Indigenous business COVID-19 taskforce and database: Standing Committee on Indigenous and Northern Affairs—June 19, 2020

Document navigation for "Standing Committee on Indigenous and Northern Affairs: June 19, 2020"

On this page

Key messages

Background

Recognizing the potential impacts of COVID-19, national Indigenous business and economic development organizations, with support from the Government of Canada (Indigenous Services Canada (ISC)), created the Indigenous business COVID-19 taskforce. The following statement is directly from the taskforce charter document:

Taskforce membership:

Database

A key element of the taskforce’s mandate was to develop an Indigenous supplier directory (database) to provide a single verified source of contact for Indigenous businesses from across Canada that may have goods or services that can assist with Canada’s and Indigenous communities’ response to, and recovery from, the COVID-19 pandemic.

The database is an unprecedented collaboration between national Indigenous business support organizations and contains verified Indigenous supplier data sources from the following organizations: 

The database is the property of the taskforce and the data is the property of the individual partnering organizations. The taskforce will determine how the data is shared and determine the duration of the project.

The database project is being managed by Acosys, a Canadian Indigenous company based in Montreal and listed in the federal Indigenous business directory. The database development is being done by SADA (a non-Indigenous company) specializing in the Google platform used.

Funding for the database has been provided by ISC. The Google Cloud platform has been provided by Alphabet Inc. (Google) as an in-kind support.

The collaboration between the taskforce partners and the development of this national Indigenous supplier database for COVID-19 has provided an important “sandbox” pilot opportunity to identify best practices for future Indigenous supplier database designs.

The database incorporates many of the best practices from Australia’s Indigenous Procurement Policy and the development of the supply nation Indigenous supplier directory.

The database is considered to be very scalable using a Google Cloud platform architecture and can communicate with PSPC’s electronic procurement solution’s Ariba platform for consideration at a later time.

Once the database has been approved for circulation by the taskforce, it will be actively promoted by the taskforce, in partnership with PSPC’s Office of Small and Medium Enterprises and ISC’s Business Development Branch to ensure that relevant organizations are included.

The intention is for the database to be promoted to Government of Canada buyers, procurement officers, and operational teams for consideration when purchasing personal protective equipment. The information will be shared using a collaborative effort by the taskforce, PSPC, and ISC during the COVID-19 response and recovery.

This database may also be used by other levels of government that require similar goods and services to respond to local COVID-19 requirements to increase the participation of Indigenous businesses at their discretion.

Studies

The taskforce is undertaking 2 studies to assess the impacts of COVID-19. The first is of the impact on Indigenous businesses, and the second focusses on the impact on Indigenous communities.

CCAB has completed an Indigenous business survey with input from across Canada. Over 800 responses were received and CCAB is finalizing its analysis of the results for circulation to the taskforce members.

A second survey to assess the overall impacts of COVID-19 on Indigenous communities is now being prepared for release by CCAB.

Document navigation for "Standing Committee on Indigenous and Northern Affairs: June 19, 2020"

Date modified:

Groupe de travail et base de données sur les entreprises autochtones en lien à la COVID-19 : Comité permanent des affaires autochtones et du Nord – 19 juin 2020

Navigation pour document « Comité permanent des affaires autochtones et du Nord : 19 juin 2020 »

Sur cette page

Messages clés

Contexte

Reconnaissant les répercussions potentielles de la COVID-19, les organisations nationales de développement économique et commercial autochtones, avec le soutien du gouvernement du Canada (Services aux Autochtones Canada [SAC]), ont créé le groupe de travail sur les entreprises autochtones et la COVID-19. La déclaration suivante est directement tirée de la charte du groupe de travail :

Composition du groupe de travail :

Base de données

Un élément clé du mandat du groupe de travail était d’élaborer un répertoire (base de données) des fournisseurs autochtones afin de fournir une source unique et vérifiée de contact pour les entreprises autochtones de tout le Canada susceptibles d’avoir des biens ou des services pouvant aider le Canada et les communautés autochtones à lutter contre la pandémie de COVID-19 et à s’en remettre.

La base de données est le fruit d’une collaboration sans précédent entre les organisations nationales de soutien aux entreprises autochtones, et elle contient des sources de données vérifiées sur les fournisseurs autochtones provenant des organisations suivantes :

La base de données est la propriété du groupe de travail et les données sont la propriété des organisations partenaires individuelles. Le groupe de travail déterminera la manière dont les données seront communiquées et fixera la durée du projet.

Le projet de base de données est géré par Acosys, une entreprise autochtone canadienne basée à Montréal et figurant dans le répertoire fédéral des entreprises autochtones. L’élaboration de la base de données est réalisée par SADA (une société non autochtone), qui est spécialisée dans la plateforme Google utilisée.

Le financement de la base de données a été assuré par SAC. La plateforme Google Cloud a été fournie par Alphabet Inc. (Google) à titre de soutien en nature.

La collaboration entre les partenaires du groupe de travail et l’élaboration de cette base de données nationale de fournisseurs autochtones pour la COVID-19 ont fourni une importante occasion de projet pilote « bac à sable » pour déterminer les meilleures pratiques pour la conception de futures bases de données de fournisseurs autochtones.

La base de données intègre un grand nombre des pratiques exemplaires tirées de la politique australienne d’approvisionnement autochtone et de l’élaboration du répertoire national des fournisseurs autochtones.

La base de données est considérée comme très évolutive, grâce à une architecture de plateforme Google Cloud, et elle peut communiquer avec la plateforme Ariba de la solution d’achats électroniques de SPAC aux fins d’examen ultérieur.

Une fois que la diffusion de la base de données aura été approuvée par le groupe de travail, elle sera activement promue par ce dernier, en partenariat avec le Bureau des petites et moyennes entreprises de SPAC et la Direction générale du développement commercial de SAC afin de s’assurer que les organisations concernées sont incluses.

L’objectif est de promouvoir la base de données auprès des acheteurs, des agents d’approvisionnement et des équipes opérationnelles du gouvernement du Canada afin qu’ils en tiennent compte lors de l’achat d’équipement de protection individuelle. Les renseignements seront diffusés grâce à un effort de collaboration entre le groupe de travail, SPAC et SAC pendant la lutte contre la COVID-19 et le redressement.

Cette base de données peut également être utilisée, à discrétion, par d’autres ordres de gouvernement qui ont besoin de biens et de services similaires pour répondre aux exigences locales liées à la COVID-19 afin d’accroître la participation des entreprises autochtones.

Études

Le groupe de travail entreprend 2 études pour évaluer les répercussions de la COVID-19. La première concerne les répercussions sur les entreprises autochtones, et la seconde se concentre sur l’incidence sur les communautés autochtones.

Le Conseil canadien pour le commerce autochtone (CCCA) a réalisé un sondage sur les entreprises autochtones avec la participation de tout le Canada. Plus de 800 réponses ont été reçues et le CCCA est en train de terminer son analyse des résultats pour les diffuser aux membres du groupe de travail.

Un deuxième sondage visant à évaluer l’incidence globale de la COVID-19 sur les communautés autochtones est en cours de préparation et sera publié par le CCCA.

Navigation pour document « Comité permanent des affaires autochtones et du Nord : juin 19 2020 »

Date de modification :