Chapter 3: Organization screening

Document navigation for "Contract Security Manual"

Use this chapter in conjunction with Annex A: Guidelines on company security officer and alternate company security officer responsibilities.

On this page

3.1 Overview

To be screened by Public Services and Procurement Canada’s (PSPC) Contract Security Program (CSP), a Canadian organization must either:

This source must be one of the following:

By obtaining a security clearance with the CSP, the organization agrees with the Government of Canada to:

Pre-contract negotiations, involving protected or classified information and assets, cannot start before an organization has been security screened through the CSP, unless specified by the contracting authority. This also applies when a security-cleared organization wishes to award a subcontract with security requirements to another organization.

3.2 Organization clearance

There are 3 types of organization clearances:

A provisional security clearance is a temporary clearance approved for a specific solicitation process for organizations requiring access to sensitive information prior to responding to a solicitation with security requirements. It allows an organization to obtain personnel security screening for individuals who are part of their bid preparation team.

As for a DOS or an FSC, it is not awarded in perpetuity; it is granted to organizations for a specific contract or subcontract, and to organizations that bid on federal government solicitations with security requirements with a complete Application for registration (AFR) form. A DOS or an FSC allows an organization to obtain personnel security screening for their employees at the required level as indicated in the awarded contract or subcontract.

If an organization needs to possess or store protected or classified information and assets, an additional safeguard capability authorization is required. Please see Subsection 3.2.2 Safeguards.

During the organization screening process, certain individuals in the organization must be security screened. Please see Chapter 4: Personnel screening . These individuals include:

The security officers must be employed by the organization or a KSO, be physically located in Canada and be a Canadian citizen Footnote 1.

The CSO and CCSO must be security screened at least at the security level of the organization. The ACSO can be security screened at the level of the organization or lower, depending on its location and specific roles and responsibilities in regards to the other security officers.

The CCSO, CSO and ACSO must sign the security appointment, acknowledgement and undertaking form that describes their responsibilities. Information about these responsibilities can also be found in Annex A: Guidelines on company security officer and alternate company security officer responsibilities.

3.2.1 Types of organization clearances

The request for organization screening will indicate the type of organization clearance needed for the pre-solicitation, contract or subcontract.

A provisional security clearance is temporary. It is required to access protected or classified information or assets during the pre-solicitation and/or bid preparation phases of a solicitation process. At a minimum, the CSO and the identified employees that need access to the information require a personnel security screening at the level of the provisional clearance.

A DOS is required to access Protected A or B information or assets. A DOS also must obtain a site access status. Please see Section 4.3 Site access screening. At a minimum, the CSO will require a reliability status. In some cases selected KSOs may also require a reliability status.

An FSC is required to access classified information or assets: Confidential, Secret or Top Secret, North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) Confidential, NATO Secret, or Control of Secret Material in an International Command (COSMIC) Top SecretFootnote 2 or other foreign equivalent classified information. An FSC must also obtain a site access clearance. Before an FSC is granted, the CSO and KSOs identified by the CSP must be security screened, as a minimum.

A subsidiary is considered a separate legal entity requiring a separate DOS or FSC. A more detailed evaluation of the organization’s ownership may also be required. Please see Section 3.3 Foreign ownership, control or influence.

The CSP may require security screenings of all owners, directors, partners, and officers in positions of influence of organizations screened with the CSP, regardless of the security level required.

A provisional security clearance is valid for the duration of the bid solicitation stage only. During the bid evaluation stage, confirmed bidders are invited to complete the screening process to obtain either a DOS or FSC.

Once the clearance is granted, a DOS may be valid for up to 2 years and an FSC may be valid for up to 1 year as long as the organization complies with the requirements of the CSP. At the end of this period, the DOS or FSC will either be administratively terminated, if it is no longer required, or if it will be maintained and renewed by the CSP. A DOS or an FSC is valid if the organization is:

  • executing an active contract or subcontract with security requirements
  • participating in an international program with security requirements
  • holding a PSPC-issued standing offer or supply arrangement with security requirements
  • bidding on federal or foreign government or international organization solicitations with security requirements with a complete AFR form

It is the organization’s responsibility to keep the CSP informed of any changes following the screening process. PSPC also reserves the right to request an update or a renewal at any time following the screening process.

Note

Access to Protected C information and assets requires enhanced screening. Please contact the Contract Security Program for information if you require access to Protected C information and assets.

PSPC’s CSP will suspend or, as applicable, revoke a DOS or an FSC if the organization fails to maintain the required security standards of the CSP, consistent with the requirements of the security agreement and this manual. Suspension or revocation of a DOS or an FSC by the CSP could lead to a decision by the contract authority to cancel existing contracts.

3.2.2 Safeguards

There are different types of safeguards granted under a DOS or FSC.

Document safeguarding capability (DSC) allows an organization to view, possess and store protected and/or classified information and assets at their facilities for a specific contract or subcontract. In exceptional cases only, they can be kept for a specific solicitation process.

The CSP inspects and assesses the physical security of the organization's facilities. All sites with a document safeguarding requirement must be screened.

The additional safeguards listed below may be required depending on the requirements of the contract or subcontract. These safeguards are granted only after an organization has received a DSC. These include:

  • production capability allows an organization to build, manufacture, repair, modify or work on sensitive products at a work site in conjunction with a DSC
  • shredding capability allows an organization to destroy sensitive information or assets
  • bulk storage capability allows an organization to store bulk information or assets at their work site, to the level for which they are authorized
  • information technology (IT) authorization allows an organization to store, process or transmit sensitive information electronically
  • communications security (COMSEC) is the discipline of preventing unauthorized access to telecommunications information in readable form, while still delivering the information to the intended recipients
    • COMSEC is comprised of multiple disciplines such as cryptographic security, emission security (EMSEC), transmission security (TRANSEC), and physical security

A DSC will be granted for successful bidders only after their organization's facility has met the physical and administrative security requirements identified in the contract and has been inspected and approved by the CSP.

In the case of DSC for classified information and assets, a parent organization must also possess an FSC at the same level or it must be excluded from having access to classified information or assets held by the subsidiary organization. Parental exclusions may be recommended in certain cases in consultation with the CSP.

3.2.3 Reciprocal facility security clearances

Under a number of international bilateral security instruments (such as between Canada and the United States), the CSP can ask a foreign government to grant a reciprocal FSC to a foreign organization located in another country for access to Canadian, NATO and/or foreign classified information. This is useful if the organization becomes a subcontractor in a Canadian classified contract. Please email the CSP at tpsgc.dgsssiprojetintl-dobissintlproject.pwgsc@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca for information related to subcontracting to foreign organizations.

3.3 Foreign ownership, control or influence

A foreign ownership control or influence (FOCI) evaluation assesses the degree of authority, ownership, control or influence that foreign interests may have over a Canadian organization. This helps determine and mitigate the risk that unauthorized third parties may exert undue influence over a Canadian organization to access government classified information and assets.

FSCs do not exempt an organization from further evaluation. In addition, having a Confidential, Secret or Top Secret clearance does not exempt an organization from a FOCI evaluation, if it is required. The FOCI evaluation is generally triggered by the type of information being accessed. A FOCI evaluation must be done for contracts involving access to NATO, foreign or COMSEC classified information or assets, or as directed by the CSP.

The existence of foreign ownership, control or influence does not, in itself, prohibit an organization from holding an FSC. Each case is assessed individually based on the particular risk profile associated with the goods or services being procured to the government or foreign government client. In cases of an adverse assessment, the CSP will discuss with the organization and the client department whether certain measures can reduce the risk to an acceptable level by the CSP and the client department.

A FOCI evaluation must generally be completed before access to sensitive information, assets or sites is granted. The determination of FOCI risks is contract specific and remains valid during the contract as long as the degree of potential foreign control or influence of the organization does not change. Re-evaluations are conducted when a new FOCI requirement is identified or when the factors at the time of the evaluation change (for example, a new ownership or corporate restructuring).

3.4 Site inspections

Site inspections are a key component of the security screening process. An organization must allow the CSP field industrial security officer (FISO) to inspect all relevant facilities or sites to ensure that existing security measures protect information and assets.

Scheduled and unscheduled access by the CSP security inspectors is a normal condition of a contract with security requirements.

During the inspection, the FISO will also assess:

The organization cannot hold or store protected or classified information associated with the contract until the inspection process is completed and the CSP has notified it in writing that the DSC has been granted.

Inspections may be conducted at any time while the organization is security-cleared with the CSP. Inspection timeframes vary based on:

Learn more about site inspections.

3.5 Government of Canada security agreement

Before an organization receives a provisional security clearance, a DOS or an FSC, a KSO must complete and sign a security agreement with the Government of Canada. The security agreement outlines the terms and conditions of the organization’s security clearance as well as grounds for the suspension or revocation of the organization’s security clearance. After signing the agreement, the organization agrees to abide by all security requirements of the CSP. This agreement is signed as part of the security screening process.

3.6 Investigations

The CSP may conduct investigations of organizations for cause, in cases of non-compliance and for security breaches and/or violations. For example:

Non-compliance, security breaches and security violations could result in the revocation of personal and/or organization clearances.

Information about procedures for investigations can be found in Annex A: VIII. Investigations.

Document navigation for "Contract Security Manual"

Date modified:

Chapitre 3 : Enquête sur l’organisation

Navigation pour le document « Manuel de la sécurité des contrats »

Utilisez ce chapitre conjointement avec l’Annexe A : Lignes directrices sur les responsabilités des agents de sécurité d’entreprise et des agents de sécurité d'entreprise remplaçants.

Sur cette page

3.1 Aperçu

Pour faire l’objet d’une enquête de sécurité par le Programme de sécurité des contrats (PSC) de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC), une organisation canadienne doit soit :

Cette source doit être l'un des éléments suivants :

En obtenant une attestation de sécurité du PSC, l’organisation s’engage auprès du gouvernement du Canada à :

Les négociations préalables à l’attribution du contrat qui nécessitent des renseignements et des biens protégés ou classifiés ne peuvent entamer avant que l’organisation ait fait l’objet d’une enquête de sécurité du PSC, sauf indication contraire de l’autorité contractante. Cela s’applique également lorsqu’une organisation ayant une attestation de sécurité souhaite attribuer un contrat de sous-traitance qui comporte des exigences de sécurité à une autre organisation.

3.2 Attestation de sécurité d’organisation

Il existe 3 types d’attestations de sécurité d’organisation :

Une attestation de sécurité provisoire est une attestation temporaire approuvée pour un processus de demande de soumissions particulier pour les organisations nécessitant un accès à des informations de nature délicate avant de répondre à un appel d’offres comportant des exigences de sécurité. Elle permet à une organisation d’obtenir une enquête de sécurité sur le personnel pour les personnes qui font partie de son équipe de préparation des soumissions.

Pour ce qui est d’une VOD ou d’une ASI, elle n’est pas accordée à perpétuité; elle est accordée aux organisations pour un contrat ou un contrat de sous-traitance particuliers, et aux organisations qui répondent aux appels d’offres du gouvernement fédéral qui comportent des exigences de sécurité en soumettant un formulaire de demande d’inscription complet. Une VOD ou une ASI permet à une organisation d’obtenir une enquête de sécurité sur le personnel pour ses employés au niveau requis, comme il est prévu au contrat ou au contrat de sous-traitance attribué.

Si une organisation doit posséder ou conserver des renseignements et des biens protégés ou classifiés, il lui faut une autorisation supplémentaire de détenir des renseignements. Veuillez consulter la sous-section 3.2.2 Mesures de sécurité.

Au cours du processus d’enquête sur l’organisation, certaines personnes au sein de l’organisation doivent faire l’objet d’une enquête de sécurité. Veuillez consulter le chapitre 4 : Enquête sur le personnel. Ces personnes s’agissent notamment de :

Les agents de sécurité doivent être employés par l’organisation ou un CSC, être physiquement situés au Canada et être de nationalité canadienne.Note de bas de page 1

L’ASE et l’AGSE doivent être soumis à une enquête de sécurité au moins au niveau de sécurité de l’organisation. L’ASER peut faire l’objet d’une enquête de sécurité au niveau de l’organisation ou à un niveau inférieur, en fonction de son emplacement et de ses rôles et responsabilités particuliers en ce qui concerne les autres agents de sécurité.

L’ASE et l’ASER doivent signer le formulaire de nomination de sécurité, d’accusé de réception et d’engagement dans lequel leurs responsabilités sont décrites. Vous trouverez également des renseignements sur ces responsabilités à l’Annexe A : Lignes directrices sur les responsabilités des agents de sécurité d’entreprise et des agents de sécurité d'entreprise remplaçants.

3.2.1 Types d’attestations de l’organisation

La demande d’enquête de sécurité sur une organisation indiquera le type d’attestation de l’organisation de sécurité requis pour la phase préalable à la demande de soumissions, le contrat ou le contrat de sous-traitance.

Une attestation de sécurité provisoire est temporaire. Elle est nécessaire pour accéder à des renseignements ou à des biens protégés ou classifiés pendant les phases de préqualification et/ou de préparation de la soumission d’un processus de demande de soumissions. Au minimum, l’ASE et les employés identifiés qui doivent avoir accès aux renseignements doivent subir une enquête de sécurité sur le personnel au niveau de l’attestation provisoire.

Une VOD est nécessaire pour accéder aux renseignements et aux biens Protégés A ou Protégés B. Une VOD est également nécessaire pour obtenir une cote d’accès aux sites. Veuillez consulter la section 4.3 Cote d’accès aux sites. Au minimum, l’ASE nécessitera une cote de fiabilité. Dans certains cas, les CSC sélectionnés peuvent également nécessiter une cote de fiabilité

Une ASI est nécessaire pour accéder à des renseignements ou des biens classifiés : Confidentiel, Secret ou Très secret, Organisation du traité de l’Atlantique Nord (OTAN) Confidentiel, OTAN Secret, et COSMIC Très secretNote de bas de page 2 ou autres niveaux équivalents de classification utilisés dans d’autres pays). Une ASI est également nécessaire pour obtenir une autorisation d'accès aux sites. Avant qu’une ASI soit accordée, l’ASE et les CSC identifiés par le PSC doivent au moins faire l’objet d’une enquête de sécurité.

Une filiale est considérée comme une entité juridique distincte qui nécessite une VOD ou une ASI distincte. Une évaluation plus approfondie de la propriété de l’organisation peut aussi être requise. Veuillez consulter la section 3.3 Participation, contrôle et influence étrangers.

Le PSC peut nécessiter des enquêtes de sécurité sur tous les propriétaires, administrateurs, partenaires et dirigeants en position d’influence d’organisations ayant fait l’objet d’une enquête de sécurité auprès du PSC, quel que soit le niveau de sécurité requis.

Une attestation de sécurité provisoire est valide pour la durée du processus de demande de soumissions seulement. Au cours de la phase d’évaluation des offres, les soumissionnaires confirmés sont invités à suivre le processus d’enquête de sécurité pour obtenir une VOD ou une ASI.

Une fois que l’attestation est accordée, une VOD peut être valide jusqu’à 2 ans et une ASI peut être valide jusqu’à 1 an tant que l’organisation conforme aux exigences du PSC. À la fin de cette période, la VOD ou l’ASI sera soit résiliée administrativement, si elle n’est plus nécessaire, ou si elle sera maintenue et renouvelée par le PSC. Une VOD ou une ASI est valide si l’organisation :

  • exécutera un contrat ou un contrat de sous-traitance en cours comportant des exigences de sécurité
  • participera à un programme international comportant des exigences de sécurité
  • détiendra une offre à commandes ou un arrangement en matière d’approvisionnement émis par SPAC comportant des exigences de sécurité
  • soumissionnera à des appels d’offres du gouvernement fédéral ou étranger ou d’organisations internationales comportant des exigences de sécurité avec un formulaire de demande d’inscription complet

Il incombe à l’organisation de tenir le PSC informé de tout changement à la suite du processus d’enquête de sécurité. SPAC se réserve également le droit de demander une mise à jour ou un renouvellement à tout moment après le processus d’enquête de sécurité.

Remarque

L’accès aux renseignements et aux biens Protégés C exige une enquête approfondie. Veuillez communiquer avec le Programme de sécurité des contrats pour obtenir des renseignements si vous avez besoin d’accéder à des renseignements et à des biens Protégés C.

Le PSC de SPAC suspendra ou, selon le cas, révoquera une VOD ou une ASI si l’organisation ne parvient pas à maintenir les normes de sécurité requises par le PSC, conformément aux exigences de l’accord de sécurité et du présent manuel. La suspension ou la révocation d’une VOD ou d’une ASI par le PSC pourrait conduire à une décision de l’autorité contractante d’annuler les contrats existants.

3.2.2 Mesures de sécurité

Il existe différents types de mesures de sécurité accordés dans le cadre d’une VOD ou d’une ASI.

L’autorisation de détenir des renseignements (ADR) permet à une organisation de visualiser, de posséder et de conserver des renseignements et des biens protégés et/ou classifiés dans ses installations dans le cadre d’un contrat ou d’un contrat de sous-traitance particulier. Dans des cas exceptionnels uniquement, elle peut être gardée pour un processus d’appel d’offres.

Le PSC inspecte et évalue la sécurité physique des installations de l’organisation. Tous les sites soumis à une exigence relative à la détention des documents doivent être enquêtés.

Les mesures de sécurité supplémentaires énoncées ci-dessous peuvent être requises en fonction des exigences du contrat ou du contrat de sous-traitance. Celles-ci ne sont autorisées qu’après qu’une organisation ait reçu une ADR. Il s'agit notamment :

  • une autorisation de production est requise si l’organisation construit, fabrique, répare ou modifie des produits de nature délicate, ou travaille sur de tels produits, sur un lieu de travail dans un même temps que l’ADR
  • une autorisation de déchiquetage permet à une organisation de détruire des renseignements et des biens de nature délicate
  • une autorisation de stockage de masse permet à une organisation de stocker de grandes quantités de renseignements et de biens sur son lieu de travail, au niveau autorisé
  • une autorisation de traiter les technologies de l’information (TI) permet à une organisation de stocker, de traiter et de transmettre des renseignements de nature délicate par voie électronique
  • la sécurité des communications (COMSEC - Communication security) est l’ensemble des mesures visant à prévenir tout accès non autorisé à l’information de télécommunications sous forme lisible et à garantir la transmission de l’information aux destinataires prévus. COMSEC se divise en divers domaines de spécialité, notamment la sécurité cryptographique, la sécurité des émissions (EMSEC) et la sécurité des transmissions (TRANSEC), et la sécurité physique

Une ADR ne sera accordée qu’aux soumissionnaires retenus qu’après que les installations d’une organisation aient satisfait aux exigences de sécurité physique et administrative énoncées dans le contrat et aient été inspectées et approuvées par le PSC.

Dans le cas d’une ADR pour des renseignements et des biens classifiés, une organisation-satellite doit également posséder une ASI du même niveau sans quoi l’accès aux renseignements et aux biens classifiés détenus par la filiale doit leur être refusé. L’exclusion d’organisations-satellites peut être recommandée dans certains cas avec l’accord du PSC.

3.2.3 Attestations de sécurité d’installation réciproques

Aux termes d’un certain nombre d’instruments de sécurité bilatéraux internationaux (comme entre le Canada et les États-Unis), le PSC peut demander à un gouvernement étranger d’accorder une ASI réciproque à une organisation étrangère établie dans un autre pays pour un accès à de l’information classifiée du Canada, de l’OTAN ou d’un autre pays. Cela est utile si l’organisation devient un sous-traitant dans le cadre d’un contrat canadien classifié. Veuillez envoyer un courriel au PSC à tpsgc.dgsssiprojetintl-dobissintlproject.pwgsc@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca pour toute information relative à la sous-traitance à des entreprises étrangères.

3.3 Participation, contrôle et influence étrangers

Le processus d’évaluation de la participation, du contrôle et de l’influence étrangers (PCIE) vise à évaluer la participation, le contrôle et l’influence que pourraient avoir des intérêts étrangers sur une organisation canadienne. Ceci permet de déterminer et d’atténuer le risque que des tiers non autorisés exercent une influence indue sur une organisation canadienne dans le but d’accéder à des renseignements et à des biens gouvernementaux classifiés.

L'ASI n’exempte pas une organisation de faire l’objet d’autres évaluations. En outre, le fait d’avoir une autorisation de niveau « Confidentiel », « Secret » ou « Très secret » n‘exempte pas une organisation d’une évaluation de la PCIE au besoin. Le déclenchement de l’évaluation de la PCIE généralement dépend du type de renseignements auxquels on a accès. Une évaluation de la PCIE doit être effectuée pour les contrats qui prévoient un accès à des renseignements ou à des biens classifiés de l’OTAN, à des renseignements ou à des biens classifiés étrangers ou à des renseignements ou à des biens classifiés pour des questions de COMSEC, ou à la demande du PSC.

La seule présence d’une participation, d’un contrôle ou d’une influence étrangers n’exclut pas la possibilité d’obtenir une ASI. Chaque cas est évalué individuellement en fonction du profil de risque particulier, associé aux biens ou aux services fournis au gouvernement ou au gouvernement étranger client. En cas d’évaluation négative, le PSC discutera avec l’organisation et le ministère client si certaines mesures peuvent ramener le risque à un niveau jugé acceptable par le PSC et le ministère client.

Une évaluation de la PCIE doit généralement être effectuée avant l’accès à des renseignements, à des biens ou à des sites sensibles. L’établissement des risques relatifs à la PCIE dépend du contrat et demeure valide durant le contrat, dans la mesure où le degré de contrôle ou d’influence potentiels de l’étranger exercés sur l’organisation ne change pas. Des réévaluations sont effectuées lorsqu’une nouvelle exigence de la PCIE est établie ou lorsque les facteurs au moment de l’évaluation, un changement (par exemple, une nouvelle propriété ou restructuration organisationnelle).

3.4 Inspections des lieux

Les inspections des lieux sont un élément clé du processus d’enquête de sécurité. Une organisation doit permettre à l’agent local de la sécurité industrielle (ALSI) du PSC d’inspecter tous les sites et les installations concernés pour s’assurer que les mesures de sécurité adéquates protègent les renseignements et les biens.

L’accès programmé et non programmé des inspecteurs de sécurité du PSC est une condition normale d’un contrat comportant des exigences de sécurité.

Au cours de l’inspection, l’ALSI évaluera aussi :

L’organisation ne peut détenir ou stocker des renseignements protégés ou classifiés qui sont associés au contrat tant que le processus d’inspection n’est pas terminé et que le PSC ne l’a pas informée par écrit que l’ADR a été accordée.

Les inspections peuvent être effectuées à tout moment pendant que l’organisation détient une attestation de sécurité du PSC. Les délais d’inspection varient en fonction :

En savoir plus sur les inspections sur place.

3.5 Accord de sécurité avec le gouvernement du Canada

Avant qu’une organisation reçoive une attestation de sécurité provisoire, une VOD ou une ASI, un CSC doit conclure et signer un accord de sécurité avec le gouvernement du Canada. L’accord de sécurité décrit les conditions générales de l’attestation de sécurité d’organisation ainsi que les motifs de suspension ou de révocation de l’attestation de sécurité d’organisation. En signant l’accord, l’organisation s’engage à respecter toutes les exigences de sécurité du PSC. L’accord est signé dans le cadre du processus d’enquête de sécurité.

3.6 Enquêtes

Le PSC peut mener des enquêtes visant les organisations pour des raisons valables et en cas de non-conformité et d’atteintes ou de manquements à la sécurité. Par exemple :

La non-conformité, les atteintes à la sécurité et les manquements à la sécurité peuvent entraîner la révocation des enquêtes personnelles et/ou organisationnelles.
Vous trouverez des renseignements sur les procédures d’enquête à l’Annexe A : VIII. Enquêtes.

Navigation pour le document « Manuel de la sécurité des contrats »

Date de modification :