Mandatory electronic fingerprints

On February 1, 2017, Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) implemented the new mandatory criminal record check process, which requires electronic fingerprinting. Learn when mandatory electronic fingerprints are required and why the Contract Security Program implemented this change. Also find out about the validity period and the steps applicants and company security officers must take.

New training video

Why are electronic fingerprints part of the new criminal record check process? Do you need to send your employees for electronic fingerprints?

Watch our new training video on changes to the criminal record check process to learn how to comply with this new requirement.

On this page

About mandatory electronic fingerprinting

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP), the lead agency for law enforcement inquiries, has retired the criminal record name check process. They replaced it with a criminal record check process, which requires electronic fingerprinting.

Validity of the clearance

The validity of an existing PSPC-issued personnel security clearance is not affected by the new criminal record check process.

Validity period of the criminal record check results

The results of the criminal record check and the associated document control number (DCN) sent to PSPC will both be valid for one year from the date the fingerprints were taken.

Within that year, the same DCN can be reused for another personnel security screening request such as:

as long as the DCN was generated for a personnel security screening processed through PSPC.

Note

A DCN cannot be transferred to or used by other departments or agencies.

Cost of fingerprinting

The RCMP does not charge a processing fee for criminal record check for fingerprints taken for federal employment or contracts. The fingerprints applicant request form clearly indicates that fingerprints are for a government security clearance and that the results are to be sent directly to PSPC Contract Security Program. Although the RCMP does not charge a processing fee, the third-party fingerprint service provider will charge an applicant the market rate, typically between $40 and $65, for their processing services.

The fee charged may vary from one provider to the next. The Contract Security Program does not receive funds from providers and does not profit from their services. Applicants who require a personnel security clearance are responsible for absorbing all costs associated with these fees.

Protecting the applicant's identity

PSPC does not receive copies of applicants' fingerprints. The third-party service provider submits the fingerprints electronically to the RCMP. The RCMP uses the fingerprints to search their criminal record database and provides PSPC with the results of that particular search.

The RCMP does not retain copies of the fingerprints in their system. Once the criminal record check results are produced and shared with PSPC, these results are deleted from the RCMP system. At no time are copies of civil fingerprints kept in the RCMP database.

Matching issues

The RCMP will send the criminal record check results directly to the PSPC Contract Security Program. The program will use the document control number (DCN) and the date of birth supplied by the applicant to match the personnel security screening request with the results supplied by the RCMP. All these need to be accurate and correctly matched to proceed with a security clearance request.

The Contract Security Program recommends that applicants request a copy of the RCMP submission results electronic (SRE) transaction record, which identifies the applicant's DCN and confirms the destination to where the criminal record check results will be sent. These documents help validate the DCN associated with the applicant's criminal record check results and help the program identify any potential matching issues.

If there is a matching issue, the PSPC Contract Security Program will contact the company security officer (CSO) or alternate company security officer (ACSO) who may be asked to provide additional information.

Note

It is important to ensure that the originating agency identifier (ORI) number, also found on the fingerprints applicant request form, is correctly entered in the service provider system when fingerprints are submitted to the RCMP. The ORI number is PQ80800. This number allows the applicants' criminal record check results to be sent directly from the RCMP database to PSPC for processing.

PSPC cannot match the applicant's criminal record check results if the service provider system did not include the PQ80800 reference number when the fingerprints were taken and the DCN was generated.

Find a fingerprint service provider

Consult the list of service providers that are authorized to submit electronic fingerprints directly to the RCMP. It is not a complete list. There are other companies that are accredited by the RCMP to provide electronic fingerprint services.

When electronic fingerprints are required

Read the following conditions carefully.

New requests

All new personnel security screening (Reliability status, Secret or Top Secret) requests require mandatory fingerprints.

Upgrade requests

Electronic fingerprints are also required for upgrade requests.

An upgrade request is when an individual is requesting a higher level of personnel security clearance.

Note

Since criminal record check results will be valid for one year, individuals who apply for an upgrade with the Contract Security Program within one year of having already undergone a criminal record check, will not require new electronic fingerprints. Instead, the program will use the RCMP results from the previous criminal record check when processing the upgrade request.

Signal Intelligence requests

The new criminal record check process does not affect special access Signal Intelligence (SIGINT) requests. These requests always require electronic fingerprints.

Reactivation requests

Electronic fingerprints are required to reactivate a personnel security clearance that has been inactive for more than one year.

A reactivation request pertains to employees who previously held a personnel security screening/clearance with a private sector organization registered in the Contract Security Program.

A personnel security screening/clearance request is considered inactive when a termination has been submitted for that employee to the program.

Update (renewal) requests

Electronic fingerprints are required for update (renewal) requests, except in cases where an applicant has already undergone a criminal record check through the Contract Security Program within one year of the date the update (renewal) request was submitted.

When electronic fingerprints are not required

Read the following conditions carefully.

Transfer requests

Electronic fingerprints are not required for transfer request unless the applicant's personnel security clearance is due for an update (renewal).

A transfer request is used when an organization must transfer the employee's personnel security clearance held by another government department.

Duplication requests

Electronic fingerprints are not required for duplication request unless there is a change of circumstance.

A duplication request is used when an organization must duplicate the employee's personnel security clearance held by another private sector organization.

North Atlantic Treaty Organization and COSMIC Top SecretFootnote 1 special access requests

Fingerprints are not required if an applicant requesting North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) and COSMIC special access already holds a valid Secret or Top Secret clearance, as these requests do not constitute an upgrade.

Note

Additional steps may apply depending on the requirement.

How to submit a personnel security screening request requiring electronic fingerprints

Follow these steps when personnel security screening requests require mandatory electronic fingerprints.

Step 1

The CSO or ACSO determines if the employee needs mandatory electronic fingerprints for their personnel security screening.

Step 2

The CSO/ACSO provides the employee (applicant) with a fingerprints applicant request form.

Step 3

The applicant brings the fingerprints applicant request form and two pieces of valid government-issued identification (ID) to an accredited fingerprint company, which has been certified and accredited by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) to submit fingerprints electronically.

At least one piece of ID must be photo ID.

The following types of Canadian government issued ID are accepted:

Note

Provincial health cards are not accepted.Footnote 2

Step 4

The fingerprint service provider takes the electronic fingerprints. A confirmation document control number (DCN) is generated and identified on the service provider's receipt. The service provider must record the 20-digit DCN on the fingerprints applicant request form.

It is very important that the applicant receives either a copy of the original fingerprint receipt with the DCN or a copy of the fingerprints applicant request form with the DCN recorded.

The Contract Security Program recommends that applicants request a copy of the RCMP submission results electronic (SRE) transaction record, which identifies the applicant's DCN and confirms the destination to where the criminal record check results will be sent.

Please retain copies of all documents associated with fingerprint until the applicant's personnel security screening request has been completed.

Step 5

The applicant's electronic fingerprints are forwarded to the RCMP by the service provider electronically.

If an applicant works in a remote location in Canada, their fingerprints can be taken on paper at any RCMP remote location office. The applicant will send copies of his paper and ink fingerprints to a service provider central site. Please make sure that the fingerprints applicant request form is attached to the fingerprint paper and ink form being sent to the central site. The service provider will scan and submit them electronically to the RCMP.

If an applicant is given that option, the DCN generated from the fingerprint submission must be included on the personnel security screening form(s).

Step 6

The applicant gives a copy of either the fingerprints applicant request form or the receipt to the CSO/ACSO. The CSO/ACSO then proceeds with the personnel security screening request electronically via the online industrial security services (OLISS) portal.

Submitting completed forms online (recommended)

Submitting applications online is a convenient and effective service that increases the accuracy of the applications and allows the program to initiate the process more quickly.

For electronic requests, the CSO/ACSO must enter the 20-digit DCN into OLISS.

Please note that manual requests may be subject to processing delays.

For manual requests, the Contract Security Program recommends that the CSO/ACSO:

For both request methods, the DCN is required as proof that electronic fingerprints were taken and to allow the program to match the RCMP criminal record check results to the applicant's request.

Step 7

The program reviews the personnel security screening request, proceeds with the remaining checks and verifications and determines if the request can be granted. If the request is granted, the CSO/ACSO is notified and asks the employee (applicant) to read and sign the briefing certificate.

Learn more about mandatory electronic fingerprints

More information

Date modified:

Prise électronique obligatoire des empreintes digitales

Le 1er février 2017, Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) a mis en œuvre un nouveau processus obligatoire de vérification de casier judiciaire. Prenez connaissance des situations où la prise d'empreintes digitales est obligatoire et pourquoi le Programme de sécurité des contrats a mis en œuvre ces changements. De plus, prenez connaissance de la période de validité ainsi que des mesures que doivent prendre les demandeurs et les agents de sécurité d'entreprise pour respecter la nouvelle exigence.

Nouvelle vidéo de formation

Pourquoi la prise électronique d'empreintes digitales fait-elle maintenant partie du processus de vérification de casier judiciaire? Vos employés doivent-ils se soumettre à la prise électronique d'empreintes digitales?

Visionnez la nouvelle vidéo de formation sur les changements apportés au processus de vérification de casier judiciaire pour apprendre comment vous conformer à cette nouvelle exigence.

Sur cette page

Au sujet de prise électronique obligatoire des empreintes digitales

La Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC), principal organisme responsable des demandes de renseignements relatives à l'application de la loi, a abolit le processus de vérification nominale des antécédents judiciaires. Elle le remplace par un nouveau processus de vérification de casier judiciaire par l'entremise de la prise électronique obligatoire des empreintes digitales.

Validité de l'attestation

Le processus de vérification de casier judiciaire n'a aucune incidence sur la validité d'une attestation de sécurité du personnel existante émise par SPAC.

Période de validité des résultats de la vérification de casier judiciaire

Les résultats de la nouvelle vérification de casier judiciaire, ainsi que le numéro de contrôle de document (NCD), transmis à SPAC, sont valides pendant un an à compter de la date du prélèvement.

À l'intérieur de cette même année, le NCD peut être utilisé de nouveau pour d'autres demandes d'enquête de sécurité telles que :

en autant que le NCD a été généré pour une attestation de sécurité du personnel obtenue par le biais de SPAC.

Remarque

Le NCD ne peut pas être transféré ou utilisé par d'autres ministères ou agences.

Coûts de la prise d'empreintes

La GRC ne perçoit pas les frais de traitement pour les empreintes digitales dans le cadre de la vérification du casier judiciaire pour les contrats du gouvernement du Canada. Le formulaire de demande de prise d'empreintes digitales du demandeur indique clairement que les empreintes digitales sont prélevées dans le cadre d'une autorisation de sécurité du gouvernement, et que les résultats seront transmis directement au Programme de sécurité de SPAC. Bien que la GRC ne perçoive aucuns frais de traitement, le tiers fournisseur de services dactyloscopiques exigera tout de même des frais de 40 à 65 $ pour ses services. Ces prix sont déterminés par le marché.

Les frais exigés varient d'un fournisseur à l'autre. Le Programme de sécurité des contrats ne reçoit aucun financement des fournisseurs de services dactyloscopiques et ne tire pas profit de ces services. Les demandeurs qui ont besoin d'une attestation de sécurité doivent assumer les coûts de prélèvement.

Protéger l'identité du demandeur

SPAC ne reçoit pas de copies des empreintes digitales des demandeurs. Le tiers fournisseur de service envoie les empreintes par voie électronique à la GRC. La GRC utilise ces empreintes pour faire une recherche dans leur base de données. La GRC donne seulement les résultats de cette recherche à SPAC.

La GRC ne garde pas des copies des empreintes digitales des civils dans leur système. Dès que les vérifications du casier judiciaire sont complétées et que les résultats sont transmis à SPAC, ces résultats sont supprimés du système de la GRC. Les copies des empreintes digitales des civils ne seront en aucun temps conservées dans la base de données de la GRC.

Problèmes de correspondances

La GRC transmettra les résultats de la vérification de casier judiciaire directement au Programme de sécurité des contrats de SPAC. Celui-ci utilisera le NCD fourni par le demandeur ainsi que sa date de naissance pour faire correspondre la demande d'enquête de sécurité du personnel aux résultats fournis par la GRC. Ces données doivent être exactes et correspondantes afin que la demande d'enquête de sécurité puisse être traitée.

Le Programme de la sécurité des contrats recommande aux demandeurs de demander une copie de la fiche de transaction de soumission des résultats électroniques de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC), qui précise le numéro de contrôle de document (NCD) du demandeur et confirme l'emplacement où seront envoyés les résultats de la vérification de casier judiciaire. Ce document pourrait permettre de valider le NCD associé aux résultats de la vérification de casier judiciaire du demandeur et aider la Programme à cerner tout enjeu potentiel de mise en correspondance.

Si les données soumises ne sont pas exactes, le Programme de la sécurité des contrats de SPAC contactera l'agent de sécurité d'entreprise ou l'agent de sécurité d'entreprise remplaçant et pourrait demander des informations supplémentaires.

Remarque

Il est important de s'assurer que le numéro indicatif unique de l'agence émettrice (IND), qui se trouve aussi sur le formulaire de demande de prise d'empreintes digitales du demandeur, soit correctement entré dans le système du tiers fournisseur de service lorsque les empreintes digitales sont soumises à la GRC. L'IND est PQ80800. Le numéro de contrôle du document permet d'envoyer les résultats de la vérification de casier judiciaire du demandeur directement des bases de données de la GRC à Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) à des fins de traitement.

Il est très important de se rappeler que SPAC ne peut pas faire correspondre les résultats de la vérification de casier judiciaire du demandeur à sa demande si, lorsque la prise d'empreintes a été effectuée et que le NCD a été généré, le système du prestataire de service N'A PAS inclus le numéro de référence PQ80800.

Trouver un fournisseur de services de dactyloscopie électronique

Consulter la liste de fournisseurs de services autorisés à soumettre électroniquement des empreintes digitales directement à la GRC. Il ne s'agit pas d'une liste exhaustive. Il y a d'autres entreprises qui sont accréditées par la GRC en vue de fournir des services d'empreintes digitales électroniques.

Quand les empreintes digitales sont requises

Veuillez lire attentivement les critères et conditions.

Nouvelles demandes

Des empreintes digitales seront requises pour toutes les nouvelles demandes d'enquêtes de sécurité (cote de fiabilité, attestation de sécurité Secrète ou Très Secrète).

Demandes de mise à niveau

La prise électronique d'empreintes digitales sera aussi obligatoire pour les mises à niveau.

Les demandes de mise à niveau comprennent celles présentées par un employé qui demande une cote de sécurité de niveau supérieur à celle qu'il détient.

Remarque

Puisque les résultats de la vérification du casier judiciaire seront valides pour une période d'un an, les personnes qui demandent une mise à niveau avec le Programme de la sécurité des contrats à l'intérieur d'un an, ne seront pas tenues de fournir de nouvelles empreintes digitales. Le programme utilisera les résultats de la GRC des empreintes digitales précédentes pour traiter les demandes de mise à niveau.

Demandes de renseignement d'origine électromagnétique

Le nouveau processus de vérification de casier judiciaire n'affecte pas les demandes d'accès spécial SIGINT. Les empreintes digitales par voie électronique sont toujours obligatoires pour les demandes d'accès spécial SIGINT.

Demandes de réactivation

La prise électronique d'empreintes digitales est obligatoire pour réactiver les demandes d'enquête de sécurité sur le personnel inactives depuis plus d'un an.

Les demandes de réactivation concernent les employés ayant détenu une attestation/cote de sécurité du personnel dans une entreprise du secteur privé inscrite dans le Programme de sécurité des contrats.

On considère l'attestation/cote de sécurité du personnel comme inactive lorsqu'une cessation d'une telle attestation/cote est soumise au Programme de sécurité des contrats pour l'employé en question.

Demandes de mises à jour (renouvellement)

Pour de telles demandes, la prise électronique d'empreintes digitales est obligatoire, sauf dans les cas où le demandeur a déjà fait l'objet d'une vérification de casier judiciaire par l'intermédiaire du Programme de sécurité des contrats au cours de l'année précédant la date de soumission de la demande de mise à jour (renouvellement).

Quand les empreintes digitales ne sont pas requises

Veuillez lire attentivement les critères et conditions.

Demandes de transfert

La prise électronique d'empreintes digitales n'est pas obligatoire pour des demandes de transfert, sauf si l'attestation/cote de sécurité du personnel du demandeur doit être mise à jour (renouvellement).

On utilise une demande de transfert lorsqu'un organisme doit transférer l'attestation/cote de sécurité du personnel d'un employé auprès d'un autre ministère.

Demandes de duplication

La prise électronique d'empreintes digitales n'est pas obligatoire pour ce type de demande à moins d'un changement de situation.

Une demande de duplication est utilisée lorsqu'un organisme doit dupliquer l'attestation/cote de sécurité du personnel d'un employé auprès d'une autre organisation du secteur privé.

Demandes d'accès spécial aux niveaux Organisation du Traité de l'Atlantique Nord et COSMIC Très secretNote de bas de page 1

Comme ces demandes ne constituent pas une mise à niveau, les demandeurs n'ont pas besoin de fournir leurs empreintes digitales s'ils détiennent déjà une cote de sécurité Secrète ou Très secrète.

Remarque

Des mesures supplémentaires peuvent s'appliquer selon l'exigence.

Comment soumettre une demande d'enquête de sécurité sur le personnel ou d'attestation de sécurité du personnel exigeant la prise électronique d'empreintes digitales

Veuillez suivre les étapes suivantes lorsque les demandes d'enquête de sécurité sur le personnel exigent la prise électronique d'empreintes digitales.

Étape 1

L'agent de sécurité d'entreprise (ASE) ou l'agent de sécurité d'entreprise remplaçant (ASER) détermine si un employé doit demander une attestation/cote de sécurité du personnel.

Étape 2

L'ASE/ASER remet le formulaire de demande de prise d'empreintes digitales du demandeur à l'employé (le demandeur).

Étape 3

L'employé remet le formulaire de demande de prise d'empreintes digitales du demandeur et 2 pièces d'identité délivrés par le gouvernement à une des sociétés de dactyloscopie accréditées qui est accrédité par la GRC pour transmettre les empreintes par voie électronique.

Au moins une de ces pièces doit comporter une photo.

Les pièces d'identité suivantes, émises par le gouvernement du Canada, sont acceptées :

Remarque

Les cartes d'assurance-maladie provinciale ne sont pas acceptées.Note de bas de page 2

Étape 4

Le fournisseur de services procède à la prise électronique des empreintes digitales. Une confirmation, numéro de contrôle de document (NCD), est générée et indiqué sur le reçu du fournisseur de services. Le fournisseur de service doit inscrire le NCD à 20 chiffres sur le formulaire de demande de prise d'empreintes digitales du demandeur.

Remarque importante : Il est très important que l'employé reçoive l'original du reçu du fournisseur de services avec le NCD ou une copie du formulaire de demande de prise d'empreintes digitales du demandeur comportant le NCD.

Le programme recommande aux demandeurs de demander une copie de la fiche de données de la réponse de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC), qui précise le NCD du demandeur et confirme l'emplacement où seront envoyés les résultats de la vérification de casier judiciaire.

Veuillez conserver des copies de tous les documents associés à l'empreinte digitale jusqu'à ce que la demande de l'employé ait été complétée.

Étape 5

Le fournisseur de services transmet les empreintes digitales du demandeur à la GRC par voie électronique.

Si le demandeur travaille dans une région éloignée au Canada, ses empreintes peuvent être prises sur papier dans un bureau de la GRC d'une région éloignée. Le demandeur devra envoyer les copies de ses empreintes sur papier et encre à un bureau central de fournisseur de services. Veuillez vous assurer que le formulaire de demande de prise d'empreintes digitales du demandeur soit attaché au formulaire (papier et encre) des empreintes qui est envoyé au bureau central. Le fournisseur de services du bureau central procèdera alors au balayage des empreintes et les soumettra électroniquement à la GRC.

Dans un cas comme celui-ci, le NCD généré par la prise d'empreintes digitales doit être inclus dans la demande d'enquête de sécurité du personnel.

Étape 6

Le demandeur remet une copie du formulaire de demande de prise d'empreintes digitales du demandeur ou le reçu à l'ASE/ASER. L'ASE/ASER fait alors une demande d'enquête de sécurité sur le personnel ou d'attestation de sécurité du personnel par voie électronique par l'intermédiaire du système des services en direct de sécurité industrielle (SEDSI).

Soumission des formulaires remplis en ligne (recommandé)

La soumission des formulaires en ligne est un service pratique et efficace qui accroit la précision des demandes et permet au programme de procéder plus rapidement.

Pour les demandes électroniques, l'ASE/ASER doit inscrire le numéro de confirmation de 20 chiffres dans le système SEDSI.

Veuillez noter que les soumissions de formulaires remplis à la main peuvent être assujetties à des délais de traitement.

Pour les demandes manuelles, le Programme de sécurité des contrats recommande à l'ASE/ASER :

Dans les 2 cas, le NCD est requis pour prouver que les empreintes digitales ont été prélevées électroniquement et pour permettre au programme de faire correspondre les résultats de la GRC à la demande en question.

Étape 7

Le programme examine la demande d'enquête de sécurité sur le personnel procède aux autres vérifications et détermine si la demande peut être accordée. Si la demande est accordée, l'ASE/ASER en est avisé, et l'on demande à l'employé (demandeur) de lire et de signer le certificat de sécurité.

Apprenez-en plus sur la prise électronique obligatoire des empreintes digitales

Renseignements supplémentaires

Date de modification :