About the Canadian General Standards Board

Organization

In business since 1934, the Canadian General Standard Board (CGSB) is a unique standards development and conformity assessment organization, as it is part of the Government of Canada, within the Department of Public Services and Procurement Canada.

Mission

The Canadian General Standards Board provides standards development and conformity assessment services, including programs for certification of products and services, registration of quality and environmental management systems, and related services. These services are provided in support of economic, regulatory, procurement, health, safety and environmental interests.

Vision

To be a recognized leader in providing standardization services to clients, nationally and internationally.

For more than 85 years, we have provided levels and quality of standardization services that add the most value to the needs of our clients. This includes being the organization of choice for the standardization requirements of government and private sector clients. We are a respected participant in the national and international standards systems. We foster pride, growth and excellence for our employees.

Values

The CGSB subscribes to the following fundamental values:

  • service centred on our stakeholders
  • quality in everything we do
  • respect for our colleagues and our work

Business

Accredited by the Standards Council of Canada, the CGSB offers services in Standards Development, Management Systems Programs, and Certification and Qualification Programs.

Our staff and hundreds of volunteers are the essence of these programs and services. Their professionalism, expertise, knowledge and competence are the hallmark of the services that we provide.

Stakeholders

Our stakeholders are diverse and include consumers, industry producers and suppliers, procurement officers, regulators, academia and scientific organizations in Canada and in the global marketplace. As a result, the CGSB aims to meet the needs and expectations of these stakeholders with effective, economical and timely service.

Benefits for clients

We are proud of our experience and excellence. With over 85 years’ experience, credibility as Canada's only federal government standardization organization, a proven track record of excellence, fully bilingual products and services, and reasonable fees, we offer clients solutions to their standardization needs.

Date modified:

À propos de l'Office des normes générales du Canada

Organisation

Créé en 1934, l'Office des normes générales du Canada (ONGC) est un organisme d'élaboration de normes et d'évaluation de la conformité exceptionnel et une composante du gouvernement du Canada, Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada.

Mission

L'Office des normes générales du Canada offre des services d'élaboration de normes et d'évaluation de la conformité, notamment des programmes de certification des produits et services et des programmes d'enregistrement des systèmes de management de la qualité et des systèmes de management environnemental ainsi que les services connexes, qui sont destinés à appuyer les secteurs de l'économie, de la réglementation, de l'approvisionnement, de la santé, de la sécurité et de l'environnement.

Vision

Être reconnu comme un leader en prestation de services de normalisation à ses clients, aussi bien à l'échelle nationale que internationale.

Depuis plus de 85 ans, nous procurons des services de normalisation de qualité et de niveau qui ont conféré une valeur ajoutée optimale aux besoins de nos clients. Ainsi, l'ONGC est un organisme de choix en ce qui concerne les exigences de normalisation des clients des secteurs public et privé. Nous sommes un participant respecté des systèmes de normalisation nationaux. Nous encourageons le perfectionnement et l'excellence de nos employés et leur inspirons un sentiment de fierté.

Valeurs

L'ONGC souscrit aux valeurs fondamentales suivantes :

  • des services axés sur les intervenants
  • la qualité en tout
  • le respect des collègues et du travail

Activités

Accrédité par le Conseil canadien des normes, l'ONGC offre des Services d'élaboration de normes, Programmes de systèmes de management, Programmes de certification et d'homologation. À l'heure actuelle, nous administrons environ 915 normes et spécifications et nos programmes d'évaluation de la conformité comptent plus de 500 clients à l'échelle mondiale.

Nos employés de l'ONGC et des milliers de bénévoles sont les artisans des programmes et services de l'ONGC. Leur professionnalisme, leur expertise, leurs connaissances et compétences sont au cœur de la qualité des services de l'ONGC.

Intervenants

Nos intervenants sont très diversifiés et englobent des consommateurs, des producteurs et fournisseurs de l'industrie, des agents d'approvisionnement, des organismes de réglementation, des universités et des organisations scientifiques du Canada et d'autres pays. L'ONGC doit satisfaire les besoins et les attentes de ces intervenants avec efficacité et rapidité à un coût économique.

Les avantages offerts à nos clients

Nous sommes fiers de notre expérience et de notre excellence. Fort d'une expérience de plus de 85 ans, de sa crédibilité à titre de seul organisme de normalisation du gouvernement fédéral canadien, d'une feuille de route marquée par l'excellence, de la prestation des produits et services dans les deux langues officielles, l'ONGC offre aux clients, à un coût raisonnable, des solutions à leurs besoins en normalisation.

Date de modification :