five bids submitted in response to the ITT. Two of the five bidders were deemed qualified and the successful bidder was announced on December 16, 2015.

Two debriefings were requested, with one debriefing held on January 13, 2016 which the FM attended. The request for the second debriefing was withdrawn on January 20, 2016.

Fairness Monitor attestation of assurance

The FM hereby provides the following unqualified assurance statement concerning the competitive selection process for the Parliament Hill Emergency Power Modernization Project.

It is our professional judgment that the competitive selection process that we observed, was carried out in a fair, open, competitive and transparent manner.

Original signed by
Mathieu Farley, CPA , CA, CIA, CISA
FM Team Leader
Partner, Audit & Advisory Services
Samson & Associates

Original signed by
Robert Frappier, CPA , CA
FM Specialist

Date modified:

Modernisation des installations de courant d'urgence sur la Colline du Parlement

Rapport final du surveillant de l'équité, 5 janvier 2016

Addenda au rapport final, 27 janvier 2016

Soumis au directeur, Programme de surveillance de l'équité

Soumis par Samson et Associés

85 rue Victoria
Gatineau QC J8X 2A3

Téléphone :
819-772-0044
Télécopier :
819-595-9094

Modernisation des installations de courant d'urgence sur la Colline du Parlement – Version PDF (457Ko)
Autres formats et plugiciels

Sur cette page

1. Introduction

Samson & Associés a été engagé à titre de surveillant de l'équité (SE) le 28 août 2015 afin d'observer le processus de sélection concurrentiel concernant la modernisation des installations de courant d'urgence sur la Colline du Parlement entrepris par Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) dans le cadre de l'appel d'offres EP754-161586/A. Samson & Associés est un tiers indépendant par rapport à cette activité.

Nous avons révisé l'ensemble des informations fournies et observé toutes les activités pertinentes. Nous avons eu un accès complet à tous les aspects du processus d'acquisition et obtenu la collaboration de tous les intervenants.

Par la présente, nous soumettons le rapport final sur les activités menées par le SE, à commencer par la publication de l'appel d'offres (AO) dans le cadre de l'initiative d'approvisionnement jusqu'à l'étape d'évaluation.

Le présent rapport comprend notre attestation d'assurance, un résumé de la portée et des objectifs de la mission, les méthodes employées ainsi que les observations faites au cours des activités menées.

2. Des installations de courant d'urgence sur la Colline du parlement

Les travaux de modernisation des installations de courant d'urgence sur la Colline du Parlement ont été développés pour accroitre la capacité d'alimentation en électricité en cas d'urgence, entre 2017 et 2028. En effet, le projet de réhabilitation de l'édifice de l'Ouest et la phase 1 du Centre d'accueil des visiteurs devraient être terminés en 2017. Par conséquent, les exigences de base relatives à l'immeuble et à l'alimentation en électricité en cas d'urgence pour les clients de la Colline du Parlement augmenteront. Comme les génératrices actuelles de l'édifice du Centre ne pourront plus répondre aux exigences en alimentation en électricité en cas d'urgence de la Colline du Parlement entre 2017 et 2028, elles seront donc remplacées par deux nouvelles génératrices plus puissantes.

Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) désire aller de l'avant avec la modernisation des installations de courant d'urgence sur la Colline du Parlement. Le projet consistera principalement à enlever les deux génératrices existantes situées dans l'unité des Services souterrains de l'édifice du Centre et à les remplacer par deux nouvelles génératrices plus puissantes. Le réservoir de stockage de carburant qui fournit le carburant aux génératrices sera également remplacé par un plus grand réservoir de stockage de carburant.

Afin de répondre aux exigences de courant d'urgence sur la Colline du Parlement, y compris l'édifice de l'Ouest et le nouveau Centre d'accueil des visiteurs, le projet de modernisation du système d'alimentation en électricité d'urgence devra être mis en place avant l'automne 2016.

3. Attestation d'assurance

Par la présente, le SE fournit l'énoncé d'assurance sans réserve suivant concernant le processus de sélection concurrentiel pour la modernisation des installations de courant d'urgence sur la Colline du Parlement, à commencer par la publication de l'AO jusqu'à l'étape d'évaluation.

Selon notre opinion professionnelle, le processus de sélection concurrentiel que nous avons observé ci-dessus a été mené en conformité avec les critères d'équité, d'ouverture et de transparence.

Original signé par
Mathieu Farley, CPA, CA, CIA, CISA
Chef d'équipe de la SE
Associé, Audit et services-conseil
Samson et Associés

Original signé par
Robert Frappier, CPA, CA
Spécialiste en SE

4. Méthode

Samson & Associés a été engagé à titre de SE pour observer le processus de sélection concurrentiel concernant la modernisation des installations de courant d'urgence sur la Colline du Parlement et pour fournir une attestation quant à l'équité, l'ouverture et la transparence de l'activité sous surveillance.

En conformité avec les conditions de notre mission, nous avons pris connaissance des documents pertinents et observé les activités concernant l'appel d'offres (c.-à-d, l'AO, les deux visites des lieux, les questions et réponses), soumis les points relatifs à l'équité à l'attention des autorités contractantes et techniques, puis vérifié si les réponses et les mesures étaient appropriées.

4.1 Activités et observations du surveillant de l'équité : étape de l'appel d'offres

Un AO a été publié sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 6 novembre 2015 afin d'inviter les fournisseurs de l'industrie à soumettre des offres pour la modernisation des installations de courant d'urgence sur la Colline du Parlement. Le SE a révisé les documents de l'AO avant leur publication. 

Une visite des lieux obligatoire s'est tenue le 12 novembre 2015 et une visite des lieux optionnelle s'est tenue le 25 novembre 2015. Le SE était présent aux deux visites.

Soixante-dix questions ont été soumises et répondues durant le processus d'AO par le biais de dix modifications, la dernière ayant été publiée sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 7 décembre 2015. L'AO a pris fin le 8 décembre 2015. Le SE a révisé toutes les questions et réponses, ainsi que les modifications qui ont été émises.

Observation : Le document d'AO a été rédigé de manière claire et compréhensible. Les réponses étaient claires et compréhensibles, et elles ont été communiquées à tous les fournisseurs par le biais de modifications.

Sommaire des résultats du SE : Selon le SE, l'étape de l'AO du processus de sélection concurrentiel a été menée d'une manière équitable. Dans ce contexte, l'équité fait référence aux décisions prises de manière objective, libre de biais, favoritisme ou influence, et se conformant aux règles établies.

4.2 Activités et observations du surveillant de l'équité : étape d'évaluation de l'appel d'offres

Cinq offres ont été reçues en réponse à l'AO.

Les offres ont été évaluées individuellement par les évaluateurs, qui se sont réunis le 11 décembre 2015, afin de déterminer si les soumissionnaires avaient répondu aux exigences obligatoires. Le SE, l'autorité technique et l'autorité contractante étaient également présents.

Des cinq offres reçues, deux soumissionnaires se sont qualifiés suite à l'évaluation. L'évaluation financière a permis d'identifier le soumissionnaire gagnant le 15 décembre 2015.

Aucun problème d'équité n'a été décelé à partir des observations notées.

Observation : Les instructions et les outils des évaluateurs étaient complets, respectaient les modalités de l'AO, étaient conformes aux principes et aux pratiques en matière d'équité, et ils ont été exécutés de façon équitable. Les critères d'évaluation, la pondération, les points et les notes de passage respectaient intégralement ce qui avait été établi dans l'AO. L'évaluation a été exécutée telle que la décrivait l'AO et l'attribution des points a été effectuée en respectant rigoureusement les critères énoncés. Les discussions consensuelles étaient ouvertes et tous les évaluateurs étaient présents, et un consensus a été atteint pour tous les critères.

Sommaire des résultats du SE : Selon le SE, l'étape de l'évaluation de l'AO du processus de sélection concurrentiel a été menée d'une manière équitable. Dans ce contexte, l'équité fait référence aux décisions prises de manière objective, libre de biais, favoritisme ou influence, et se conformant aux règles établies.

5. Documents de référence

Les documents suivants sont cités dans le présent rapport. À moins d'indication contraire, ils peuvent être obtenus auprès de SPAC.

Sommaire du tableau

Le tableau suivant présente une liste des documents qui sont mentionnés dans le rapport, par exemple la demande de propositions (DP), les modifications, les lettres de précisions et les lettres d'information. Chaque ligne porte un numéro, suivi du titre du document et d'un identificateur, soit la date ou le numéro du document.

No. Document Date
1 Appel d'offres (EP754-161586/A) Publié sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 6 novembre 2015
2 Plans et devis Publié sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 6 novembre 2015
3 Modification no. 001 Publié sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 12 novembre 2015
4 Modification no. 002 Publié sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 13 novembre 2015
5 Modification no. 003 Publié sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 19 novembre 2015
6 Modification no. 004 Publié sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 25 novembre 2015
7 Modification no. 005 Publié sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 25 novembre 2015
8 Modification no. 006 Publié sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 30 novembre 2015
9 Modification no. 007 Publié sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 1 décembre 2015
10 Modification no. 008 Publié sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 3 décembre 2015
11 Modification no. 009 Publié sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 3 décembre 2015
12 Modification no. 010 Publié sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 7 décembre 2015

6. Addenda au rapport final
27 janvier 2016

Addenda au rapport final de surveillance de l'équité en date du 5 janvier 2016 concernant le processus de sélection concurrentiel concernant la modernisation des installations de courant d'urgence sur la Colline du parlement.

Le présent addenda au rapport final de SE porte sur la période ultérieure à la fin de la phase d'évaluation. 

Activités du surveillant de l'équité relatives à l'adjudication du contrat et aux comptes rendus

Cinq soumissions ont été reçues en réponse à l'appel d'offres. Deux soumissionnaires se sont qualifiés suite à l'évaluation et le soumissionnaire gagnant a été annoncé le 16 décembre 2015.

Deux comptes rendus ont été demandés, un des comptes rendus a eu lieu le 13 janvier 2016 et le SE était présent. La demande pour le deuxième compte rendu a été retirée le 20 janvier 2016. 

Attestation d'assurance du Surveillant de l'équité

Le SE fournit l'énoncé d'assurance sans réserve à l'égard du processus de sélection concurrentiel concernant la modernisation des installations de courant d'urgence sur la Colline du parlement.

Selon notre opinion professionnelle, le processus de sélection concurrentiel que nous avons observé a été mené en conformité avec les critères d'équité, d'ouverture et de transparence.

Original signé par
Mathieu Farley, CPA, CA, CIA, CISA
Chef d'équipe de la SE
Associé, Audit et services-conseil
Samson et Associés

Original signé par
Robert Frappier, CPA, CA
Spécialiste en SE

Date de modification :