Less than two years of pensionable service

Terminating employment with the federal public Service

Explore these links to see what pension benefits may be available to you upon termination:

The administrative process

Upon leaving the federal public service, the Government of Canada Pension Centre will require certain documents and forms from you to start the termination process to determine your pension entitlement.

You must also remember to notify your employer of your intention of leaving as there may be other termination payments payable to you.

Pension benefits

The public service pension plan offers different pension benefit options:

More information on these pension benefit options can be found on the Pensions section of the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat website.

Description of pension benefits

Return of contributions

If you terminate your employment with less than two years of pensionable service, a return of contributions is your only pension benefit entitlement under the public service pension plan. A return of contributions is a lump sum equal to the pension contributions you paid into the plan, plus accrued interest. The rate of interest payable is calculated at the annual rate of return of the public service pension fund, compounded quarterly to the end of the quarter preceding the date of payment.

If you have an established pension entitlement under the public service pension plan and you voluntarily resign before completing two years of continuous employment in the public service, you are only entitled to a return of contributions for that later period of service, which could include a service buyback made during this last period of employment.

You have the option of having your return of contributions paid directly to you or transferring it to a Registered retirement savings plan (RRSP) or a Registered pension plan (RPP). If you choose to have your return paid directly to you, federal and provincial income tax will be deducted at source based on your province of residence (or country of residence for non-residents). A pension adjustment reversal will be reported to the Canada Revenue Agency to restore your RRSP room, if applicable.

Note 1: The Income Tax Act places restrictions on the pension benefits accrued per year of service. Pension benefits, which are within the limits allowed under the Income Tax Act, will be paid under the public service pension plan, with the remainder being paid from the Retirement compensation arrangement (RCA). The RCA is a plan, which provides benefits that exceed the allowable limits for a registered pension plan. Any RCA contributions that form part of the return of contributions entitlement cannot be transferred to a RRSP or a RPP. This portion is payable in cash and tax is deducted at source.

Note 2: If you are entitled to a pension benefit based on more than 33 years of pensionable service under the Canadian Forces or the Royal Canadian Mounted Police pension plan, please contact the Pension Centre as this may change your pension benefit options.

Important: If you leave the federal public service with a return of contributions, you will be covered under the current pension plan rules if you are later re-employed and you become a plan member again on or after January 1, 2013. This means that you could be eligible to receive an unreduced pension if you retire at age 65 or over with at least two years of pensionable service, or at age 60 or over with at least 30 years of pensionable service. To learn more, visit the Information concerning changes to the public sector pension plans page of the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat's website.

Additional options

Pension transfer agreement

If you have accepted, or are planning to accept a position with an employer outside the federal public service following your termination of employment, you may wish to consider transferring your pension credits to your new employer's pension plan instead of receiving a return of contributions. This can be done if a pension transfer agreement exists between the new employer and the Government of Canada (certain deadlines and restrictions apply). Further information can be found in the Pension transfer out section of the Pension portability package or by contacting the Pension Centre.

Important: If you transfer your pension credits to a new employer's pension plan under the general portability rules or a pension transfer agreement, you will be covered under the current pension plan rules if you are later re-employed in the federal public service and you become a plan member again on or after January 1, 2013. This means that you could be eligible to receive an unreduced pension if you retire at age 65 or over with at least two years of pensionable service, or at age 60 or over with at least 30 years of pensionable service. To learn more, visit the Information concerning changes to the public sector pension plans page of the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat's website.

Transfer to the Canadian Forces or the Royal Canadian Mounted Police pension plan

If you have accepted or plan to accept a position with the Canadian Forces or Royal Canadian Mounted Police, you may wish to consider transferring your pensionable service from the public service pension plan to their pension plan. If you wish to pursue such a transfer, please contact the Pension Centre.

Important: If you transfer your pension credits to the Canadian Forces or the Royal Canadian Mounted Police pension plan, you will be covered under the current pension plan rules if you are later re-employed in the federal public service and you become a plan member again on or after January 1, 2013. This means that you could be eligible to receive an unreduced pension if you retire at age 65 or over with at least two years of pensionable service, or at age 60 or over with at least 30 years of pensionable service. To learn more, visit the Information concerning changes to the public sector pension plans page of the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat's website.

Note: If you terminate employment with more than two years of pensionable service, you may have more pension benefit options available. For more information, consult the Pension entitlement information package—Plan members with two or more years of pensionable service or contact the Pension Centre.

Supplementary death benefit

The Supplementary death benefit (SDB) plan is a form of decreasing term life insurance protection. The plan provides a benefit equal to twice your annual salary, rounded up to the next multiple of $1,000.

Generally, your SDB coverage ceases at termination of employment. However, you could be eligible to continue coverage at the commercial rate if:

  1. You have two years of substantially continuous employment in the public service (without a break of more than three months);
  2. You have been a SDB participant for at least two years, including participation as a member of the Canadian Forces (without a break of more than three months); or
  3. You were a SDB participant at the commercial rate immediately prior to your employment in the public service.

If you meet one of the above conditions and you are interested in the supplementary death benefit coverage at the commercial rate, contact the Pension Centre for your coverage and rate information.

To apply for coverage under the SDB plan at commercial rates, you must complete the form Election to continue as participant under the supplementary death benefit plan (PWGSC-TPSGC 2017) and return it with your annual contributions to the Government of Canada Pension Centre within one year before or within 30 days after ceasing to be employed.

If you make a valid choice to continue participation in the SDB plan, your coverage and contributions will be reduced by 10% per year effective the earlier of April 1st or October 1st following your 66th birthday. Your coverage will cease at age 75.

Note: Certain agencies and public service corporations do not participate in the supplementary death benefit plan. Former employees of those agencies or corporations cannot participate in this plan. If you are unsure as to whether your employer participates in the supplementary death benefit plan, please contact the Pension Centre.

General information

Debts due to the crown

If your employer informs the Pension Centre that you owe a debt to the Crown, such as overpaid salaries and allowances, these amounts will be recovered from your return of contributions. You will be advised of such recovery in writing.

Deficiencies in supplementary death benefit contributions

If you have any supplementary death benefit contributions owing due to a period of leave without pay or for any other reason, they will be recovered from your return of contributions. You will be advised of such recovery in writing.

Re-employment in the federal public service

Should you become re-employed as a plan member in the public service before your return of contributions is issued, you would no longer be entitled to the payment. If the return of contributions is issued after your re-employment date as a plan member, you would be required to repay it to the public service pension fund. The period of service for which the return was paid would remain to your credit as pensionable service.

Potential service buyback

If you have any prior service that may be purchased in order to count as pensionable under the public service pension plan, keep in mind that this service must be bought back prior to your ceasing to be employed in the public service. Should your reason for termination be involuntary, you may wish to consider buying back prior service that may increase your pensionable service credit to two years or more, thus changing your available pension benefit options.

For additional information, refer to the Service buyback package.

Forms

Once you have reviewed the Pension Benefit Options Statement (PWGSC-TPSGC 2011E-PF) received from the Pension Centre and have made your pension choice, the Pension Benefit Options Statement must be returned to the Pension Centre as soon as possible for processing.

Date modified:

Moins de deux ans de service ouvrant droit à pension

Cessation d'emploi dans la fonction publique fédérale

Cliquez sur les liens suivants pour connaître les prestations de retraite auxquelles vous pourriez avoir droit au moment de votre cessation d'emploi :

Processus administratif

Lorsque vous quittez votre emploi, vous devez fournir certains documents et formulaires au Centre des pensions du gouvernement du Canada afin que le Centre des pensions puisse commencer le processus de cessation d'emploi pour déterminer votre droit aux prestations de retraite.

Par ailleurs, n'oubliez pas d'aviser votre employeur de votre intention de quitter votre emploi, car vous pourriez avoir droit à d'autres indemnités de cessation d'emploi.

Prestations de retraite

Le régime de pension de retraite de la fonction publique prévoit différentes options de prestations de retraite :

Veuillez consulter la section Régime de retraite de la fonction publique du site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur ces options de prestations de retraite.

Description des prestations de retraite

Remboursement de cotisations

Si vous quittez votre emploi et que vous avez accumulé moins de deux ans de service ouvrant droit à pension, le remboursement de cotisations est votre seul droit aux prestations de retraite en vertu du Régime de pension de retraite de la fonction publique. Un remboursement de cotisations est un paiement forfaitaire équivalant aux cotisations de pension que vous avez versées au régime, plus les intérêts accumulés. Le taux d'intérêt payable est calculé au taux de rendement annuel de la Caisse de retraite de la fonction publique, composé chaque trimestre jusqu'à la fin du trimestre précédant la date de paiement.

Si vous avez un droit à pension établi en vertu du Régime de pension de retraite de la fonction publique et que vous démissionnez volontairement avant d'avoir accumulé deux ans de service continu dans la fonction publique, vous n'avez droit au remboursement de cotisations que pour cette dernière période de service. Le remboursement pourrait comprendre les cotisations liées à un rachat de service exercé pendant cette dernière période d'emploi.

Vous pouvez choisir de recevoir votre remboursement de cotisations directement ou demander qu'il soit transféré dans un Régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite (REER) ou un régime de pension agréé (RPA). Si vous choisissez de recevoir le remboursement directement, l'impôt fédéral et l'impôt provincial sur le revenu seront retenus à la source selon votre province de résidence (ou pays de résidence pour les non-résidents). Un facteur d'équivalence rectifié sera communiqué à l'Agence du revenu du Canada pour que vos droits de cotisation à un REER soient rétablis, s'il y a lieu.

Remarque 1 : La Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu impose des limites quant aux prestations de retraite accumulées par année de service. Les prestations de retraite qui sont conformes aux limites permises en vertu de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu proviendront du Régime de pensions de retraite de la fonction publique, et le reste sera versé en vertu du Régime compensatoire (RC). Le RC est un régime à partir duquel sont versées les prestations qui dépassent les limites permises pour un régime de pension agréé. Les cotisations versées en vertu du RC et visées par le remboursement de cotisations ne peuvent pas être transférées dans un régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite ou à un régime de pension agréé. Cette somme est payable en espèces et l'impôt est retenu à la source.

Remarque 2 : Si vous avez droit à une pension basée sur plus de 33 ans de service ouvrant droit à pension au titre du Régime de pension des Forces canadiennes ou de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, veuillez communiquer avec le Centre des pensions, car ces renseignements pourraient changer vos options de prestations de retraite.

Important : Si vous quittez votre emploi au sein de la fonction publique fédérale avec un remboursement de cotisations, vous serez assujetti aux règles courantes du régime de pension de retraite si vous êtes réembauché et que vous redevenez participant au régime le 1er janvier 2013 ou après. Autrement dit, vous pourriez être admissible à une pension non réduite si vous prenez votre retraite à l'âge de 65 ans ou plus et que vous comptez au moins deux ans de service ouvrant droit à pension, ou à l'âge de 60 ans ou plus et que vous comptez au moins 30 ans de service ouvrant droit à pension. Pour en apprendre davantage, consultez la page Information concernant la modification des régimes de retraite du secteur public du site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada.

Options supplémentaires

Accord de transfert de pension

Si vous avez accepté un poste avec un employeur externe à la fonction publique fédérale à la suite de votre cessation d'emploi ou que vous prévoyez le faire, vous auriez peut-être avantage à songer à demander que vos droits à pension soient transférés au régime de pension de votre nouvel employeur plutôt qu'à demander un remboursement de cotisations. Un tel transfert peut être effectué s'il existe un accord de transfert de pension en vigueur entre le nouvel employeur et le gouvernement du Canada (sous réserve de certains délais et de certaines restrictions). Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, consultez la section Transfert du régime de pension de la Trousse d'information sur la transférabilité des pensions ou communiquez avec le Centre des pensions.

Important : Si vous transférez vos droits à pension au régime de pension d'un nouvel employeur en vertu des règles générales de transférabilité ou d'un accord de transfert de pension, vous serez assujetti aux règles courantes du régime de pension si vous êtes réembauché au sein de la fonction publique fédérale et que vous redevenez participant au régime le 1er janvier 2013 ou après. Autrement dit, vous pourriez être admissible à une pension non réduite si vous prenez votre retraite à l'âge de 65 ans ou plus et que vous comptez au moins deux ans de service ouvrant droit à pension, ou à l'âge de 60 ans ou plus et que vous comptez au moins 30 ans de service ouvrant droit à pension. Pour en apprendre davantage, consultez la page Information concernant la modification des régimes de retraite du secteur public du site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada.

Transfert au régime de pension des Forces canadiennes ou au régime de pension de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada

Si vous avez accepté un poste au sein des Forces canadiennes ou de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada ou que vous prévoyez le faire, vous auriez peut-être avantage à songer à demander que votre service ouvrant droit à pension soit transféré du Régime de pension de retraite de la fonction publique au régime de pension des Forces canadiennes ou au régime de pension de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada. Si vous désirez effectuer un tel transfert, veuillez communiquer avec le Centre des pensions.

Important : Si vous transférez vos droits à pension au régime de pension des Forces canadiennes ou au régime de pension de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, vous serez assujetti aux nouvelles règles du régime de pension si vous êtes réembauché au sein de la fonction publique fédérale et que vous redevenez participant au régime le 1er janvier 2013 ou après. Autrement dit, vous pourriez être admissible à une pension non réduite si vous prenez votre retraite à l'âge de 65 ans ou plus et que vous comptez au moins deux ans de service ouvrant droit à pension, ou à l'âge de 60 ans ou plus et que vous comptez au moins 30 ans de service ouvrant droit à pension. Pour en apprendre davantage, consultez la page Information concernant la modification des régimes de retraite du secteur public du site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada.

Remarque : Si vous avez accumulé plus de deux ans de service ouvrant droit à pension au moment de votre cessation d'emploi, d'autres options de prestations de retraite pourraient s'offrir à vous. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Trousse d'information sur le droit aux prestations de retraite – Deux ans ou plus de service ouvrant droit à pension ou communiquez avec le Centre des pensions.

Prestations supplémentaires de décès

Le régime de prestations supplémentaires de décès (PSD) est en quelque sorte un régime d'assurance-vie temporaire décroissante. Il prévoit une prestation égale au double de votre salaire annuel, arrondi au prochain multiple de 1 000 $.

En règle générale, la protection au titre du régime de PSD prend fin au moment de la cessation d'emploi. Toutefois, votre protection pourrait se poursuivre au taux commercial si :

  1. vous avez accumulé deux ans d'emploi sensiblement ininterrompu dans la fonction publique (sans interruption de plus de trois mois);
  2. vous participez au régime de PSD depuis au moins deux ans, y compris la participation en tant que membre des Forces canadiennes (sans interruption de plus de trois mois);
  3. vous participiez au régime de PSD au taux commercial immédiatement avant d'obtenir un emploi dans la fonction publique.

Si vous répondez à l'une des conditions susmentionnées et que vous souhaitez bénéficier de la protection au titre du régime de PSD au taux commercial, communiquez avec le Centre des pensions pour obtenir des renseignements sur votre protection et sur le taux.

Pour présenter une demande de protection au titre du régime de PSD au taux commercial, vous devez remplir le formulaire Option de continuer à participer au Régime de prestations supplémentaires de décès (PWGSC-TPSGC 2017), puis le retourner au Centre des pensions avec votre cotisation annuelle, dans l'année précédant ou dans les 30 jours suivants votre cessation d'emploi.

Si vous choisissez de continuer à participer au régime de PSD votre protection et vos cotisations seront réduites de 10 % par année à compter du 1er avril ou du 1er octobre suivant votre 66e anniversaire, selon la première de ces deux dates. Votre protection prendra fin lorsque vous aurez 75 ans.

Remarque : Certains organismes ou sociétés d'État ne participent pas au régime de PSD. Par conséquent, les anciens employés de ces organismes ou sociétés ne peuvent pas y participer. En cas de doute sur la participation de votre employeur, communiquez avec le Centre des pensions.

Renseignements généraux

Dettes envers l'État

Si votre employeur informe le Centre des pensions que vous avez une dette envers l'État, comme une rémunération ou des indemnités payées en trop, ces montants seront recouvrés à partir de votre remboursement de cotisations. Vous serez informé d'un tel recouvrement par écrit.

Cotisations en souffrance au titre du régime de prestations supplémentaires de décès

Si vous devez des cotisations au titre du régime de prestations supplémentaires de décès en raison d'une période de congé non payé ou pour toute autre raison, celles-ci seront recouvrées à partir de votre remboursement de cotisations. Vous serez informé d'un tel recouvrement par écrit.

Retour au travail dans la fonction publique fédérale

Si vous êtes réemployé dans la fonction publique et que vous participez à nouveau au régime avant que votre remboursement de cotisations vous soit versé, vous n'aurez plus droit à ce paiement. Si votre remboursement de cotisations est émis après que vous êtes réemployé, et que vous devenez participant au régime, vous devrez rembourser ces cotisations à la Caisse de retraite de la fonction publique. La période de service visée par le remboursement demeurera à votre crédit en tant que service ouvrant droit à pension.

Rachat de service potentiel

Si vous avez du service antérieur qui peut être racheté afin de le faire compter comme du service ouvrant droit à pension au titre du Régime de pension de retraite de la fonction publique, notez bien que vous devez effectuer ce rachat avant que vous cessiez de travailler dans la fonction publique. Si la raison de votre départ est involontaire, vous auriez peut-être avantage à songer à racheter du service antérieur. Ainsi, le service ouvrant droit à pension que vous avez accumulé pourrait passer à deux ans ou plus, ce qui changerait les options de prestations de retraite auxquelles vous avez droit.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter la Trousse d'information sur le rachat de service.

Formulaires

Une fois que vous avez examiné le Relevé des options de prestations de retraite (PWGSC-TPSGC 2011E-PF) envoyé par le Centre des pensions et que vous avez fait votre choix, vous devez retourner le formulaire au Centre des pensions dès que possible pour qu'il soit traité.

Date de modification :