Response from Public Services and Procurement Canada

From Public Services and Procurement Canada

Mr. Michael Wernick
Clerk of the Privy Council and
Secretary to the Cabinet
80 Wellington Street
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0A3

Dear Mr. Wernick:

In response to your letter which we received on November 2, 2017, I am pleased to provide you with Public Services and Procurement Canada’s (PSPC) current and upcoming efforts toward HR-to-Pay stabilization.

PSPC is uniquely positioned as being both the administrator of Government Pay as well as a client. As a result, our departmental focus is best depicted in the three pillars identified below:

  • Administrator of Government Pay
  • PSPC as a Client
  • Internal Services to Support the Administration of Government Pay

The report enclosed herein focuses on the two last pillars and outlines the efforts and the corresponding impact that PSPC has contributed towards HR to Pay Stabilization from both the perspectives of a client department and as an internal service provider supporting Pay Administration.

While the attached report focuses on these two pillars of activity, the department is also leading government efforts to stabilize the pay system through the Integrated HR-to-Pay Team.

We are providing a range of internal services to support the administration of government pay. For example, we mobilized internal real property, procurement and human resources to rapidly establish satellite pay offices across the country. To build capacity in these

offices and at the Pay Centre in Miramichi, we continue to undertake staffing measures. In addition, recognizing the pressure that this unique situation is placing on our compensation staff, we are placing significant focus on workplace wellbeing.

As a client department, we are engaging all levels of the department to identify, address and prevent employee pay issues. This includes a particular focus on students for whom we have developed, implemented and tracked procedures to limit pay problems. We have also established dedicated offices to support employees in need and to escalate urgent pay issues. We are also piloting new processes and procedures to identify opportunities for pay processing efficiencies that could be deployed across the government.

While we have taken many actions to support the broader government response and to help our employees, there is still more that can be done. The entire senior management team is focused on this issue and meets every two weeks to discuss progress and needed next steps.

In the enclosed report and the corresponding supporting documentation, I have highlighted our current efforts and the resulting impacts. Additionally, I have provided an overview of upcoming activities and initiatives.

If you have any questions regarding our ongoing efforts, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Yours sincerely,

Marie Lemay, P.Eng., ing.
Deputy Minister
Public Services and Procurement Canada

Enclosure

Date modified:

Réponse de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

De Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

M. Michael Wernick
Greffier du Conseil privé et
Secrétaire du Cabinet
80, rue Wellington
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0A3

Monsieur,

En réponse à votre lettre que nous avons reçue le 2 novembre 2017, il me fait plaisir de vous faire part des efforts actuels et à venir de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) relativement à la stabilisation RH à-Paye.

SPAC est dans une position unique étant à la fois l’administrateur de la paye pour le gouvernement, ainsi qu’un client. Par conséquent, les objectifs de notre ministère sont mieux représentés dans les trois piliers ci-dessous :

  • Administrateur de la paye du gouvernement
  • SPAC en tant que client
  • Services internes de soutien à l’administration de la paye du gouvernement

Le rapport ci-joint met l’accent sur les deux derniers piliers et souligne les efforts et les impacts dont SPAC a contribué à la stabilisation de la paye selon les deux perspectives soit celle d’un ministère client et d’un fournisseur de services internes de soutien à l’administration de la paye.

En plus de mettre l’accent sur ces deux piliers, le ministère dirige également les efforts du gouvernement vers la stabilisation de la paye par l’entremise de l’équipe intégré de RH à-Paye.

Nous fournissons une gamme de services internes pour soutenir l’administration de la paye du gouvernement. Par exemple, nous avons mobilisé les biens immobiliers internes, approvisionnements et ressources humaines afin d’établir rapidement des bureaux satellites de paie partout au pays. Afin de développer la capacité de ces bureaux et au Centre de paye de Miramichi, nous continuons d’entreprendre des mesures de dotation. De plus, en reconnaissant la pression que cette situation unique exerce sur notre personnel de rémunération, nous mettons l’accent sur le bien-être au travail.

En tant que ministère client, nous engageons tous les niveaux du ministère, à identifier, à adresser et à prévenir les problèmes liés à la paye des employés. Cela comprend un accent particulier sur les étudiants, pour lesquels nous avons développé et mis en œuvre des procédures pour limiter les problèmes liés à la paye. Nous avons également établi des bureaux dédiés à soutenir les employés dans le besoin et pour escalader les problèmes liés à la paye urgents. Nous mettons également à l’essai de nouveaux processus et de nouvelles procédures afin d’identifier les opportunités de traitement efficace de la paie qui pourraient être déployées à l’échelle du gouvernement.

Bien que nous ayons pris de nombreuses mesures pour appuyer la réponse globale du gouvernement et aider nos employés, il reste encore beaucoup à faire. Toute l'équipe de la haute direction est concentrée sur cette question et se réunit toutes les deux semaines pour discuter du progrès et des prochaines étapes nécessaires.

Dans le rapport ci-joint et la documentation d'appui correspondante, j'ai souligné nos efforts actuels et les impacts qui en résultent. De plus, j'ai fourni un aperçu des activités et initiatives à venir.

N’hésitez pas à communiquer avec moi si vous avez des questions concernant nos efforts continus.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

Marie Lemay, ing., P.Eng.
Sous-ministre
Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Pièce jointe

Date de modification :