Canada Four Corners Full Envelope Rehabilitation construction management services

Fairness monitor final report, October 31, 2016

Addendum to final report, November 21, 2016

Submitted to Director, Fairness Monitoring Program

Submitted by Knowles Consultancy Services Inc. and Hill International Inc. in joint venture

On this page

Background and introduction

As Fairness Monitor (FM), Knowles Consultancy Services Inc. and Hill International Inc. in Joint Venture (hereafter referred to as the Fairness Monitor) hereby submits its Fairness Monitor Contractor's Final Report pertaining to the competitive procurement process for Canada Four Corners Full Envelope Rehabilitation Construction Management services. This procurement process was undertaken by Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) through Request for Proposals (RFP) Solicitation Number EP783-162280/A.

Knowles Consultancy Services Inc. and Hill International Inc. in Joint Venture is an independent third party with respect to this activity.

This Final Report covers our activities from July 5, 2016, at which time the RFP was being drafted through the RFP phase, to the evaluation of Proposals received and the selection of a recommended bidder.

This report includes our attestation of assurance, a summary of the scope and objectives of our assignment, the methodologies applied, and details of our activities, including any relevant findings from the activities undertaken.

Project requirement

PSPC is rehabilitating the Canada Four Corners building located at 93 Sparks Street at the northwest corner of Sparks and Metcalfe Streets in downtown Ottawa. The façade consists of Nepean sandstone, with dressed Ohio sandstone detailing on the second and third floors and Indiana limestone on the ground floor. The structure consists of load bearing masonry walls. The building is currently unoccupied due to concerns related to the structural integrity of the eastern masonry wall.

The building is designated as a "Recognized" Federal Heritage Building.

This procurement is to acquire the services of a Construction Management contractor that will hold and administer construction sub-contracts that will encompass the following work:

  • Site work including excavation and reinstatement to allow access to ground services and drainage and other landscaping
  • Masonry for all the elements of the south and east façades
  • Masonry cleaning
  • Windows and doors removal and restoration/rehabilitation
  • Roof rehabilitation of the mansard copper roof
  • Interior work to facilitate exterior work
  • Testing and investigations

Optional construction activities that may be approved include mechanical upgrades, internal renovations, fire protection system upgrades, elevator replacement and Marshall building roof replacement.

Under a separate contract PSPC has leased and constructed scaffolding on the east and south façades. PSPC intends to novate this contract to the Construction Manager.

Attestation of assurance

The Fairness Monitor hereby provides the unqualified assurance statement which follows concerning the competitive procurement process for Canada Four Corners Full Envelope Rehabilitation Construction Management Services.

It is the professional opinion of the Fairness Monitor that the competitive procurement process we observed was conducted in a fair, open and transparent manner.

Note: For all references in this report concerning fairness related comments being provided to project officials, it is confirmed that, as necessary, project officials provided clarification to the Fairness Monitor (FM) or took appropriate action to address the comments, and as a result no fairness deficiencies were recorded.

Original signed by
Roger Bridges
President
Knowles Consultancy Services Inc.
FM Contractor’s Representative

Original signed by
Bruce Maynard P. Eng.
FM Team Leader

Original signed by
Peter Woods
FM Specialist

Objectives of the fairness monitor assignment and methodology

The overall objective was to provide independent observation of the procurement process and to submit fairness related comments to project officials, as early as possible, so that appropriate action could be taken to address the comments before fairness was impacted. The Director Fairness Monitoring would be advised of any fairness related concerns that were not addressed promptly. At the conclusion of the procurement process an assurance statement as to its fairness would be provided.

To accomplish the objective we undertook the following activities and, where applicable, provided fairness related comments to the Contracting Authority:

  • became familiar with the project governance structure and background information
  • reviewed the RFP in draft and final form
  • reviewed all amendments to the RFP including questions submitted by bidders and answers provided
  • observed the site visit
  • reviewed the procedures to be used for the evaluation of responses and the guidance provided to the evaluation team
  • observed the evaluation of responses to the RFP to ensure that the specified bid evaluation and contractor selection procedures and departmental policy were followed and consistently applied during the evaluation and selection process
  • observed the debriefing of bidders. (This activity will be reported on in an addendum to this report after any debriefings)

Fairness monitor specific activities and findings

Fairness monitor activities and findings prior to and during the request for proposals phase

During the period August 2 to September 7, 2016, we reviewed draft versions of the RFP, which included the Terms of Reference for the Construction Services, as versions were made available. Fairness related comments were provided to project officials and appropriate action was taken. On September 9, 2016, we reviewed the RFP (Document 1) as posted. No fairness deficiencies were identified.

On September 22, 2016 we observed the site visit by interested parties to the Canada Four Corners site. Best practices for site visit were followed. Fairness related comments were provided to project officials and appropriate action was taken.

On September 30, 2016 we reviewed Amendment 1 to the RFP (Document 2). No fairness deficiencies were identified.

The RFP closed on October 19, 2016.

Fairness monitor activities and findings on the evaluation phase

On October 27, 2016 we observed the consensus evaluation of the three proposals received in response to the RFP. All three proposals were deemed to be responsive and met the mandatory criteria. There were no rated criteria. We also observed the opening of the three financial bid envelopes, the review of compliancy of each bidder, and the identification of the bidder to be awarded the contract in accordance with the basis of selection specified in the RFP. No fairness deficiencies were identified.

Reference documents

The following documents are referenced by number in this report. These documents are available through the Four Corners Rehabilitation project office.

Procurement documents by publication date
No. Documents Date
1 Request for Proposals (RFP) Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on September 12, 2016
2 Amendment 1 to RFP Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on October 3, 2016

Addendum to final report, November 21, 2016

Addendum to fairness monitor final report dated October 31, 2016, concerning Canada Four Corners Full Envelope Rehabilitation construction management services

This addendum to the fairness monitor final report covers the period following the conclusion of the evaluation phase.

On October 31, 2016 we reviewed two regret letters, one each to be sent to the unsuccessful bidders. Each letter stated that the bidder had submitted a responsive proposal, specified the value of the contract that was awarded to the successful bidder and offered to provide a verbal debriefing. As of the date of this addendum more than fifteen days after the regret letters were forwarded, no verbal debriefings have been requested. No requests were expected because there were no rated criteria, the basis of selection was lowest priced responsive proposal, and the regret letters provided the contract value.

On November 2, 2106 we reviewed the contract award letter to the successful bidder. No fairness deficiencies were identified concerning the letters sent to the bidders.

Fairness monitor attestation of assurance

It is the professional opinion of the Fairness Monitor that the post evaluation activities, were carried out in a fair, open and transparent manner.

Original signed by
Roger Bridges
President
Knowles Consultancy Services Inc.
FM Contractor’s Representative

Original signed by
Bruce Maynard P. Eng.
FM Team Leader

Original signed by
Peter Woods
FM Specialist

Date modified:

Réhabilitation de l'enveloppe de l'édifice Canada Four Corners services de la gestion de la construction

Rapport final du surveillant de l'équité, 31 octobre 2016

Addenda au rapport final, 21 novembre 2016

Soumis au directeur, Programme de surveillance de l'équité

Soumis par Knowles Consultancy Services Inc. et Hill International Inc. en coentreprise

Sur cette page

Contexte et introduction

En qualité de Surveillant de l'équité, Knowles Consultancy Services Inc. et Hill International Inc. en coentreprise (ci-après dénommé le Surveillant de l'équité) soumet le présent rapport final de l'entrepreneur Surveillant de l'équité concernant le processus concurrentiel d'approvisionnement pour les services de gestion de la construction de la réhabilitation de l'enveloppe de l'édifice Canada Four Corners. Ce processus d'approvisionnement a été entrepris par Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) par voie de la demande de propositions (DDP) invitation numéro EP783-162280/A.

Knowles Consultancy Services Inc. et Hill International Inc. en coentreprise est une tierce partie indépendante en ce qui concerne la présente activité.

Ce rapport final couvre nos activités à partir du 5 juillet 2016, au moment où la DDP était en cours d'élaboration, jusqu'à la phase de la DDP, de l'évaluation des propositions reçues et de la sélection d'un soumissionnaire recommandé.

Ce rapport inclus notre attestation d'assurance, un résumé de la portée et des objectifs de notre mandat, des méthodologies appliquées et les détails de nos activités incluant toute observation pertinente aux activités entreprises.

Exigences du projet

SPAC procède actuellement à la réhabilitation de l'édifice Canada Four Corners situé au 93 rue Sparks au nord-ouest de l'intersection des rues Sparks et Metcalfe au centre-ville d'Ottawa. La façade est faite de grès de formation Nepean et comprend des détails en grès taillé de l'Ohio aux deuxième et troisième étages et du calcaire de l'Indiana au sous-sol. La structure comprend des murs porteurs périmétriques de maçonnerie. L'édifice est présentement inoccupé en raison des préoccupations liées à l'intégrité structurelle du mur de maçonnerie du coté est.

L'édifice est classé un édifice fédéral du patrimoine reconnu.

Le présent approvisionnement vise l'acquisition des services d'un gestionnaire des travaux de construction et dont les contrats de sous-traitance seront inclus et administrés par le gestionnaire des travaux de construction et comprendront les travaux suivants :

  • travaux préparatoires comprenant l'excavation et la remise à neuf des fondations pour permettre l'accès à la maçonnerie située au-dessous du sol, le drainage et d'autres éléments d'aménagement paysager
  • tous les éléments de maçonnerie des façades sud et est de l'édifice
  • nettoyage de la maçonnerie
  • le retrait, la restauration et la réhabilitation des fenêtres et portes
  • la réhabilitation et la rénovation de la toiture de cuivre à la mansarde
  • les travaux intérieurs visant à faciliter les travaux extérieurs
  • les essais et études

Les travaux de construction visés par les services optionnels qui peuvent être approuvés comprennent la mise à niveau des systèmes mécaniques, les rénovations internes, la mise à jour des systèmes de protection contre l'incendie, le remplacement de l'ascenseur et le remplacement de la toiture de l'édifice Marshall.

Dans le cadre d'un contrat distinct, SPAC a loué des échafaudages qui ont été érigés le long des façades est et sud. SPAC prévoit céder ce contrat au gestionnaire de construction.

Attestation d'assurance

Le Surveillant de l'équité fourni le présent énoncé d'assurance sans réserve suivant, concernant le processus concurrentiel d'approvisionnement des services de gestion de la construction pour la réhabilitation de l'enveloppe de l'édifice Canada Four Corners.

C'est notre opinion professionnelle que le processus concurrentiel d'approvisionnement que nous avons observé a été mené de façon équitable, ouverte et transparente.

Note : Pour toutes le références dans le présent rapport relatives à l'équité et fournies aux responsables du projet, il est confirmé, le cas échéant, que les responsables du projet ont fourni au Surveillant de l'équité (SE) les éclaircissements ou ont pris les mesures appropriées pour répondre aux observations et en conséquence, aucune lacune en matière d'équité n'a été notée.

Original signé par
Roger Bridges
Président
Knowles Consultancy Services Inc.
Représentant de l'entrepreneur SE

Original signé par
Bruce Maynard Ing.
Chef d’équipe SE  

Original signé par
Peter Woods
Spécialiste SE

Objectifs du mandat du surveillant de l'équité et méthodologie

L'objectif global était de fournir une observation indépendante du processus d'approvisionnement et de soumettre aux responsables du projet des observations relatives à l'équité aussitôt que possible, afin que les mesures appropriées puissent être prises pour répondre aux observations avant qu'elles influent sur l'équité. Le Directeur, Surveillance de l'équité serait informé de toute préoccupation qui n'aurait pas été résolue en temps opportun. à la conclusion du processus d'approvisionnement, une attestation d'assurance quant à son équité, sera fournie.

Afin de réaliser l'objectif, nous avons entrepris les activités suivantes et le cas échéant, fourni à l'autorité contractante des observations relatives à l'équité :

  • devenus familiers avec la structure de gouvernance du projet et le contexte
  • examiné la DDP dans sa forme ébauche et finale
  • examiné toutes les modifications à la DDP incluant les questions soumises par les soumissionnaires et les réponses fournies
  • observé la visite du site
  • examiné les procédures à être utilisées pour l'évaluation des réponses et l'orientation fournie à l'équipe d'évaluation
  • observé l'évaluation des réponses à la DDP dans le but d'assurer que les procédures d'évaluation et de sélection ainsi que la politique ministérielle telles que spécifiées ont été suivies et appliquées de façon constante durant le processus d'évaluation et de sélection
  • observé les comptes rendus auprès des soumissionnaires. (Cette activité fera l'objet d'un addenda au présent rapport après que les comptes rendus auront été fournis)

Activités et observations spécifiques du surveillant de l'équité

Activités et observations du surveillant de l'équité durant la lettre d'intérêt de la phase de consultation auprès de l'industrie

Durant la période du 2 août au 7 septembre 2016, nous avons examiné des versions ébauche de la DDP, qui incluaient le cadre de référence de la gestion de la construction, au fur et à mesure que les versions devenaient disponibles. Des observations relatives à l'équité ont été fournies aux responsables du projet et les mesures appropriées ont été prises. Le 9 septembre 2016, nous avons examiné la DDP (Document 1) telle qu'affichée. Aucune lacune en matière d'équité n'a été décelée.

Le 22 septembre 2016, nous avons observé la visite du site par les parties intéressées sur le site de l'édifice Canada Four Corners. Les meilleures pratiques pour la visite du site ont été suivies. Des observations relatives à l'équité ont été fournies aux responsables du projet et les mesures appropriées ont été prises.

Le 30 septembre 2016, nous avons examiné la modification 1 à la DDP (Document 2). Aucune lacune en matière d'équité n'a été décelée.

La date de clôture de la DDP était le 19 octobre 2016.

Activités et observations du surveillant de l'équité sur la phase de l'évaluation

Le 27 octobre 2016, nous avons observé l'évaluation par voie de consensus, des trois propositions reçues en réponse à la DDP. Les trois propositions ont été jugées recevables et répondant aux critères obligatoires. Il n'y avait pas de critères cotés. Nous avons également observé l'ouverture des trois enveloppes d'offre financière, de l'examen de la conformité de chaque soumissionnaire et de l'identification du soumissionnaire recommandé pour l'attribution du contrat conformément à la base de sélection spécifiée dans la DDP. Aucune lacune en matière d'équité n'a été décelée.

Documents de référence

Les documents suivants sont identifiés par numéro dans le présent rapport. Ces documents sont disponibles auprès du bureau du projet de réhabilitation de l'édifice Canada Four Corners.

Documents d'approvisionnement par date de publication
No. Documents Date
1 Demande de propositions (DDP) Publiée sur Achatsetventes.gc.ca le 12 septembre 2016
2 Modification 1 à la DDP Publiée sur Achatsetventes.gc.ca le 3 octobre 2016

Addenda au rapport final, 21 Novembre 2016

Addenda au rapport final du surveillant de l'équité daté le 31 octobre 2016 concernant les services de gestion de la construction de la réhabilitation de l'enveloppe de l'édifice Canada Four Corners

Cet addenda au rapport final du Surveillant de l'équité couvre la période subséquente à la conclusion de la phase de l'évaluation.

Le 31 octobre 2016, nous avons examiné deux lettres de regret, une à être envoyée à chacun des soumissionnaires non retenus. Chaque lettre énonçait que le soumissionnaire avait soumis une proposition recevable, spécifiait la valeur du contrat qui avait été attribué au soumissionnaire retenu et offrait de fournir un compte rendu verbal. à la date du présent addenda plus de quinze jours après l'envoi des lettres de regret, aucun compte rendu verbal n'a été demandé. Aucune demande n'était attendue parce qu'il n'y avait pas de critères cotés, que la base de sélection était la proposition recevable au prix le plus bas et que les lettres de regret fournissaient la valeur du contrat.

Le 2 novembre 2016, nous avons examiné la lettre d'attribution du contrat au soumissionnaire retenu. Aucune lacune en matière d'équité n'a été décelée concernant les lettres envoyées aux soumissionnaires.

Attestation d'assurance du surveillant de l'équité

C'est l'opinion professionnelle du Surveillant de l'équité, que les activités ultérieures à l'évaluation, ont été menées de façon équitable, ouverte et transparente.

Original signé par
Roger Bridges
Président
Knowles Consultancy Services Inc.
Représentant de l'entrepreneur SE

Original signé par
Bruce Maynard Ing.
Chef d’équipe SE

Original signé par
Peter Woods
Spécialiste SE

Date de modification :