Control of Legionella bacteria in the Public Services and Procurement Canada real property portfolio

The health and safety of occupants and users of federal buildings is the top priority of Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC).

PSPC has taken a leadership role as a custodian department to put in place strong processes to prevent the occurrence of Legionnaires' disease in buildings managed by the department or its service providers.

Legionnaires' disease is a form of respiratory infection and is not contagious. The primary route of transmission is through the inhalation of water vapour or mists that have been contaminated with Legionella bacteria. Legionella bacteria can grow in building water systems that have the following conditions favourable to their growth:

  • a temperature range between 20 and 50°C
  • water stagnation
  • a lack of system cleanliness

The key to preventing outbreaks of Legionnaires' disease is to control Legionella bacterial growth in water systems through preventive maintenance.

Since 1986, PSPC has been proactively operating and maintaining its buildings to ensure that they comply with codes, standards, and other requirements related to health and safety. In addition, property maintenance projects related to health and safety have been delivered and funded on a priority basis.

Following the outbreak of Legionnaires' disease in Quebec City in summer 2012, and the discovery that a cooling tower was the source, the Province of Quebec developed new regulations for the operation and maintenance of cooling towers. Although no Crown-owned or PSPC-operated buildings were implicated in the outbreak, the department was proactive in reviewing its guidelines for controlling Legionella and issued a new standard, MD 15161—Control of Legionella in Mechanical Systems.

Key features of the Quebec regulations include the registration of all cooling towers in the province, and the creation of a Legionella control plan for each tower that must be certified by a licensed professional engineer. Meanwhile, the scope of the new PSPC Legionella standard covers not only cooling towers but all Legionella-susceptible systems.

In buildings leased by PSPC, the lease agreements stipulate that the building must be operated and maintained in compliance with all applicable federal, provincial/territorial, municipal, and regional laws, acts, regulations, and codes. This includes compliance with American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) standards related to the maintenance of heating and cooling systems.

The department also works closely with regional health authorities when there is an outbreak of Legionnaires' disease to ensure that PSPC buildings remain safe.

The following policies and practices relating to the prevention and control of bacterial growth in PSPC-owned buildings are in place, based on federal and ASHRAE requirements:

  • The Real Property Services Facility Maintenance Policy requires preventive maintenance that includes inspection, testing, and cleaning of mechanical systems
  • The PSPC Legionella standard, Control of Legionella in Mechanical Systems, provides requirements for proper design, maintenance, operation, and bacterial testing to prevent the growth of Legionella bacteria
  • The PSPC Legionella Management Communications and Actions Protocol supports staff in applying the requirements of PSPC's standard for the Control of Legionella in Mechanical Systems. It provides a high-level summary of the actions required when receiving bacterial testing results. To obtain an electronic copy of this document, contact Real Property

Timely notification will be provided to the appropriate stakeholders should any system test above the allowable threshold limits for Legionella bacteria established in PSPC's standard for the Control of Legionella in Mechanical Systems.

More information on Legionnaires' disease can be found on the Health Canada website.

Follow us on Twitter at Twitter.com.

Date modified:

Bactérie Legionella : les immeubles de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada sont sécuritaires

La santé et la sécurité des occupants et des utilisateurs de ses immeubles est la principale priorité de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC).

En sa qualité de ministère gardien, SPAC a joué un rôle de premier plan quant à la mise en place de solides procédures visant à prévenir l'éclosion de la maladie du légionnaire (ou légionellose) qui pourrait toucher les locataires ou les occupants des immeubles gérés par le Ministère et ses fournisseurs de services.

La maladie du légionnaire est une infection respiratoire qui n'est pas contagieuse. La transmission se fait principalement par l'inhalation de vapeur ou de brouillard d'eau contaminé par la bactérie Legionella. Cette bactérie peut proliférer dans les systèmes d'eau de bâtiment selon les conditions favorables suivantes :

  • température variant entre 20 °C et 50 °C
  • stagnation de l'eau
  • manque de salubrité du système

Pour prévenir l'éclosion de la maladie, il faut contrôler la prolifération des bactéries présentes dans les systèmes d'eau en assurant un entretien préventif.

Depuis 1986, SPAC procède régulièrement à des tests dans ses immeubles pour s'assurer qu'il respecte les codes, les normes et les diverses autres exigences en matière de santé et sécurité. De plus, les projets d'entretien d'immeubles visant à assurer la santé et la sécurité sont réalisés et financés de façon prioritaire.

À la suite de l'éclosion de la maladie du légionnaire au cours de l'été 2012 à Québec, dont la source était une tour de refroidissement, la province de Québec a élaboré une nouvelle règlementation sur l'exploitation et l'entretien des tours de refroidissement. Même si aucun immeuble exploité par SPAC ou appartenant à l'État n'était en cause, le Ministère n'a pas tardé à examiner ses lignes directrices relatives au contrôle de la bactérie Legionella et a publié une nouvelle norme, soit la norme IM 15161 – Lutte contre la Legionella dans les systèmes mécaniques.

La nouvelle règlementation mise en place au Québec prévoit notamment l'enregistrement de toutes les tours de refroidissement de la province et la création d'un plan de lutte contre la Legionella pour chacune des tours, lequel doit être certifié par un ingénieur professionnel autorisé. Parallèlement, la portée de la nouvelle norme relative à la Legionella de SPAC vise non seulement les tours de refroidissement, mais aussi tous les systèmes susceptibles d'être contaminés par la bactérie.

Dans les immeubles loués par SPAC, le contrat de location stipule que l'immeuble doit être exploité et entretenu conformément à l'ensemble des lois, règlements et codes qui s'appliquent au fédéral, au provincial, dans les territoires, dans les municipalités et dans les régions, notamment la conformité aux normes relatives à l'entretien des systèmes de chauffage et de refroidissement de l'American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE).

De plus, le Ministère travaille en étroite collaboration avec les régies régionales de la santé en cas d'éclosion de légionellose afin de veiller à ce que les immeubles de SPAC demeurent sécuritaires. Les politiques et les pratiques suivantes portent sur la prévention et le contrôle de la prolifération des bactéries dans les immeubles appartenant à SPAC. Elles se fondent sur les exigences du gouvernement fédéral et de l'ASHRAE :

  • Conformément à la Politique sur l'entretien des installations de la Direction générale des biens immobiliers, il faut assurer un entretien préventif comprenant l'inspection, la vérification et le nettoyage des systèmes mécaniques. Cette politique est fondée sur les exigences de l'ASHRAE
  • Les lignes directrices d'ingénierie mécanique, Lutte contre la Legionella dans les systèmes mécaniques, offrent des conseils pour éviter la prolifération de la bactérie Legionella et pour effectuer le nettoyage et la désinfection des systèmes touchés
  • Le Protocole de communication et de prise de mesures relatif à la gestion de la Legionella de SPAC aide le personnel à appliquer les exigences des lignes directrices pour la Lutte contre la Legionella dans les systèmes mécaniques. Il fournit un résumé général des mesures requises après la réception de résultats d'essais bactériologiques. Pour obtenir une copie électronique de ce document, veuillez communiquer avec les Biens immobiliers

Lorsqu'un système ne respecte pas le seuil établi dans les lignes directrices de SPAC relativement à la présence de la bactérie Legionella, les intervenants pertinents en sont informés en temps opportun.

Pour en savoir plus sur la légionellose, consultez le site Web de Santé Canada.

Suivez-nous sur Twitter à Twitter.com.

Date de modification :