Pension portability package

This information package is provided for information purposes only and does not constitute a legal document on your rights and obligations. Should there be any conflict between the information in this document and that contained in the Public Service Superannuation Act (PSSA) and the Public Service Superannuation Regulations (PSSR), or other applicable laws, the act and regulations apply.

What is pension portability?

Have you recently entered or left the federal public service? If so, you may be able to transfer your pensionable service into or out of the PSSA through one of the pension portability provisions of the PSSA. This Pension portability information package is intended to provide you with general information regarding pension portability options under the PSSA. You should carefully consider all of your options before deciding which one is best for you. These options are Pension transfer agreements (PTA) and Service buyback - Glossary (also known as elective service). To learn more about these options you may explore the following links within this package:

Note

A reciprocal transfer agreement (RTA) was another mechanism used in the past to facilitate mobility between employers. All but 11 RTAs expired on October 15, 2000. Only those employees who transferred out as part of one of the group transfers may be eligible to transfer back in under the same RTA. No new RTA agreements will be negotiated.

This information package may not answer questions specifically related to your situation. You are therefore encouraged to contact the Pension Centre for additional information. In this instance, an individualized information package will be provided.

Date modified:

Trousse d'information sur la transférabilité des pensions

La présente trousse est fournie à titre d'information seulement et ne constitue pas un document juridique établissant vos droits et vos obligations. En cas de divergence entre cette information et la Loi sur la pension de la fonction publique (LPFP) et le Règlement connexe ou toute autre loi pertinente, les dispositions législatives s'appliqueront.

Qu'est-ce que la transférabilité des pensions?

Avez-vous récemment quitté la fonction publique fédérale ou obtenu un emploi au gouvernement fédéral? Si oui, vous pourriez être admissible à un transfert de vos crédits de service ouvrant droit à pension dans le régime établi au titre de la LPFP ou à l'extérieur de celui-ci, par l'entremise d'une des dispositions relatives à la transférabilité des pensions de la LPFP. La présente trousse d'information sur la transférabilité des pensions a pour but de vous fournir des renseignements généraux sur les possibilités qu'offre la LPFP en matière de transférabilité des pensions. Nous vous suggérons de considérer toutes vos possibilités avant de prendre une décision qui correspond le mieux à votre situation. Les possibilités sont un accord de transfert de pensions (ATP) et un rachat de service - Glossaire. Veuillez consulter les sections suivantes de cette trousse d'information pour de plus amples détails :

Note

L'accord réciproque de transfert (ART) est un autre mécanisme qui était utilisé par le passé pour faciliter la mobilité du personnel. Il ne reste que 11 ART encore valides; tous les autres sont arrivés à échéance le 15 octobre 2000. Seuls les employés qui ont transféré une pension à l'extérieur de la fonction publique en vertu de l'un des transferts de groupe pourraient être admissibles à reporter leur service dans la fonction publique dans le cadre du même ART. Aucun nouvel ART ne sera négocié.

Les renseignements fournis dans cette trousse d'information ne portent pas nécessairement sur votre cas en particulier. C'est pourquoi nous vous invitons à communiquer avec le Centre des pensions pour obtenir des renseignements additionnels. À cet effet, une trousse d'information personnalisée vous sera transmise.

Date de modification :