Response from National Film Board of Canada

From Public Services and Procurement Canada

November 15, 2017

Mr. Michael Wernick
Clerk of the Privy Council and
Secretary to the Cabinet
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0A3

Dear Mr. Wernick,

I am writing in response to your letter of November 2, 2017 on the efforts undertaken to solve problems related to the pay system.

As per your request, here are the measures put in place by the NFB in order to stabilize the pay system and to ensure our employees receive the correct amount of pay on time.

As soon as the transition to the Phoenix system was announced, the NFB put in place the types of practical measures to which you refer in your letter, with a team of highly qualified internal experts working in partnership with the Public Service Pay Centre. A project management plan was rolled out, including analysis of data and accounts, adaptation of connected processes and systems, and so on. Furthermore, a change management plan was put in place; it includes information sessions on roles and responsibilities, as well as regular communication with employees and managers along with external partners.

As for unresolved transactions and problems with PSPC in processing payment files, a team made up of employees from HR and Finance was created in order to analyze pay discrepancies, allocate salary advances, participate in committee meetings, provide follow-up and quality control to various bodies, and to reply to questions from employees and managers.

In addition, the NFB has communicated with numerous government partners in order to obtain temporary help in managing the backlog. These measures having proved unsuccessful, a $40,000 letter of agreement was signed with Public Services and Procurement Canada with the goal of correcting errors and handling outstanding cases. Unfortunately, this agreement proved to be ineffective, and many cases were closed without having been finalized. This has caused a distortion in the data appearing on the ministerial performance indicators.

Going forward, the NFB will not further pursue the agreement with Public Services and Procurement Canada and will work with the Public Service Pay Centre to take up and finalize outstanding cases closed by Public Services and Procurement. Moreover, the HR-Finance team will continue to act as the line of first response with respect to administering employee pay, until the Public Service Pay Centre’s full resumption of its roles and responsibilities.

Finally, we continue to insist that the Public Service Pay Centre once again put in a place a model that includes compensation advisors dedicated to the NFB, in order to ensure ongoing collaboration when it comes to processing pay files. As a relatively small and distinctive employer with unique administrative units, having access to a dedicated compensation adviser with whom we could work closely would permit us to efficiently resolve payment problems and prevent future ones.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you wish to discuss these matters further.

Sincerely yours,

Claude Joli-Coeur

Government Film Commissioner and Chairperson of the National Film Board of Canada

cc.: Mélanie Joly, Minister of Canadian Heritage

Date modified:

Réponse de l’Office national du film du Canada

De Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Le 15 novembre 2017

M. Michael Wernick
Greffier du Conseil privé et
Secrétaire du Cabinet
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0A3

Monsieur Wernick,

La présente est en réponse à votre lettre du 2 novembre 2017 portant sur les efforts déployés pour régler les problèmes liés au système de paye.

Tel que demandé, voici les mesures prises à l’ONF jusqu’ici pour aider à stabiliser le système de paye et pour veiller à ce que nos employés reçoivent une paie exacte et à temps.

Dès l’annonce de la transition au système de paye Phénix, l’ONF a mis en œuvre les mesures pratiques que vous avez jointes à votre lettre. Une équipe d’experts chevronnés internes travaille en partenariat avec le Centre de services de la paye de la Fonction publique (CSPFP). Un plan de gestion du projet a été déployé incluant l’analyse des données et rapports, l’adaptation des processus et systèmes connexes, etc. De plus, un plan de gestion du changement a été mis-en-œuvre, comportant des sessions d’information sur les rôles et responsabilités ainsi que des communications régulières avec les employés et gestionnaires ainsi qu’avec les partenaires externes.

Concernant les transactions non réglées et les difficultés du Centre de services de la paye de la Fonction publique à traiter les dossiers de paie, une équipe composée d’employés RH et Finances a été mise à contribution pour analyser les écarts de paie, attribuer des avances de salaires, participer aux réunions de comités, effectuer les suivis et l’assurance-qualité auprès des diverses instances et répondre aux questions des employés et gestionnaires.

De plus, l'ONF a communiqué avec plusieurs partenaires gouvernementaux pour obtenir des aides ponctuelles dans le but de gérer l’arriéré. Ces mesures ayant été infructueuses, une lettre d'entente a été signée avec SPAC au montant de 40 000 $ afin d’assurer la correction d'erreurs et le traitement des arriérés. Malheureusement, cette entente s’est avérée inefficace et de nombreux cas ont été fermés sans avoir été finalisés. D’ailleurs, ceci fausse les données présentées sur le tableau de bord ministériel.

Quant aux mesures futures, L’ONF ne poursuivra pas l’entente avec SPAC et collaborera avec le Centre de services de la paye de la Fonction publique pour retracer et finaliser les cas arriérés qui ont été fermés par SPAC.  Par ailleurs, l’équipe RH-Finances continuera d’agir à titre de premier intervenant concernant l’administration de la paie auprès de ses employés jusqu’à la reprise complète des rôles et responsabilités du Centre de services de la paye de la Fonction publique.

De plus, nous continuons d’insister à ce que le Centre de services de la paye de la Fonction publique remette en place le modèle de conseillers en rémunération dédiés à l’ONF pour assurer une collaboration soutenue dans le traitement des dossiers de paie. Étant un employeur distinct de petite taille comportant des règles administratives uniques, avoir accès à un conseiller en rémunération attitré avec lequel nous pourrions collaborer nous permettrait de résoudre et prévenir les problèmes de paye de façon efficace.

N’hésitez pas à communiquer avec moi pour en discuter davantage. Je vous prie d’agréer, Monsieur Wernick, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Claude Joli-Coeur

Commissaire du gouvernement à la cinématographie et président
Office national du film du Canada

cc. : Mélanie Joly, Ministre du Patrimoine canadien

Date de modification :