Security assessments: A summary of considerations, requirements and timelines

This summary provides information about Public Services and Procurement Canada's Controlled Goods Program security assessments. Learn about related requirements for new and renewal applications for registration, validity, expiry periods, and more.

On this page

New registration applications

All new registration applications submitted to the Controlled Goods Program must be accompanied by security assessment(s) for all owner(s) (holding 20% or more of the business), for the authorized individual, and for a designated official.

Renewal registration applications

All renewal applications, at the time of application, must be either:

If the security assessments for the owner(s) or authorized individual will expire within 6 months after the renewal application, we recommend that you submit those at the same time as the renewal application.

Validity period

Security assessments, once approved, are valid for up to 5  years. It is the responsibility of all organizations registered in the Controlled Goods Program to respect expiry dates and to ensure security assessments are renewed. This can be done by submission of completed applications, with all supporting documents, to dmc-cgd@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca a minimum of 32 days prior to the expiry date.

Employees

Designated officials must re-conduct security assessments of employees who require access to controlled goods, at least once every 5 years. The designated official may only do so if they themselves hold a valid approved security assessment.

Notices

Notices for security assessment expiries will not be issued by the Controlled Goods Program.

Note

No individual may examine, possess or transfer controlled goods without a valid approved security assessment.

Date modified:

Les évaluations de sécurité : Un résumé des considérations, exigences et échéanciers

Ce résumé comporte des renseignements concernant les évaluations de sécurité du Programme des marchandises contrôlées de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada. Renseignez-vous sur les exigences connexes pour les nouvelles demandes et les demandes de renouvellement en ce qui concerne l'enregistrement, les périodes de validité et les dates d'expiration, entre autres.

Sur cette page

Nouvelles demandes d'inscription

Toutes les nouvelles demandes qui sont soumises au Programme des marchandises contrôlées doivent être accompagnées avec des évaluations de sécurité pour tous les propriétaires (détenant 20 % ou plus de l'entreprise), pour la personne autorisée ainsi que pour le représentant désigné.

Demandes de renouvellement de l'inscription

Toutes les demandes de renouvellement doivent, au moment de la demande, être

Si les évaluations de sécurité du propriétaire ou de la personne autorisée expirent dans les 6 mois suivants la demande de renouvellement, nous vous recommandons de les soumettre en même temps que la demande de renouvellement.

Période de validité

Les évaluations de sécurité, une fois approuvées, sont valides pour une période maximale de 5 ans. Il incombe à toutes les organisations inscrites au Programme des marchandises contrôlées de respecter les dates d'expiration et de veiller à ce que les évaluations de sécurité soient renouvelées. Cela peut se faire en soumettant les demandes remplies, accompagnées de toutes les pièces justificatives, à dmc-cgd@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca au moins 32 jours avant la date d'expiration.

Employés

Les représentants désignés doivent refaire les évaluations de sécurité des employés qui ont besoin d'accéder à des marchandises contrôlées, et ce, au moins une fois tous les 5 ans. Le représentant désigné ne peut le faire que s'il détient lui-même une évaluation de sécurité approuvée valide.

Avis

Le Programme des marchandises contrôlées n'émettra pas d'avis d'expiration pour les évaluations de sécurité.

Remarque

Personne ne peut examiner, posséder ou transférer des marchandises contrôlées sans une évaluation de sécurité approuvée valide.

Date de modification :