Employment in the Federal Public Service

The following information is intended to provide you, the Employer, with an understanding of the different types of employment in the public service.

You may want to know…

Employment Defined

Employment in the federal public service must be with a department or branch that forms part of the public service. It also includes employment in any of the boards, commissions or agencies that form part of the public service for pension purposes.

  1. Any department which is (or was during its lifetime) presided over by a Minister of the Crown.

  2. All other branches which are (or were during their lifetime) a part of the Executive Government.

  3. The Senate and the House of Commons (excluding Senators and Members of Parliament).

  4. The Library of Parliament.

  5. Any board, commission, corporation or portion of the public service of Canada specified in Schedule 1 - see the Population Affiliation Report.

Employment in the public service

Rule 1:

Prior to July 4, 1994, the effective date of becoming employed in the public service (for pension purposes) was the first day in which the employee received remuneration as a full-time employee. An employee was considered to be full-time when the assigned work week (AWW) was equal to 30 or more hours per week.

Rule 2:

Effective July 4, 1994, the effective date of becoming employed in the public service (for pension purposes) is the earlier of:

  • a. the first day in which the employee received remuneration as a full-time employee,

    or

  • b. where the individual's first employment in the public service was as a part-time employee, the later of:
    1. January 1, 1981, and
    2. The first day which the employee received remuneration as a part-time employee.

As of July 4, 1994, part-time (AWW > 12 hours per week) employment is considered employment in the public service, retroactive to January 1, 1981.

Types of Employment

A person can be employed in the public service on a full-time, part-time, seasonal, term or casual basis.

Full-time Employment Prior to July 4, 1994

Effective March 1, 1972:

  1. Employment requiring continuous service in a position where the employee is normally required to work an average of at least 30 hours per week.

    or

  2. Employment which consists of duties relating to two or more positions, each of which is less than 30 hours a week, but where the total hours of employment in all positions is at least 30 hours per week.

NOTE

Effective March 1, 1972, an assigned work week (number of hours assigned to work) of 30 hours or more per week was considered full-time employment for pension purposes.

Full-time Employment on or After July 4, 1994

  • a. Employment requiring continuous service in a position where the employee is normally required to work the full-time hours of his occupational group (i.e. 37.5 AWW/37.5 SWW or 40 AWW/40 SWW).

  • b. Employment which consists of an employee occupying two or more part-time positions where, the sum of the results obtained by dividing the number of hours the employee is assigned to work (Assigned Work Week-AWW) by the normal hours of work for the full-time position (Standard Work Week-SWW), is equal to or greater than 1.

    Example:

    1st position: AWW 26.00, SWW 36.25

    2nd position: AWW 15.00, SWW 37.5

    26.00/36.25 = 0.7
    15.00/37.5 = 0.4
    0.7 + 0.4 = 1.1

    The employee would be considered to be a full-time employee.

  • c. Employment in a position where the employee met the definition of full-time employee in effect prior to July 4, 1994, (i.e. 30 hours or more per week). He will remain a full-time employee as long as:

    1. the AWW does not fall below 30 hours a week, and

    2. there is no break in employment of more than one day.

    NOTE

    These employees are called "grandfathered full-time employees". The grandfather protection is maintained even if the number of hours fluctuates above 30 hours per week; it is lost immediately if the number of hours is reduced below 30 hours per week.

Part-time Employment Prior to July 4, 1994

When an employee was required to work an average of less than 30 hours per week, they were part-time employees and were not considered to be employed in the public service for pension purposes.

Part-time Employment on or After July 4, 1994

  1. Employment in a position where the employee is required to work an average of at least 12 hours per week but who does not work the standard (scheduled) full-time hours of the position (i.e. 12 AWW/37.5 SWW).

    Exception: See example in "Full-time employment on or after July 4, 1994"

  2. Employment which consists of an employee occupying two or more part-time positions where, the sum of the results obtained by dividing the number of hours the employee is assigned to work (Assigned Work Week-AWW) by the normal hours of work for the full-time position (Standard Work Week-SWW), is less than 1.

Example:

1st position: AWW 12.00. SWW 36.25

2nd position: AWW 15.00, SWW 37.50

12.00/36.25 = 0.3
15.00/37.50 = 0.4
0.3 + 0.4 = 0.7

The employee would be considered to be a part-time employee.

Types of Appointments

Indeterminate Appointment

An employee who is appointed on a continuous basis. There is no preset end date to the appointment. The employee hired on an indeterminate basis is normally assigned to work a set number of hours per week, established at the time of hiring.

Term Appointment

An employee who is appointed for a limited or definite period of time. The two most common term appointments that we must consider in establishing eligibility are a term of more than six months and a term of six months or less.

Student Appointment

Students are allowed to contribute if they meet the basic eligibility criteria to contribute to the public service pension plan. The eligibility to contribute rules applies to students the same way they do for other employees.

Seasonal Appointment

An employee who is either appointed, at a stated annual salary, to perform duties for a period of less than 12 months in successive years of employment, or is certified as such in accordance with the Public Service Employment Act. The seasonal employee normally works the same season every year. For example, a person could be appointed for a 6 month period which extends from May 1 to October 30, be on lay-off status from November 1 to April 30 and start working a new season in May the following year and so on.

Seasonal layoff is the status of a seasonal employee during the "off season" when the seasonal employee neither performs the duties of his position nor receives a salary.

Casual Employment

An employee who is hired as a casual worker and whose period of employment in the public service may not exceed 90 working days in one calendar year with any particular department or other organization. Employees who are offered a part-time casual position of 12 hours or more per week, for a period of more than six months, must contribute under the pension plan from the date of their appointment.

As Required/On Call Appointment

An employee who is hired to work on an "as required" or "on call" basis (i.e., only when needed there is no pre-established Assigned Work Week). An employee hired on this basis is not considered to be employed in the public service for pension purposes.

Emploi dans la fonction publique fédérale

Les renseignements qui suivent vous aideront à comprendre les différents types d'emploi dans la fonction publique.

Vous voulez peut-être savoir…

Définition d'emploi

Aux fins de la pension, tout emploi dans la fonction publique fédérale doit être occupé dans un ministère ou une direction générale, ou encore dans un conseil, une commission ou un organisme qui fait partie de la fonction publique :

  1. les ministères dont le responsable est un ministre (ou qui ont été présidés par un ministre à un moment ou à un autre de leur existence);

  2. les directions générales qui font partie du gouvernement exécutif (ou qui en ont fait partie à un moment ou à un autre de leur existence);

  3. le Sénat et la Chambre des communes (à l'exception des sénateurs et des Membres du Parlement);

  4. la Bibliothèque du Parlement;

  5. les conseils, les commissions, les sociétés ou les parties de la fonction publique du Canada qui sont précisés à l'Annexe 1 - Voir le Rapport sur le rattachement des populations.

Emploi dans la fonction publique

Règle 1

Avant le 4 juillet 1994, une personne devenait un employé de la fonction publique (aux fins de la pension) le premier jour pour lequel elle touchait une rémunération à titre d'employé à temps plein. Une personne était considérée comme un employé à temps plein lorsque sa semaine désignée de travail (SDT) était d'au moins 30 heures.

Règle 2

Depuis le 4 juillet 1994, une personne devient un employé de la fonction publique (aux fins de la pension) le premier des jours suivants :

  • a. le premier jour pour lequel elle touche une rémunération à titre d'employé à temps plein;

    ou

  • b. le dernier des jours suivants, si le premier emploi de la personne dans la fonction publique était à titre d'employé à temps partiel :
    1. le 1er janvier 1981;
    2. le premier jour pour lequel elle a touché une rémunération à titre d'employé à temps partiel.

Depuis le 4 juillet 1994, l'emploi à temps partiel (SDT de plus de 12 heures) est considéré comme un emploi dans la fonction publique, et ce, de manière rétroactive au 1er janvier 1981.

Types d'emploi

Une personne peut occuper différents types d'emploi dans la fonction publique, notamment un emploi à temps plein ou à temps partiel, un emploi saisonnier ou occasionnel, ou encore, elle peut être nommée pour une période déterminée.

Emploi à temps plein avant le 4 juillet 1994

Depuis le 1er mars 1972 :

  1. un emploi dans le cadre duquel une personne doit accumuler du service continu et où elle doit généralement travailler au moins 30 heures par semaine;

    ou

  2. un emploi dans le cadre duquel les fonctions d'une personne se rapportent à au moins deux postes, à chacun desquels elle consacre moins de 30 heures par semaine, mais dont le nombre total d'heures de travail consacrées à tous les postes est d'au moins 30 heures par semaine.

REMARQUE :

Depuis le 1er mars 1972, aux fins de la pension, un emploi dont la semaine désignée de travail (nombre d'heures désignées de travail) est d'au moins 30 heures est considéré comme un emploi à temps plein.

Emploi à temps plein depuis le 4 juillet 1994

  • a. un emploi dans le cadre duquel une personne doit accumuler du service continu et où elle doit généralement travailler le nombre d'heures à temps plein associé à son groupe professionnel (c'est-à-dire une semaine désignée de travail de 37,5 heures si la semaine normale de travail est de 37,5 heures ou une semaine désignée de travail de 40 heures si la semaine normale de travail est de 40 heures);

  • b. un emploi dans le cadre duquel une personne occupe au moins deux postes à temps partiel et dont la somme des résultats obtenus, en divisant le nombre d'heures désignées de travail (semaine désignée de travail (SDT)) par le nombre d'heures normales de travail du poste à temps plein (semaine normale de travail (SDT)), est égale ou supérieure à 1;

    Dans l'exemple suivant :

    1er poste : SDT = 26 heures, SNT = 36,25 heures

    2e poste : SDT = 15 heures, SNT = 37,5 heures

    26/36.25 = 0,7
    15/37,5 = 0,4
    0,7 + 0,4 = 1,1

    la personne serait considérée comme un employé à temps plein.

  • c. un emploi dans le cadre duquel une personne occupe un poste et où elle correspond à la définition d'un employé à temps plein qui était en vigueur avant le 4 juillet 1994 (c'est-à-dire au moins 30 heures par semaine). La personne sera considérée comme un employé à temps plein tant :

    1. que sa semaine désignée de travail sera d'au moins 30 heures;

    2. qu'elle ne subira pas d'interruption d'emploi de plus d'un jour.

    REMARQUE :

    Ces employés sont appelés « employés à temps plein jouissant de droits acquis ». Ces personnes conservent leurs droits acquis même si le nombre d'heures dépasse 30 heures par semaine, mais les perdent aussitôt que le nombre d'heures est inférieur à 30 heures par semaine.

Emploi à temps partiel avant le 4 juillet 1994

Une personne était considérée comme un employé à temps partiel lorsqu'elle travaillait moins de 30 heures par semaine, et elle n'était pas considérée comme un employé de la fonction publique aux fins de la pension.

Emploi à temps partiel depuis le 4 juillet 1994

  1. un emploi dans le cadre duquel une personne occupe un poste et où elle doit travailler en moyenne au moins 12 heures par semaine, mais où elle ne travaille pas le nombre d'heures de travail à temps plein normal associé au poste (c'est-à-dire une semaine désignée de travail de 12 heures et une semaine normale de travail de 37,5 heures);

    Exception : Voir l'exemple à la section « Emploi à temps plein depuis le 4 juillet 1994 »

  2. un emploi dans le cadre duquel une personne occupe au moins deux postes à temps partiel et dont la somme des résultats obtenus, en divisant le nombre d'heures désignées de travail (semaine désignée de travail (SDT)) par le nombre d'heures normales de travail du poste à temps plein (semaine normale de travail (SNT)), est inférieure à 1.

Dans l'exemple suivant :

1er poste : SDT = 12 heures, SNT = 36,25 heures

2e poste : SDT = 15 heures, SNT = 37,5 heures

12/36,25 = 0,3
15/37,50 = 0,4
0,3 + 0,4 = 0,7

la personne serait considérée comme un employé à temps partiel.

Types de nomination

Nomination pour une période indéterminée

Il s'agit d'une personne qui est nommée de façon permanente. Aucune date de fin n'est préétablie. La personne qui est embauchée pour une période indéterminée se voit généralement attribuer, au moment de l'embauche, un nombre fixe d'heures de travail par semaine.

Nomination pour une période déterminée

Il s'agit d'une personne qui est nommée pour une période limitée ou déterminée. Les deux nominations pour une période déterminée les plus fréquentes qu'il faut prendre en compte lors de la détermination de l'admissibilité à cotiser au régime de pension de retraite de la fonction publique sont les nominations pour une période de plus de six mois et celles pour une période de six mois ou moins.

Nomination d'étudiants

Les étudiants peuvent cotiser au régime de pension de retraite de la fonction publique s'ils répondent aux critères d'admissibilité de base. Les règles d'admissibilité à cotiser s'appliquent aux étudiants de la même manière qu'aux autres employés.

Nomination d'un employé saisonnier

Il s'agit d'une personne qui reçoit un salaire annuel fixe pour un travail s'étendant sur une période de moins de 12 mois, pendant plusieurs années successives, ou qui est accréditée à titre d'employé saisonnier conformément à la Loi sur l'emploi dans la fonction publique. L'employé saisonnier travaille généralement au cours de la même saison chaque année. Par exemple, une personne pourrait être nommée pour une période de six mois s'échelonnant du 1er mai au 30 octobre, être mise à pied du 1er novembre au 30 avril et recommencer à travailler pour une nouvelle saison en mai de l'année suivante, et ainsi de suite.

La « période d'inactivité » d'un employé saisonnier, c'est-à-dire lorsque celui-ci n'accomplit pas les fonctions de son poste et ne reçoit pas de salaire, est un congé saisonnier.

Emploi occasionnel

Il s'agit d'une personne qui est embauchée à titre d'employé occasionnel et dont la période d'emploi dans la fonction publique ne peut pas dépasser 90 jours ouvrables dans une même année civile, au sein d'un ministère en particulier ou d'une autre organisation. Les employés qui se voient offrir un poste occasionnel à temps partiel d'au moins 12 heures par semaine pour une période de plus de six mois doivent cotiser au régime de pension de retraite de la fonction publique à partir de la date de leur nomination.

Nomination d'un employé sur demande ou sur appel

Il s'agit d'une personne qui est embauchée pour travailler « sur demande » ou « sur appel », c'est-à-dire seulement lorsque ses services sont nécessaires (aucune semaine désignée de travail n'est préétablie). Une personne qui est embauchée selon ces conditions n'est pas considérée comme un employé de la fonction publique aux fins de la pension.