Space based automatic identification system data services

Fairness monitor final report, March 10, 2017

Addendum to final report, May 1, 2017

Submitted to Director, Fairness Monitoring Program

Submitted by Hallux Consulting Inc.

On this page

1. Introduction

Hallux Consulting Inc. was engaged September 12, 2016 as a Fairness Monitor (FM) to observe the competitive procurement process for the Space Based Automatic Identification System (AIS) Data Services, issued by Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) on behalf of the Canadian Space Agency, as a result of Solicitation Number 9F013-160288/A. Hallux Consulting Inc. is an independent third party with respect to this activity.

We reviewed all of the information provided and observed all relevant activities.

We hereby submit the Final report, covering the activities of the Fairness Monitor, commencing September 19, 2016 with the kickoff meeting and continuing through to the meeting December 13, 2016 when the evaluators reached consensus followed by confirmation by the Contract Authority on February 24, 2017 that the verification of the requirements for the winning bidder was finalized.

This report includes our attestation of assurance, a summary of the scope and objectives of our assignment, the methodologies applied and relevant observations from the activities undertaken.

2. Attestation of assurance

The Fairness Monitor hereby provides the following unqualified assurance statement concerning the Space Based Automatic Information System Data Services procurement process: It is our professional opinion that the competitive procurement process we observed was carried out in a fair, open and transparent manner.

Original signed by
Elizabeth Buckingham, CPA, CMA, CIA
FM Team Leader and Contractor Representative

Original signed by
Marthe Girouard, CPA, CA
FM Specialist

Date: March 10, 2017

3. Project requirement

In order to support the operational needs of numerous government departments, the Government of Canada (GC), through the Canadian Space Agency (CSA), has a requirement for space based automatic information system data services for monitoring of Canadian and global maritime traffic that can also be queried for historical tracking purposes.

The Contractor must be capable of providing a service, which detects AIS signals of vessels anywhere on Earth and processes these signals into AIS messages usable by the GC, in accordance with the requirements stated in the Statement of Work.

The GCs requirement may also include vessel position confirmation, additional connections and accounts, data format conversions, additional data and AIS data reports and analyses.

4. Fairness monitor engagement and observations

Hallux Consulting Inc. was engaged as a FM to observe the competitive procurement process for the Space Based Automatic Information System Data Services, and to attest to the fairness, openness and transparency of this monitored activity.

In accordance with the terms of our engagement, we familiarized ourselves with the relevant documents, observed request for proposal (RFP) related activities identifying fairness-related matters to the appropriate parties, e.g., contracting and technical authorities, and ensuring that responses and actions were reasonable and appropriate.

4.1 Request for proposal phase

Key activities during this phase of the procurement included:

The bid procedure was open to all interested suppliers. A one-phase selection process approach with a two envelope evaluation was used for this procurement. The Notice of Proposed Procurement (NPP) was published on buyandsell.gc.ca on October 11, 2016. The original RFP did not include the evaluation procedures, the basis of selection or the basis of payment. This was published as part of Amendment No. 002, October 26, 2016; as a result the initial closing date for the RFP of November 21, 2016 was extended to December 6, 2016. Sixteen questions were received from potential bidders and responses to the questions were provided by way of the four amendments issued to the RFP. Three bids were received in response to the RFP.

All observations on potential fairness issues were properly addressed during the RFP phase.

4.2 Evaluation phase

During the evaluation phase, the key activities of the FM included observing:

The FM Specialist observed that the evaluation processes and instructions published in the Final RFP, the RFP amendments and the Evaluation Plan and Guidelines were followed during the evaluation phase. Comments were provided by the FM Specialist as required throughout the evaluation process to the Technical Team and the Contracting Authority. All comments were addressed appropriately by project officials.

No potential fairness issues were noted during the evaluation phase.

5. Reference documents

Documents related to Solicitation Number Archived—9F013-160288/A are available on buyandsell.gc.ca and/or through the project office.

No. Document Additional Information
1 Request for Proposal Request for Proposal (RFP) documents published on buyandsell.gc.ca on October 11, 2016.
2 Amendment No. 001 Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on October 14, 2016.
3 Amendment No. 002     Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on October 26, 2016.
4 Amendment No. 003 Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on November 17, 2016.
5 Amendment No. 004 Published on buyandsell.gc.ca on November 30, 2016.

6. Addendum to final report, May 1, 2017

Addendum to the final report dated March 10, 2017, concerning the acquisition of data services for the Space Based Automatic Identification System.

This Addendum to the Final Report covers the period following the conclusion of the evaluation phase including contract award.

The winning bidder was selected and notified on February 24, 2017. Letters to the two unsuccessful bidders were sent by e-mail on February 24, 2017. One of the two bidders requested feedback. Information was sent by e-mail on March 21 and April 11, 2017. The Fairness Monitor reviewed the correspondence sent.

Fairness monitor attestation of assurance

The Fairness Monitor hereby provides the following unqualified assurance statement concerning the Space Based Automatic Information System Data Services procurement process: It is our professional opinion that the competitive procurement process we observed was carried out in a fair, open and transparent manner.

Original signed by
Elizabeth Buckingham, CPA, CMA, CIA
FM Team Leader and Contractor Representative

Original signed by
Marthe Girouard, CPA, CA
FM Specialist

Date modified:

Service de données pour le système d’identification automatique spatioporté

Rapport final du surveillant de l'équité, 10 mars 2017

Addenda au rapport final, 1er mai 2017

Soumis au directeur, Direction de la surveillance de l’équité

Soumis par Hallux Consulting Inc.

Sur cette page

1. Introduction

Hallux Consulting Inc. a été engagée à titre de surveillant de l’équité (SE) le 12 septembre 2016 pour observer le processus d’approvisionnement concurrentiel concernant le Service de données provenant d’un système d’identification automatique (SIA) spatioporté, publié par Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC), au nom de l’Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) résultant du numéro d’appel d’offres 9F013-160288/A. Hallux Consulting Inc. est un tiers indépendant à l’égard de cette activité.

Nous avons examiné l’ensemble de l’information fournie et observé toutes les activités pertinentes.

Nous soumettons par la présente le rapport final, portant sur les activités réalisées par le surveillant de l’équité, à commencer le 19 septembre 2016 lors de la réunion de lancement, et ce jusqu’à la réunion d’établissement de consensus des évaluateurs tenue le 13 décembre 2016 ainsi que la confirmation de l’autorité contractante le 24 février 2017 que la vérification des exigences requises du soumissionnaire gagnant était finalisée.

Le présent rapport comprend notre attestation d’assurance, un résumé de la portée et des objectifs de notre mandat, les méthodes appliquées et les observations pertinentes des activités qui ont été tenues.

2. Attestation d’assurance

Par la présente, le surveillant de l’équité fournit l’énoncé d’assurance sans réserve suivant concernant le processus d’approvisionnement pour le Service de données provenant d’un système d’identification automatique (SIA) spatioporté : Selon notre opinion professionnelle, le processus d’approvisionnement concurrentiel que nous avons observé a été mené en conformité avec les critères d’équité, d’ouverture et de transparence.

Elizabeth Buckingham, CPA, CMA, CIA
Chef d’équipe de SE et
représentante de l’entrepreneur

Original signé par
Marthe Girouard, CPA, CA
Spécialiste de la SE

Date : Le 10 mars 2017

3. Exigences du projet

Afin de soutenir les besoins opérationnels de nombreux ministères, le gouvernement du Canada (GC), au nom de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC), sollicite des soumissions pour fournir des services de données d’un système d’identification automatique (SIA) spatioporté pour la surveillance du trafic maritime canadien et mondial, qui peuvent être utilisées à des fins de suivi historique.

L'entrepreneur doit être capable de fournir un service, qui détecte les signaux SIA des navires partout sur la terre et traite ces signaux dans les messages SIA utilisables par le GC, en conformité avec les exigences énoncées dans l'énoncé des travaux.

Les exigences du GC peuvent également inclure la confirmation de position de navires, des connexions et comptes supplémentaires, les conversions de format de données, des données supplémentaires et des rapports de données SIA et analyses.

4. Mandat en matière de surveillant de l’équité et observations

Hallux Consulting Inc. a été engagée à titre de surveillant de l’équité (SE) pour observer le processus d’approvisionnement concurrentiel concernant le Service de données provenant d’un système d’identification automatique (SIA) spatioporté et pour fournir une attestation quant à l’équité, l’ouverture et la transparence de l’activité sous surveillance.

Conformément aux modalités de notre mandat, nous avons pris connaissance des documents pertinents, observé les activités reliées à la demande de proposition (DP), identifiant des points relatifs à l’équité aux parties appropriées (p. ex., les autorités contractantes et techniques) et vérifié que les réponses et les mesures de suivi étaient raisonnables et appropriées.

4.1 Phase de la demande de proposition

Lors de cette phase de l’approvisionnement, les principales activités comprenaient :

La soumission était ouverte à tous les fournisseurs intéressés. Un processus de sélection en une seule phase avec l’évaluation de deux enveloppes a été utilisé pour cet approvisionnement. L’avis de projet de marché a été publié sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 11 octobre 2016. Il est à noter que la première publication de la DP ne comprenait pas les procédures d’évaluation et la méthode de sélection ainsi que la base de paiement. Ceux-ci ont été publiés avec la modification no. 2, le 26 octobre 2016; par conséquent la date initiale de clôture de la DP qui était le 21 novembre 2016 a été prolongée au 6 décembre 2016. Seize questions ont été reçues des soumissionnaires éventuels et les réponses aux questions ont été transmises par l’entremise de quatre modifications à la DP. Trois soumissions ont été reçues en réponse à la DP.

Toutes les observations sur les problèmes éventuels d’équité ont été traitées de manière adéquate lors de la phase de la DP.

4.2 Phase d’évaluation

Pendant la période d’évaluation, les principales activités de SE comprenaient l’observation :

Le spécialiste de SE a observé que les procédures d’évaluation et les directives publiées dans la version finale de la DP, les modifications de la DP et le plan et les directives d’évaluation ont été suivies lors de la phase d’évaluation. Le spécialiste de SE a exprimé des commentaires au besoin tout au long du processus d’évaluation à l’attention de l’équipe technique et de l’autorité contractante. Tous les commentaires ont été traités de manière appropriée par les responsables du projet.

Aucun problème d’équité n’a été relevé lors de la phase d’évaluation.

5. Documents de référence

Les documents liés à la demande de propositions (numéro d’appel d’offres Archivée – 9F013-160288/A) sont disponibles sur le site achatsetventes.gc.ca et(ou) par l’entremise du bureau de projet.

No. Document Renseignements additionnels
1 Demande de propositions Documents de la demande de propositions (DP) publiés sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 11 octobre 2016.
2 Modification no. 001 Publiée sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 14 octobre 2016.
3 Modification no. 002 Publiée sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 26 octobre 2016.
4 Modification no. 003 Publiée sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 17 novembre 2016.
5 Modification no. 004 Publiée sur achatsetventes.gc.ca le 30 novembre 2016.

6. Addenda au rapport final, 1er mai 2017

Addenda au rapport final en date du 10 mars 2017 concernant l’approvisionnement du service de données pour le système d’identification automatique spatioporté.

Le présent addenda au rapport final couvre la période suivant la conclusion de la phase d’évaluation, y compris l’attribution du contrat.

Le soumissionnaire gagnant a été choisi et informé le 24 février 2017. Des lettres aux deux soumissionnaires non retenus ont été envoyées par courriel le 24 février 2017. Un des deux soumissionnaires a demandé une rétroaction. Des informations lui ont été acheminées par courriel le 21 mars et le 11 avril 2017. Le surveillant de l’équité a révisé la correspondance envoyée.

Attestation d’assurance du surveillant de l’équité

Par la présente, le surveillant de l’équité fournit l’énoncé d’assurance sans réserve suivant, concernant le processus d’approvisionnement du Service de données pour le Système d’identification automatique (SIA) spatioporté : Selon notre opinion professionnelle, le processus d’approvisionnement concurrentiel que nous avons observé a été mené en conformité avec les critères d’équité, d’ouverture et de transparence.

Elizabeth Buckingham, CPA, CMA, CIA
Chef d’équipe de SE et
représentante de l’entrepreneur

Original signé par
Marthe Girouard, CPA, CA
Spécialiste de la SE

Date de modification :