Diversity in procurement: Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Technology—February 4, 2021

Document navigation for "Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Technology: February 4, 2021"

Supplier diversity

Context

Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) is delivering on government commitments to increase the diversity of bidders on government contracts.

Suggested response

If pressed:

If pressed about data collection on diversity in procurement:

Background

As outlined in both the Speech from the Throne and the 2020 Fall Economic Statement, the government is committed to increasing diversity in procurement, pursuing economic empowerment for specific communities, and supporting Black entrepreneurs.

Indigenous procurement

The department is working with Indigenous Services Canada and the Treasury Board Secretariat to create more opportunities for Indigenous businesses to succeed and grow by creating a new target to have at least 5% of federal contracts awarded to businesses managed and led by Indigenous Peoples.

In responding to the COVID-19 pandemic, PSPC, on behalf of the Public Health Agency of Canada and other federal departments and agencies, moved to urgently procure necessary personal protective equipment and other goods and services to protect front-line health care workers. Certain procurements, where possible, were directed to Indigenous suppliers. Specifically, procurement opportunities were opened to Indigenous businesses for non-medical disposable masks that resulted in signed contracts with 7 Indigenous firms for approximately $3 million for a total of 15 million non-medical disposable masks. One of the contracts was amended to exercise the option to procure an additional 20 million non-medical disposable masks for an additional $2.94 million. In addition, PSPC awarded contracts to 2 Indigenous companies that will each provide 250,000 non-surgical face masks with an option to purchase an additional 2 million masks over a 2-year period.

Black businesses pilot

To support Black businesses, PSPC launched the Black businesses pilot to expand bidding opportunities for small Black-owned or operated businesses. The pilot is also one of the initial tangible steps to respond to the June 2020 request from Canada’s Parliamentary Black Caucus for the Government of Canada to increase the number of procurement contracts for Black entrepreneurs. It also aligns with PSPC’s broader mandate to leverage procurement spending to generate socioeconomic benefits for Canadians.

The pilot also reflects the department’s continued support of the Black Entrepreneurship Program led by Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED), by reducing barriers in procurement and helping Black-owned and led businesses in bidding on and receiving government contracts opportunities.

PSPC has engaged with associations representing Black-owned and led businesses in the development of the pilot. The initiative was well-received and we heard clear messages that federal procurement is seen as a key element in generating economic opportunity—including to lessen the impact of COVID-19—for small businesses owned or led by Black Canadians.

The Black businesses pilot will provide an opportunity to draw on success and lessons learned to inform the expanded use of targeted approaches to increase diversity in future procurements.

Outreach

The Office of Small and Medium Enterprises (OSME) is developing a coaching service to assist diverse small-and-medium enterprises (SMEs) with understanding the procurement process. The pilot will target women-led and women-owned SMEs. The new service will specifically assist experience bidders who have had limited success in bidding on tenders, offering personalized coaching to address specific areas of the bidding process where they require additional support.

The department has also established partnerships with associations representing businesses owned and led by indigenous, lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and two-spirit plus (LGBTQ2+), multicultural, women, and other socio-economically diverse groups to deliver seminars and presentations to their membership and other educational programs to help increase their participation in government procurement. For example, in fall 2020, OSME delivered a procurement module on Doing Business with the Government of Canada for the Black Business and Professional Association’s (BBPA) Boss Women Entrepreneur Program. Later in January, OSME is also participating in the BBPA’s Rise UP Pitch competition.

Effective November 2020, the National Supplier Advisory Committee welcomed a new private sector co-chair from the Canadian Black Chamber of Commerce, as well as new committee association members including the BBPA, the Council for the Advancement of Native Development Officers, and the Canadian Gay & Lesbian Chamber of Commerce.

PSPC is working with other government departments and agencies—such as Statistics Canada, Employment and Social Development Canada and ISED—to explore the market capacity of the underrepresented groups in Canada.

Social procurement

The department is developing a social procurement policy and program, which will enable the inclusion of socioeconomic outcomes into PSPC procurement.

Work is underway to enhance data collection with respect to under-represented groups. The social procurement policy will provide PSPC the authority to collect personal information (including race, gender, and other intersectional information on PSPC suppliers). This will allow PSPC to establish a baseline on the participation of Black suppliers, and other groups of suppliers in federal procurement and monitor progress over time.

To further enhance our understanding of the businesses with which the government is contracting, PSPC will complete the development and implementation of a procurement data strategy. This will contribute to strengthening the department’s capacity for evidence-based program design and reporting, including supporting efforts to increase the diversity of bidders in federal procurements and federal socio-economic goals.

Document navigation for "Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Technology: February 4, 2021"

Date modified:

La diversité en approvisionnement : Comité permanent de l'industrie, des sciences et de la technologie – février 4 2021

Navigation pour document « Comité permanent de l'industrie, des sciences et de la technologie : février 4 20201»

Diversité des fournisseurs

Contexte

Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) respecte les engagements pris par le gouvernement d’accroître la diversité des soumissionnaires aux marchés publics.

Réponse suggérée

Si l’on insiste :

Si l’on insiste sur la collecte de données sur la diversité dans l’approvisionnement :

Historique

Comme l’indiquaient à la fois le discours du Trône et l’Énoncé économique de l’automne 2020, le gouvernement s’est engagé à accroître la diversité dans l’approvisionnement, à poursuivre l’habilitation économique de collectivités particulières, et à appuyer les entrepreneurs noirs.

Approvisionnement auprès d’entreprises autochtones

Le Ministère collabore avec Services aux Autochtones Canada et le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor pour créer davantage de possibilités de réussite et de croissance pour les entreprises autochtones en établissant un nouvel objectif, soit d’attribuer au moins 5 % des contrats fédéraux à des entreprises gérées et dirigées par des Autochtones.

En réponse à la pandémie de COVID-19, SPAC, au nom de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada et d’autres ministères et organismes fédéraux, a entrepris de se procurer d’urgence l’équipement de protection individuelle et d’autres biens et services nécessaires pour protéger les travailleurs de la santé de première ligne. Dans la mesure du possible, certains marchés ont été dirigés vers des fournisseurs autochtones. Plus précisément, des possibilités d’approvisionnement ont été ouvertes aux entreprises autochtones pour la fourniture de masques jetables non médicaux, ce qui a entraîné la signature, avec 7 entreprises autochtones, de contrats d’une valeur d’environ 3 millions de dollars, pour un total de 15 millions de masques jetables non médicaux. Un des contrats a été modifié pour permettre à SPAC d’exercer l’option d’achat de 20 millions de masques jetables non médicaux supplémentaires pour un montant supplémentaire de 2,94 millions de dollars. SPAC a de plus attribué des contrats à 2 entreprises autochtones qui fourniront chacune 250 000 masques non chirurgicaux avec option d’achat de 2 millions de masques supplémentaires sur une période de 2 ans.

Projet pilote sur l’entrepreneuriat des communautés noires

Afin d’appuyer les entreprises des communautés noires, SPAC a lancé un projet pilote visant à élargir les occasions d’affaires pour ces entreprises. Ce projet pilote est aussi une des premières mesures concrètes faisant suite à la requête présentée en juin 2020 par le Caucus canadien des parlementaires noirs qui demandait au gouvernement du Canada d’augmenter le nombre de contrats d’approvisionnement pour les entrepreneurs noirs. Le projet cadre aussi avec le mandat élargi de SPAC qui consiste à tirer profit des dépenses d’approvisionnement pour produire des avantages socioéconomiques pour les Canadiens.

Le projet pilote exprime également le soutien continu apporté par le Ministère au Programme pour l’entrepreneuriat des communautés noires dirigé par Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE) en réduisant les obstacles dans le processus d’approvisionnement et en aidant les entreprises appartenant à des Noirs ou dirigées par des Noirs à présenter des soumissions et à recevoir des possibilités de contrats du gouvernement.

SPAC a mobilisé des associations représentant les entreprises appartenant à des Noirs ou dirigées par des Noirs dans l’élaboration du projet pilote. L’initiative a été bien accueillie, et nous avons reçu des messages clairs indiquant que les marchés fédéraux sont perçus comme un élément clé pour générer des possibilités économiques — y compris la réduction des répercussions de la COVID-19 — à l’intention des petites entreprises appartenant à des Canadiens noirs ou dirigées par des Canadiens noirs.

Le Programme pilote pour l’entrepreneuriat des communautés noires permettra de tirer profit des réussites et des leçons retenues pour éclairer l’utilisation accrue d’approches ciblées en vue d’accroître la diversité dans les futurs marchés.

Sensibilisation

Le Bureau des petites et moyennes entreprises (BPME) est en train d’élaborer un service d’encadrement pour aider les PME diversifiées à comprendre le processus d’approvisionnement. Le projet pilote ciblera les PME dirigées par des femmes et appartenant à des femmes. Le nouveau service aidera notamment les soumissionnaires d’expérience qui ont eu peu de succès en leur offrant un encadrement personnalisé pour aborder des aspects particuliers du processus de soumission pour lesquels un soutien supplémentaire est nécessaire.

Le Ministère a également établi des partenariats avec des associations représentant les entreprises détenues et dirigées par des Autochtones, des personnes lesbien, gai, bisexuel, transgenre, queer et bispirituel plus (LGBTQ2+), des membres des communautés multiculturelles, des femmes et d’autres groupes socioéconomiques diversifiés pour offrir des séminaires et des présentations à leurs membres et d’autres programmes éducatifs visant à augmenter leur participation aux marchés du gouvernement. Par exemple, à l’automne 2020, le BPME a animé un module sur la façon de faire affaire avec le gouvernement du Canada pour le programme de femmes entrepreneures de la Black Business and Professional Association (BBPA). Plus tard en janvier, le BPME devait aussi prendre part au concours « Rise UP » de la BBPA, où des participants ont l’occasion de présenter leurs projets d’affaires à des bailleurs de fonds.

En novembre 2020, le Comité consultatif national des fournisseurs a accueilli un nouveau coprésident du secteur privé provenant de la Chambre de commerce noire du Canada, et de nouveaux membres représentant des associations membres du comité dont la BBPA, le Conseil pour l’avancement des agents de développement autochtones et la Chambre de commerce gaie et lesbienne du Canada.

SPAC travaille avec d’autres ministères et organismes du gouvernement – comme Statistique Canada, Emploi et Développement social Canada et ISDE – pour explorer les capacités du marché des groupes sous-représentés au Canada.

Approvisionnement social

Le Ministère élabore une politique et un programme sur l’approvisionnement social, ce qui permettra l’inclusion de résultats socioéconomiques dans les activités d’approvisionnement de SPAC.

Des travaux sont en cours pour améliorer la collecte de données concernant les groupes sous-représentés. La politique sur l’approvisionnement social autorisera SPAC à recueillir des renseignements personnels (y compris la race, le sexe et d’autres renseignements intersectionnels sur les fournisseurs de SPAC). La collecte de ces renseignements permettra à SPAC d’établir des données de référence sur la participation des fournisseurs noirs et d’autres groupes de fournisseurs aux marchés fédéraux et de surveiller les progrès réalisés au fil du temps.

Afin de mieux comprendre les entreprises avec lesquelles le gouvernement passe des marchés, SPAC terminera l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre d’une stratégie de données sur l’approvisionnement. Cette stratégie contribuera à renforcer la capacité de conception de programmes et d’établissement de rapports fondés sur des données probantes du Ministère, notamment en appuyant les efforts visant à accroître la diversité des soumissionnaires dans les marchés fédéraux et à atteindre les objectifs socioéconomiques fédéraux.

Navigation pour document « Comité permanent de l'industrie, des sciences et de la technologie : février 4 2021 »

Date de modification :