Prompt payment in the construction industry

From: Public Services and Procurement Canada

Find information on payments made to construction prime contractors and businesses who have a construction contract with Public Services and Procurement Canada and learn what this department is doing, in cooperation with Defence Construction Canada and the Canadian Construction Association, to improve payment practices throughout the construction industry.

On this page

Industry engagement

Public Services and Procurement Canada commissioned Singleton Urquhart Reynolds Vogel LLP to lead an industry engagement initiative on a potential federal legislation aimed at improving the timeliness of payments for federal construction contracts throughout all tiers of the construction industry and to consider the results and lessons learned from the recently completed Bill 142 (the Construction Lien Amendment Act) in Ontario.

Read the Executive Summary: Building a Federal Framework for Prompt Payment and Adjudication.

Payment disclosure for construction-related contracts

Are you a sub-contractor, trade contractor or supplier working with a prime contractor who has a construction-related contract with Public Services and Procurement Canada? Find information on payments made to construction prime contractors and businesses to be able to take the necessary steps to inquire about your payment and exercise your contractual rights.

Contract payments made since May 1, 2017

The table below contains payments made against Public Services and Procurement Canada construction-related contracts valued at $100,000 or more. You may sort payments by contract number, project number, company name, or payment date.

Contract payments

Note

This table is updated weekly and includes payments made since May 1, 2017. Sub-contractors, trades and suppliers seeking more information about their payment are encouraged to contact the firm they are in contract with for more information.

Procurement identification number Project number Vendor name Payment date (YYYY-MM-DD)

Prompt payment principles

Public Services and Procurement Canada advocates that construction-related payments should follow these 3 principles:

Promptness:
The department will review and process invoices promptly. If disputes arise, Public Services and Procurement Canada will pay for items not in dispute, while working to resolve the disputed amount quickly and fairly
Transparency:
The department will make construction payment information such as payment dates, company names, contract and project numbers, publicly available; likewise, contractors are expected to share this information with their lower tiers
Shared responsibility:
Payers and payees are responsible for fulfilling their contract terms including their obligations to make and receive payment, and to adhere to industry best practices

Prompt payment action plan

Consult the action plan developed by the government-industry working group made up of Canadian Construction Association, Defence Construction Canada and Public Services and Procurement Canada to know more about some of the proposed solutions being explored to improve payment timeliness in the construction industry.

Related links

News release

More information

For more information on the government-industry working group

Note

Sub-contractors, trades and suppliers seeking further information on payments are encouraged to contact the firm they are in contract with for more information.

Date modified:

Paiement sans délai dans l'industrie de la construction

De : Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Renseignez-vous sur les paiements versés aux entrepreneurs et aux entreprises titulaires d'un contrat de construction avec Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada, et prenez connaissance des activités menées par le Ministère, en collaboration avec Construction de Défense Canada et l'Association canadienne de la construction, pour améliorer les pratiques de paiement dans l'ensemble de l'industrie de la construction.

Sur cette page

Mobilisation de l'industrie

Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada a demandé à Singleton Urquhart Reynolds Vogel LLP de diriger une initiative de mobilisation de l'industrie sur une mesure législative fédérale possible visant à améliorer la rapidité des paiements pour les contrats de construction fédéraux dans tous les paliers de l'industrie de la construction et d'examiner les résultats et les leçons tirées du projet de loi 142 (Loi sur le privilège dans l'industrie de la construction) récemment achevé en Ontario.

Lire le résumé de l’analyse: Établissement d’un cadre fédéral pour le régime de paiement sans délai et d’arbitrage intérimaire.

Divulgation des paiements versés au titre des contrats liés à la construction

Êtes-vous un sous-traitant, un entrepreneur spécialisé ou un fournisseur qui travaillez pour un entrepreneur principal à qui Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada a attribué un contrat lié à la construction? Renseignez-vous sur les paiements versés aux entrepreneurs et aux entreprises de l'industrie de la construction afin de pouvoir prendre les mesures nécessaires pour poser des questions sur vos paiements et exercer vos droits contractuels.

Paiements versés au titre des contrats de construction depuis le 1er mai 2017

Le tableau ci-dessous fait état des paiements versés au titre des contrats liés à la construction de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada d'une valeur égale ou supérieure à 100 000 $. Vous pouvez trier les paiements par numéro de contrat, par numéro de projet, par nom de fournisseur ou par date de paiement.

Contrats de construction

Remarque

Ce tableau est mis à jour chaque semaine et comprend les paiements versés depuis le 1er mai 2017. Les sous traitants, les entrepreneurs spécialisés et les fournisseurs qui souhaitent en savoir plus à ce sujet sont invités à communiquer avec l'entreprise avec qui ils ont passé un contrat.

Numéro d'identification d'approvisionnement Numéro de projet Nom du fournisseur Date de paiement (AAAA-MM-JJ)

Principes en matière de paiement sans délai

Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada est d'avis que ces 3 principes devraient régir le versement des paiements faits au titre des contrats de construction :

Rapidité :
Le Ministère examinera et traitera les factures dans les meilleurs délais. En cas de différend, Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada paiera les éléments non contestés, tout en s'employant à résoudre la question du montant contesté de façon rapide et équitable
Transparence :
Le Ministère rendra publics les renseignements sur les paiements versés au titre des contrats de construction, comme les dates de versement des paiements, ainsi que le nom des entreprises, les numéros de contrat et de projet; de leur côté, les entrepreneurs devraient communiquer ces renseignements aux paliers inférieurs
Responsabilité partagée :
Les payeurs et les bénéficiaires sont tenus de respecter les conditions de leurs contrats, entre autres leurs obligations liées au versement et à la réception des paiements, ainsi que d'adopter les pratiques exemplaires de l'industrie

Plan d'action sur le paiement sans délai

Consulter le plan d'action élaboré par le groupe de travail mixte gouvernement-industrie composé de représentants de l'Association canadienne de la construction, de Construction de Défense Canada et de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada pour en savoir plus sur certaines des solutions proposées à l'étude afin d'accélérer la rapidité avec laquelle les paiements sont versés à l'industrie de la construction.

Liens connexes

Communiqué

Renseignements supplémentaires

Pour plus de renseignements concernant le groupe de travail mixte gouvernement-industrie

Remarque

Les sous-traitants, les entrepreneurs spécialisés et les entreprises qui souhaitent en savoir plus au sujet de leurs paiements sont invités à communiquer avec l'entreprise avec qui ils ont passé un contrat.

Date de modification :