Centre Block Rehabilitation—Project management support services planning

Fairness monitor final report, January 21, 2016

Addendum to final report, March 9, 2016

Submitted to Director, Fairness Monitoring Program

Submitted by Samson & Associates

On this page

1. Introduction

Samson & Associates was engaged as a Fairness Monitor (FM) on March 6, 2015 to observe the competitive selection process for Project Management Support Services (PMSS) with respect to the Centre Block Rehabilitation Project issued by Public Services Procurement Canada (PSPC) as a result of solicitation EP748-161451/A published November 24, 2015. Samson & Associates is an independent third party with respect to this activity.

We reviewed all of the information provided and observed all relevant activities. We had full access to all aspects of the procurement process and co-operation from all stakeholders.

We hereby submit the Final Report, covering the activities observed by the FM, commencing with the issuance of the Request for Proposal (RFP) and continuing through to the RFP evaluation phase.

This report includes our attestation of assurance, a summary of the scope and objectives of our assignment, the methodologies applied and relevant observations from the activities undertaken.

2. Attestation of assurance

The FM hereby provides the following unqualified assurance statement concerning the competitive selection process for PMSS with respect to the Centre Block Rehabilitation Project, commencing with the issuance of the RFP and continuing through to the close of the RFP evaluation phase.

It is our professional opinion that the competitive selection process for the above activities we observed was carried out in a fair, open, and transparent manner.

Original signed by
Mathieu Farley, CPA auditor, CA, CIA, CISA
FM Team Leader
Partner, Audit & Advisory Services
Samson & Associates

Original signed by
Jocelyne Lafrenière, CPA, CA
FM Specialist

3. Project requirement

The purpose of the RFP is to select a supplier to enter into a contract with PSPC to provide the resources for the purpose of rendering PMSS.

As described in the Statement of Work, PSPC wishes to retain the services of:

The RFP was issued against the Task and Solutions Professional Services Supply Arrangement (TSPS SA) – Real Property Project Management Services Stream, PSPC File No. E60ZN-15TSPS whereas all terms and conditions of the TSPS SA apply and will be incorporated into the resulting contract.

The request was only open to two qualified TSPS SA holders (set aside aboriginal).

4. Methodology

Samson & Associates was engaged as a FM to observe the competitive acquisition process for PMSS with respect to the Centre Block Rehabilitation Project and to attest to the fairness, openness and transparency of this monitored activity.

In accordance with the terms of our engagement, we familiarized ourselves with the relevant documents, observed bid solicitation activities (for example, the RFP, questions and answers, amendments issued and bid evaluation), identified fairness-related matters to the contracting and technical authorities, and we ensured that responses and actions were reasonable and appropriate.

4.1 Fairness monitor activities and observations request for proposal phase

In accordance with TSPS SA terms, the RFP for PMSS with respect to the Centre Block Rehabilitation Project was distributed by email to the two eligible organizations (aboriginal set aside) and a Notice for Proposed Procurement was posted on the Government Electronic Tendering Service, buyandsell.gc.ca, on November 24, 2015. Proponents were requested to submit questions up to five calendar days before bid closing. The RFP closed on December 14, 2015.

The FM reviewed the RFP document as well as the communications related to the questions received and the answers given by the contracting authority. Three questions were submitted by industry. Responses were provided through amendments that were sent to proponents by emails, with the last one being sent on December 9, 2015.

Observation: The RFP document was written in a clear and understandable manner. All questions submitted were responded to in a clear and understandable fashion and responses were provided to all proponents through the amendments issued. No fairness issues were identified as part of our review. 

Fairness monitor summary of findings: It is the opinion of the FM that the RFP Phase of the process was conducted in a fair manner. In this context, fairness refers to decisions being made objectively, free from bias, favouritism or influence and conform to established rules.

4.2 Fairness monitor activities and observations request for proposal evaluation phase

The FM reviewed the detailed evaluation forms that were developed and provided to the evaluators to determine if the evaluation criteria fully met the mandatory and the technical criterion established in the RFP.

At bid closing, only one firm submitted a bid to provide services under the contract. The bid was evaluated by two technical evaluators. The two evaluators attended the consensus meeting on December 22, 2015 along with the Centre Block Procurement Directorate Director and Supply Team Leader. The FM was present at the consensus meeting.

The evaluators compared their results which were compiled in a consensus form. The firm was deemed compliant with all the RFP requirements. The financial bid was opened at the end of the consensus meeting.

The evaluation phase concluded on January 19, 2016 once all the required verifications (integrity check and public servant status) were completed.

Observation: The evaluation form submitted to the evaluators was complete, respected the terms of the RFP and were consistent with the principles and practices of fairness, and they were executed fairly. The bidder met all the mandatory criteria and the minimum score set for the technical criteria. The scoring was attributed in strict accordance with the criteria.

The evaluation complied fully with what had been established in the RFP. Consensus discussions were open, all evaluators were present, and a consensus was reached for all the criteria.

Fairness monitor summary of findings: It is the opinion of the FM that the RFP Evaluation Phase of the process was conducted in a fair manner. In this context, fairness refers to decisions being made objectively, free from bias, favouritism or influence and conform to established rules.

5. Reference documents

The following RFP document is available throughPSPC.

No. Documents Document date/number
1 Request for Proposal Sent to proponents by email and published on buyandsell.gc.ca on November 24, 2015
2 Amendment no. 1 - English and French Sent to proponents by email on December 1, 2015
3 Amendment no. 2 - English and French Sent to proponents by email on December 9, 2015
4 Amendment no. 3 - English and French Sent to proponents by email on December 9, 2015

6. Addendum to final report, March 9, 2016

Addendum to the fairness monitor final report dated January 21, 2016 for Project Management Support Services with respect to the Centre Block Rehabilitation Project

This Addendum to the FM Final Report covers the period following the conclusion of the evaluation phase.

Fairness monitor activities related to contract award and debriefings

One bid was received in response to the Request for Proposal and the bid was deemed to be compliant during the consensus meeting.

The contract was issued on March 1, 2016 once all required verifications were completed and consultants’ security clearance were obtained.

No debriefing was requested.

Fairness monitor attestation of assurance

The FM hereby provides the following unqualified assurance statement concerning the competitive procurement process for Project Management Support Services with respect to the Centre Block Rehabilitation Project.

It is our professional opinion that the competitive procurement process we observed was carried out in a fair, open and transparent manner.

Original signed by
Mathieu Farley, CPA auditor, CA, CIA, CISA
FM Team Leader
Partner, Audit & Advisory
Samson & Associates

Original signed by
Jocelyne Lafrenière, CPA, CA
FM Specialist

Date modified:

Réhabilitation de l’édifice du centre – Services de support à la gestion de projet pour la planification

Rapport final du surveillant de l'équité, 21 janvier 2016

Addenda au rapport final, 9 mars 2016

Soumis au directeur, Direction de la surveillance de l’équité

Soumis par Samson & Associés

Sur cette page

1. Introduction

Les services de Samson & Associés ont été retenus à titre de surveillant de l'équité (SE) le 6 mars 2015 pour observer le processus de sélection concurrentiel du service de support à la gestion de projet (SSGP) concernant le projet de réhabilitation de l'édifice du Centre entrepris par Services publics et approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) dans le cadre de l'appel d'offres EP748-161451/A publiée le 24 novembre 2015. Samson & Associés est un tiers indépendant à l’égard de cette activité.

Nous avons révisé l'ensemble des informations fournies, observé toutes les activités pertinentes. Nous avons eu un accès complet à tous les aspects du processus d'acquisition et obtenu la collaboration de tous les intervenants.

Vous trouverez ci-joint le rapport final concernant les activités du SE, allant de la publication de la demande de proposition (DDP) jusqu'à l'étape de l’évaluation de la DDP.

Le présent rapport comprend un sommaire de la portée et des objectifs de notre mandat, des détails relatifs aux méthodologies appliquées et des constats pertinents découlant des activités entreprises.

2. Attestation d’assurance

Le SE émet par la présente l’énoncé d’assurance sans réserve concernant le processus de sélection concurrentiel pour le SSGP à l’égard du projet de réhabilitation de l'édifice du Centre, à commencer par la publication de la DDP jusqu'à la clôture de l’étape d’évaluation de la DDP.

Selon notre opinion professionnelle, le processus de sélection concurrentiel que nous avons observé ci-dessus a été mené en conformité avec les critères d'équité, d'ouverture et de transparence.

Original signé par
Mathieu Farley, CPA auditeur, CA, CIA, CISA
Spécialiste SE
Associé, Vérification et services-conseils
Samson & Associés

Original signé par
Jocelyne Lafrenière, CPA, CA
Spécialiste SE

3. Exigences du services de soutien en gestion de projet

Le but de la DDP est de sélectionner un fournisseur pour établir un contrat avec SPAC pour fournir les ressources nécessaires pour desservir les SSGP.

Comme il est stipulé dans l’énoncé des travaux, SPAC souhaite retenir les services de :

La DDP a été publiée suivant l’arrangement en matière d’approvisionnement en services professionnels centrés sur les tâches et les solutions (DAMA SPTS) –  volet des Services en gestion de projet de biens immobiliers, SPAC no. E60ZN-15TSPS où les conditions de la DAMA SPTS s’appliquent et seront ajoutés au contrat qui en résulte.

La demande s’ouvrait seulement à deux titulaires qualifiés d’un DAMA SPTS (sans compter les entreprises autochtones).

4. Méthodologie

Les services de Samson et Associés ont été retenus comme surveillant de l'équité pour observer le processus de sélection concurrentiel pour SSGP concernant le projet de réhabilitation de l'Édifice du Centre, et pour attester de l'équité, de l'ouverture et de la transparence de cette activité.

En conformité avec les exigences de notre mandat, nous avons pris connaissance des documents pertinents et observé les activités relatives à l’appel d’offres (c’est-à-dire, la DDP, les questions et réponses, les modifications publiées et les évaluations des soumissions), nous avons soumis les points relatifs à l'équité à l'attention des autorités contractantes et techniques, puis vérifié si les réponses et les mesures prises étaient raisonnables et appropriées.

4.1 Activités et observations du surveillant de l'équité à l’étape de la publication de la demande de proposition

Selon les modalités de DAMA SPTS, la DDP pour SSGP concernant le projet de réhabilitation de l'édifice du Centre a été envoyée par courriel aux deux entreprises admissibles (sans compter les entreprises autochtones) et un Avis de projet de marchés (APM) a été publié sur le Service électronique d'appels d'offres du gouvernement achatsetventes.gc.ca le 24 novembre 2015. Les questions des soumissionnaires devaient être soumises au moins dix jours civils avant la date de clôture de la soumission. La date limite de la DDP était le 14 décembre 2015.

Le SE a examiné la DDP et toutes les communications relatives aux questions soumises et aux réponses fournies par l’autorité contractante. Les soumissionnaires ont soumis trois questions et les réponses ont été fournies par l’entremise de modifications envoyées par courriel aux fournisseurs. La dernière modification a été envoyée le 9 décembre 2015.

Observation : La DDP a été rédigée de manière claire et compréhensible. Les questions soulevées ont été traitées et répondues de manière claire et compréhensible, et elles ont été communiquées à tous les fournisseurs en temps opportun, par la publication de modifications. Aucune lacune en matière d’équité n’a été observée.

Sommaire des résultats du SE : Selon le surveillant de l'équité, l’étape de la DDP a été menée d'une manière équitable. Dans ce contexte, l'équité fait référence aux décisions prises de manière objective, libre de biais, favoritisme ou influence, et se conformant aux règles établies.

4.2 Activités et observations du surveillant de l'équité à l’étape de l’évaluation de la publication de la demande de proposition

Le SE a examiné les formulaires détaillés d’évaluation destinés aux évaluateurs afin de déterminer si les critères d’évaluation répondaient à toutes les exigences obligatoires et techniques, telles qu’établies préalablement dans la DDP.

À la fermeture de l’appel d’offres, une seule entreprise avait fait une proposition selon les critères du contrat. La proposition a été évaluée par deux évaluateurs techniques. Les deux évaluateurs techniques de même que le directeur des achats pour l'édifice du Centre et le chef d'équipe d'approvisionnement ont participé à la rencontre consensuelle qui a eu lieu le 22 décembre 2015. Le SE était présent à cette rencontre.

Les évaluateurs ont comparé les résultats qui étaient compilés dans un formulaire de consensus et l’entreprise a été jugée conforme à toutes les exigences de la DDP. La proposition financière a été ouverte à la fin de la rencontre consensuelle.

L’étape de l’évaluation a pris fin le 19 janvier 2016, une fois les vérifications obligatoires complétées (vérification d’intégrité et du statut de fonctionnaire).

Observation : Le formulaire d’évaluation soumis aux évaluateurs était complet, respectait les modalités de la DDP et était conforme aux principes et aux pratiques en matière d’équité. Le soumissionnaire a rencontré tous les critères et le pointage déterminé pour les critères techniques. L'attribution des points a été effectuée en respectant rigoureusement les critères énoncés.

L’évaluation respectait intégralement ce qui avait été établi dans la DDP. Les discussions consensuelles étaient ouvertes, tous les évaluateurs étaient présents, et un consensus a été atteint pour tous les critères.

Sommaire des résultats du surveillant de l'équité : Selon le surveillant de l'équité, l’étape de l’évaluation de la DDP a été menée d'une manière équitable. Dans ce contexte, l'équité fait référence aux décisions prises de manière objective, libre de biais, favoritisme ou influence, et se conformant aux règles établies.

5. Documents de références

Les documents suivants ils peuvent être obtenus auprès de SPAC.

No. Documents Date
1 Demande de proposition Envoyé par courriel aux soumissionnaires et publié sur achatsetventes.gc.ca
le 24 novembre 2015
2 Modification no. 001
– Anglais et français
Envoyé par courriel aux soumissionnaires le 1er décembre 2015
3 Modification no. 002
– Anglais et français
Envoyé par courriel aux soumissionnaires le 9 décembre 2015
4 Modification no. 003
– Anglais et français
Envoyé par courriel aux soumissionnaires le 9 décembre 2015

6. Addenda au rapport final, 9 mars 2016

Addenda au rapport final de surveillance de l’équité en date du 21 janvier 2016 pour le service de soutien à la gestion de projet concernant le projet de réhabilitation de l'édifice du Centre

Le présent addenda au rapport final de surveillance de l’équité porte sur la période ultérieure à la fin de la phase d’évaluation. 

Activités du surveillant de l'équité relatives à l’adjudication du contrat et aux comptes rendus

Une soumission a été reçue en réponse à la demande de proposition, et elle a été jugée conforme durant la rencontre consensuelle.

Le contrat a été signé le 1 mars 2013 suite à l’achèvement des vérifications requises et l’obtention par les consultants des côtes de sécurité requises.

Aucun compte rendu n’a été demandé.

Attestation d’assurance du surveillant de l’équité

Le surveillant de l’équité donne une assurance de qualité sans réserve à l’égard du processus d’approvisionnement concurrentiel pour le service de soutien à la gestion de projet concernant le projet de réhabilitation de l'édifice du Centre.

Selon notre opinion professionnelle, le processus d’approvisionnement concurrentiel que nous avons observé a été mené en conformité avec les critères d’équité, d’ouverture et de transparence.

Original signé par
Mathieu Farley, CPA auditeur, CA, CIA, CISA
Spécialiste SE
Associé, Vérification et services-conseils
Samson & Associés

Original signé par
Jocelyne Lafrenière, CPA, CA
Spécialiste SE

Date de modification :