Pension transfer in—Estimates

Why is an estimate important?

The estimate stage is critical because it provides you with information to assist in making the decision whether to proceed with a pension transfer. The existence of an agreement between employers does not necessarily mean that a transfer of your pension credits will be advantageous to you. Therefore, along with your pension transfer estimate, Government of Canada Pension Centre will provide you with an estimate of your Public Service Superannuation Act (PSSA) pension based on various scenarios. You should contact your former employer for information regarding your pension benefits under their plan.

How do I request an estimate?

Contact the Pension Centre in order to obtain the Appendix A/A1—Request for transfer estimate - depending on the terms of the agreement.

When you receive the appropriate appendix, complete and sign the required part of the form and send it to your former employer. If your former plan administrator was the "Commission administrative des régimes de retraite et d'assurances" (CARRA) or "l'Université du Québec", complete and sign the personal information data in the middle section of the appendix and send the original copy to your former plan administrator and a copy to the Pension Centre. This "Employee's authorization" will give the employer permission to provide the Government of Canada Pension Centre with the information required to calculate your pension transfer estimate. The form must be received by your former employer within one year from the date you were notified in writing of your contributory status under the PSSA or within one year from the date a PTA is signed, whichever is later. Your former employer will complete Part III and return the form to the Government of Canada Pension Centre. It is recommended that you keep a photocopy of the appendix for your records.

The estimate

Based upon the information received from your former employer, the Government of Canada Pension Centre will prepare and send you the Appendix B/B1—Request for transfer of service credits - along with a letter, which will provide additional information. This appendix represents your pension transfer estimate and is to be considered an estimate only.

The purpose of a pension transfer estimate is to provide individuals with a sense of what monies are required and are available as of a certain point in time and how much service those funds will purchase under the PSSA. However, these are only estimates. Should you choose to continue with the transfer, you must complete the relevant portions of the Appendix B/B1 and return it to the Pension Centre prior to the deadline indicated at the bottom of the form. Doing so constitutes your formal request for transfer. Once a formal request for transfer is made, the provisions of the PTA stipulate that the pension value must be recalculated as of the date of receipt of the formal request for transfer, that is, the Appendix B/B1. In most cases, if not all, it is expected that the final amounts will change as time passes because the calculation of the pension valuation takes into account, among other factors, the actual age of the employee and interest.

Pension transfer amounts are determined on an actuarial basis. The amount to be transferred will be the lesser of:

  1. the amount of pension funds available for transfer as calculated by the former employer (employer transfer amount)

    or

  2. the amount required to establish the accrued period(s) of pensionable service with the former employer as pensionable service under the Public Service Pension Plan. (federal transfer amount - defined benefit or defined contribution)

The amount available for transfer from your former employer (employer transfer amount) is compared to the federal transfer amount required and the equivalent ratio is applied to your pensionable service credits with your former employer. In other words, if the employer transfer amount is two thirds of the federal transfer amount, the transfer process will purchase 2/3 of your pensionable service credits. For more detailed information on the contents of the estimate, refer to How the transfer amounts are determined.

Date modified:

Transfert au régime de pension – Estimation

Pourquoi est-il important de demander une estimation?

L'étape de l'estimation est essentielle parce qu'elle fournit des renseignements pour vous aider à déterminer si vous devriez faire transférer votre service. Le fait qu'un accord soit conclu entre deux employeurs ne signifie pas nécessairement qu'il est avantageux pour vous de choisir de transférer vos crédits de service. Par conséquent, en plus de l'estimation aux fins du transfert de pension, le Centre des pensions du gouvernement du Canada fournit une estimation des prestations de retraite qui seraient versées en vertu de la Loi sur la pension de la fonction publique (LPFP) selon divers scénarios. Nous vous suggérons de communiquer avec votre ancien employeur pour obtenir des renseignements sur les prestations de retraite qui vous seraient versées en vertu de leur régime.

Que dois-je faire pour obtenir une estimation?

Vous devez contacter le Centre des pensions pour obtenir une Demande d'estimation aux fins de transfert (annexe A ou A1, selon les modalités de l'accord).

Lorsque vous recevez l'annexe appropriée, vous devez remplir et signer la partie requise et envoyer le document à votre ancien employeur. Si l'administrateur de votre ancien régime était la Commission administrative des régimes de retraite et d'assurances (CARRA) ou l'Université du Québec, remplissez et signez la partie portant sur les renseignements personnels située au centre de l'annexe. Envoyez ensuite l'annexe originale à l'administrateur de votre ancien régime et envoyez-en une copie au Centre des pensions. Cette « Autorisation de l'employé » permet à l'employeur de fournir au Centre des pensions du gouvernement du Canada les renseignements dont il a besoin pour faire les calculs nécessaires à l'estimation aux fins de transfert. L'ancien employeur doit recevoir le formulaire dûment rempli dans l'année qui suit la date à laquelle l'employé a été informé par écrit de son statut de cotisant au titre de la LPFP ou dans l'année qui suit la date de signature d'un ATP, le délai le plus long étant retenu. L'ancien employeur remplit la partie III et renvoie le formulaire au Centre des pensions du gouvernement du Canada. Nous vous conseillons de conserver une copie de l'annexe dans vos dossiers.

L'estimation

En fonction des renseignements fournis par l'ancien employeur, le Centre des pensions du gouvernement du Canada vous enverra la Demande de transfert des crédits de service (annexe B ou B1) accompagnée d'une lettre comprenant des renseignements additionnels. L'annexe B/B1 constitue votre estimation aux fins de transfert et doit être considérée comme une estimation seulement.

Le but de l'estimation aux fins de transfert est de donner aux particuliers un aperçu des sommes requises et des montants qui seront disponibles à un certain moment, ainsi que de la période de service que ces fonds permettront de racheter conformément à la LPFP. Ces données ne sont cependant que des estimations. Si vous décidez de procéder au transfert, vous devez remplir l'annexe B/B1 aux parties pertinentes et envoyer le document au Centre des pensions avant la date limite précisée au bas du formulaire. Cela constitue votre demande officielle de transfert. Lorsqu'une demande de transfert est présentée officiellement, conformément aux dispositions de l'ATP, la valeur de la pension est recalculée en fonction de la date de réception de l'annexe B/B1. Dans presque tous les cas, les données finales changent, car les calculs servant à évaluer la pension tiennent compte, entre autres, de l'âge réel de l'employé et des intérêts accumulés.

Les montants du transfert sont établis à partir de calculs actuariels. La somme à transférer correspondra au moins élevé des deux montants suivants :

  1. le montant disponible aux fins de transfert calculé par l'ancien employeur (montant de transfert de la pension de l'employeur)

    ou

  2. le montant requis pour établir la ou les période(s) de service antérieur effectué à l'emploi de l'ancien employeur comme service ouvrant droit à pension au titre de la LPFP (montant de transfert de la pension du régime fédéral – prestations déterminées ou cotisation déterminées)

Le montant disponible aux fins de transfert d'un ancien employeur (montant de transfert de la pension de l'employeur) est comparé au montant de transfert de la pension du régime fédéral, et le ratio équivalent est appliqué aux droits à pension accumulés en vertu du régime de l'ancien employeur. Autrement dit, si le montant de transfert de l'employeur de l'extérieur équivaut aux deux tiers du montant exigé par le régime fédéral, le transfert permettra le rachat des deux tiers du service ouvrant droit à pension au compte de l'employé. Pour obtenir des renseignements additionnels sur le contenu de l'estimation aux fins de transfert, consultez la partie intitulée Comment les montants du transfert sont déterminés.

Date de modification :