Supplementary Death Benefit

Information: GCintranet disclaimer

This information is only accessible from inside the Government of Canada network.

The following information is intended to provide you, the Employer, with general Supplementary Death Benefit (SDB) coverage information.

Reference to Compensation Advisor in the following text is the equivalent of an Employer representative.

You may want to know…

Introduction

The Supplementary Death Benefit (SDB) Plan came into effect on January 1, 1955 and forms Part II of the Public Service Superannuation Act (PSSA). The plan provides a type of decreasing term life insurance designed to cover members of the public service pension plan. The death benefit is a one-time, tax free, lump sum payment payable only upon the death of the participant.

The SDB plan applies to almost all public service employees who contribute to the public service pension plan. Coverage for eligible employees begins when they become public service pension plan members. SDB plan participants can name the beneficiary of their choice by completing the Naming or Substitution of a Beneficiary form PWGSC-TPSGC 2196 - This site is only accessible to federal government employees, and only to federal departments and agencies..

Since February 1, 2010, the Government of Canada Pension Centre is responsible for providing new plan members with information and guidance about the pension plan and the SDB. Upon receipt of the Plan Member Contact Information form PWGSC-TPSGC 577 - This site is only accessible to federal government employees, and only to federal departments and agencies., the Pension Centre sends the plan member a Notification of Plan Membership, along with an Orientation Information Kit which includes information on the SDB plan and a link to the Naming or Substitution of a Beneficiary form PWGSC-TPSGC 2196 - This site is only accessible to federal government employees, and only to federal departments and agencies..

Naming or Substitution of a Beneficiary form (PWGSC-TPSGC 2196)

Effective May 1, 2008, the Pension Centre is responsible for administering all activities regarding the designation of a beneficiary under the SDB Plan.

Compensation Advisors are no longer responsible for providing plan members with the Naming or Substitution of a Beneficiary form PWGSC-TPSGC 2196 - This site is only accessible to federal government employees, and only to federal departments and agencies. or for forwarding the form on their behalf.

Members requesting information related to the completion of the PWGSC-TPSGC 2196 and the naming of a beneficiary should be referred to the Pension Centre. Please visit the "Contact Us - Your Public Service Pension and Benefits" Web site for the Pension Centre "Contact Us" information.

The existing regulation that permits the Pension Centre to accept the PWGSC-TPSGC 2196 if the Deputy Head certifies that the form was received prior to the participant's death is still in force. If a member sends a completed PWGSC-TPSGC 2196 to his employing organization instead of the Pension Centre, the department's Human Resources (HR) is responsible for date stamping the envelope when it is received. In addition, the Compensation Advisor is responsible for returning the PWGSC-TPSGC 2196 to the member with a note informing him to submit it to the Pension Centre. A copy of the note, along with a copy of the completed PWGSC-TPSGC 2196 must be placed in the member's file. If the member dies before the Pension Centre receives the form, the Head of HR of the employing organization will be asked by the Pension Expert to send a letter to the Pension Centre indicating the date the form was received and the date it was returned to the member.

Persons Required to Contribute

Most employees who are required to contribute to the public service pension plan are also required to contribute to the SDB plan.

Some government agencies have their own group life insurance plan and are excluded from the SDB plan. Schedule III of the Supplementary Death Benefit Regulations lists the Crown Corporations and Boards that are excluded.

Periods of Coverage

Employees retain SDB coverage during the following periods:

  1. leave with pay;
  2. leave without pay, authorized or unauthorized;
  3. suspension;
  4. periods between seasons, in the case of seasonal employees;
  5. strike;
  6. periods between sessions of Parliament, in the case of sessional employees.

NOTE 1

Once a plan member has accumulated 35 years of pensionable service, his current contributions cease, however, he continues to contribute to the SDB plan as his SDB coverage is retained.

NOTE 2

For plan members who reach 71 years of age on or after January 1, 2008, both current and indexing contributions cease effective January 1st of the year following the year in which they reached age 71. However, they retain their SDB coverage and continue to contribute to the SDB plan.

"New" employees, 71 years old and older, will contribute to the SDB plan once the eligibility criteria have been met (e.g. term over six months, indeterminate, etc.).

Amount of Coverage and Contributions

The SDB plan provides coverage equal to twice the participant's final annual pensionable salary adjusted to the next highest multiple of $1,000.

SDB contributions are at the rate of $0.15 a month per $1,000 of coverage.

EXAMPLE 1

  • Salary - $30,485
  • SDB Basic Benefit - $61,000
  • ($61,000 / $1,000 x $0.15 = $9.15)
  • Contributions - $9.15 per month

NOTE 1

When a participant receives a retroactive salary increase, the SDB basic benefit is increased, based on the revised salary, on the first of the month following the date of the authorization of the increase.

NOTE 2

For a part-time employee, coverage is based on the employee's assigned work week (AWW). The salary is doubled and rounded up to the next multiple of $1,000.

EXAMPLE 2

  • Salary - ($47,450 x (22.5/37.5) = $28,470 x 2 = $56,940)
  • SDB Plan coverage is $57,000

SDB Contributions

Compensation Advisors continue to be responsible for starting SDB deductions, providing information and contribution amounts related to periods of leave without pay (LWOP) and certifying arrears/deficiencies amounts upon termination.

Contributions are paid monthly, by deduction at source from the plan member's salary, starting the month in which the employee becomes a contributor to the public service pension plan. Contributions cease effective the month in which the employee ceases to be employed, dies, or becomes employed in an excluded organization.

A full month's contribution is required for each partial month of coverage. Both the first and the last months are treated as complete months for contribution purposes regardless of the date on which the employee starts or ceases to be employed, or ceases to be a contributor.

NOTE

Crown Corporations are now responsible for reporting their plan members' SDB contributions via the Data Capture Tool (DCT). The amounts reported for plan members residing in Quebec or Ontario should exclude the sales tax.

SDB Contribution Payment for Periods of Leave Without Pay

SDB contributions for all periods of leave without pay (LWOP) are based on the rate of salary the employee would have received had he been on duty.

SDB contributions are always payable at the single rate regardless of the type of leave and will be paid as follows:

  1. from salary, if there is sufficient salary due for the month (when only a part of a pay period is without pay); and
  2. if there is insufficient salary or if a whole pay period is without pay, deductions will be recovered when the employee returns to duty.

For periods of LWOP other than those listed in (c) below and for which deductions were not paid in a lump sum within thirty days of the return to duty, the recovery will be extended over a period equal to twice the period of the absence.

In addition, in cases where the employee was on LWOP due to illness or disability which has been certified as such by the deputy head of the department, the payment period may be extended by the Minister if he is of the opinion that undue hardship may be caused to the participant.

  1. when the employee is absent by reason of:
    1. being on loan to an international organization;
    2. being on loan to the government of another country;
    3. being on loan to serve as a full-time paid official of a public service bargaining agent;
    4. being on loan to serve as a full-time paid official of a credit union; or
    5. being on loan to serve outside the public service on any federal royal commission, board or agency that is an agent of Her Majesty in right of Canada.

Contributions for reason of absence under (c) are to be paid to the Pension Centre quarterly, semi-annually, or annually in advance, at the participant's discretion.

NOTE

PSSA and SDB contributions should be paid with separate cheques. Any shortages in contributions have to be recovered from the salary when the employee returns to duty.

SDB Contribution Payment upon Termination

All arrears/deficiencies amounts must be identified on Termination/Retirement Information form PWGSC-TPSGC 2386 - This site is only accessible to federal government employees, and only to federal departments and agencies. upon termination.

If deficient contributions resulting from a period of leave without pay are not fully paid upon termination, the Compensation Advisor provides the member with the following payment options:

  1. Repay the full amount owing by personal cheque payable to Receiver General for Canada;
  2. Repay the full amount owing from termination payments; or
  3. Repay the full amount owing by having deductions taken from their pension payment once it becomes payable.

Public Service (Crown) Corporation Employer's Rate

Every Crown corporation, agency or public board set out in Schedule IV shall pay to the Consolidated Revenue Fund each month an amount equal to $0.04 for every $1,000 of basic benefit of each participant who is employed by the Crown Corporation, agency or public board at any time during that month.

Employers will be invoiced monthly for the SDB employer share of employee paid premiums and for arrears received from employees for periods of LWOP.

Salary for Death Benefit Purposes

The basic benefit of a participant to the SDB Plan is based on his salary. The following information will help employers calculate the SDB contributions.

"Salary" is defined as the compensation received for the performance of the regular duties of an employee's position or office in the public service expressed in terms of an annual rate:

  1. includes any bonus or allowance, the value of which is fixed by Treasury Board, that normally forms part of the salary for superannuation purposes;
  2. is the sum of salaries received by an employee in respect of employment in the public service on a full-time or on a part-time basis;
  3. corresponds to the total of all salaries received for someone who is in receipt of more than one salary in respect of full-time employment in the public service.

NOTE 1

For SDB purposes only, seasonal employees are considered to be in receipt of their full-time or part-time salary (deemed salary), as applicable, during the off-season. In cases where, during the off-season, the employee is also receiving a salary in respect of full-time or part-time employment, regardless of whether the employee is hired to work less or more than 12 hours per week in the public service, that part-time or full-time salary is to be combined with the deemed salary when determining the SDB basic benefit.

NOTE 2

When a plan member receives a pre-authorized salary increase (i.e. statutory increment), the revised salary for death benefit purposes is deemed to take effect on the date of the salary increase.

EXAMPLE 3

  • Pre-authorized salary increase dated May 15, 2008
  • Increase of SDB coverage: May 15, 2008
  • Increase of SDB contributions: May 1, 2008

NOTE 3

When a plan member receives a retroactive salary increase due to the signing of a new Collective Agreement, promotion or reclassification, the revised salary for death benefit purposes is deemed to take effect on the first of the month following the month during which the authorizing instrument was issued.

EXAMPLE 4

  • Collective Agreement signed: November 29, 2009
  • Retroactive salary increase effective: June 21, 2008
  • Increase of SDB coverage and contribution: December 1, 2009

NOTE 4

When a retired member receives a retroactive salary increase, the revised salary for SDB purposes is deemed to be effective on the first of the month following the month during which the authorizing instrument was issued. However, the increase has to be authorized no later than the month prior to the month of termination (SOS) for the retired member to be entitled to the increase of the SDB coverage.

Example (retired member entitled):

  • New collective agreement signature date: May 15, 2008
  • Member termination date: June 27, 2008;
  • Increase of SDB coverage: June 1, 2008;
  • Member is entitled to increase of SDB coverage since the increase is effective prior to the SOS.

Example (retired member not entitled):

  • New collective agreement signature date: June 4, 2008
  • Member termination date: June 27, 2008;
  • Increase of SDB coverage: July 1, 2008;
  • Member is not entitled to increase of SDB coverage since the increase is only effective after the SOS date.

Paid Up SDB Coverage Starting at Age 65

If a participant reaches the SDB age of 65 while employed, and he has completed two years of continuous employment in the public service or has two years of continuous participation in the SDB, he automatically has a "paid up" coverage of $10,000 for life at no cost. In other words, the participant will receive $10,000 of his SDB coverage without having to pay contributions. Starting at the SDB age of 65, SDB contributions will decrease by $1.50 per month (the contribution required for $10,000 paid up coverage), and the participant will continue paying contributions on the balance of coverage.

NOTE

The "SDB age" is April 1st or October 1st following the participant's actual birthday. The $10,000 paid up coverage, for example, starts on April 1st or October 1st following the participant's 65th birthday.

SDB Reduction Starting At Age 66

The SDB plan is a decreasing term life insurance. The basic benefit is reduced by ten percent of the original benefit for each year starting at the SDB age of 66 (April 1st or October 1st following the participant's 66th birthday. If a participant is still employed, the SDB coverage is never reduced to an amount that is below:

  • 1/3 of their final salary rounded up to the next multiple of $1,000; or
  • $10,000, whichever is greater. (See example below)

SDB Reduction, Coverage and Contribution

  • Salary - $34,850
  • SDB Basic Benefit - $70,000

Outlines the SDB reduction, coverage and contributions from SDB age of 60 to 75.

SDB Age Reduction Coverage Contribution
60 Nil $70,000 $10.50
64 Nil $70,000 $10.50
65 Nil $70,000 $9.00
($10.50-$1.50)
66 10% $63,000 $7.95
($9.45-$1.50)
67 20% $56,000 $6.90
($8.40-$1.50)
68 30% $49,000 $5.85
($7.35-$1.50)
69 40% $42,000 $4.80
($6.30-$1.50)
70 50% $35,000 $3.75
($5.25-$1.50)
71 60% $28,000 $2.70
($4.20-$1.50)
72 70% $21,000 $1.65
($3.15-$1.50)
73 80% $14,000 $0.60
($2.10-$1.50)
74 90% Minimum coverage ($10,000 if retired or $12,000 if employed) Nil
75 100% Minimum coverage ($10,000 if retired or $12,000 if employed) Nil

Commercial SDB

SDB participants who cease to be employed in the public service with an entitlement to an immediate pension (Immediate Annuity or an Annual Allowance payable within 30 days of termination), will automatically continue their SDB coverage if they have been employed in the public service without interruption for two years or if they have been an SDB participant for two years. Participants who are not entitled to an immediate pension must elect if they wish to continue their SDB coverage and must pay a higher, "commercial" rate of contribution.

The Pension Centre is now responsible for providing counseling in regards to Commercial SDB. When applicable, a Commercial SDB estimate will be added to the Retirement Information Kit sent by the Pension Centre upon termination.

Members requesting information related to Commercial SDB should be referred to the Pension Centre. The contact information can be found on the "Contact Us - Your Public Service Pension and Benefits" Web site.

Prestation supplémentaires de décès

Information : Désistement de responsabilité de GCintranet

Cette information est accessible seulement à l'intérieur du réseau du gouvernement du Canada.

Les renseignements généraux qui suivent sont destinés à l'employeur et portent sur la protection offerte par le Régime de prestations supplémentaires de décès (PSD).

Dans le texte suivant, le conseiller en rémunération désigne aussi un représentant de l'employeur.

Vous voulez peut-être savoir…

Introduction

Le Régime de prestations supplémentaires de décès (PSD), qui forme la Partie II de la Loi sur la pension de la fonction publique (LPFP), est entré en vigueur le 1er janvier 1955. Il fournit une assurance-vie temporaire décroissante aux participants du régime de pension de retraite de la fonction publique. Au décès du participant, la prestation est versée sous la forme d'un paiement forfaitaire non imposable.

Le Régime de PSD s'applique à presque tous les employés de la fonction publique qui cotisent au régime de pension de retraite de la fonction publique. La protection offerte aux employés admissibles entre en vigueur dès leur participation au régime de pension de retraite de la fonction publique. Les participants au Régime de PSD peuvent nommer le bénéficiaire de leur choix en remplissant le formulaire Désignation ou changement de bénéficiaire (PWGSC-TPSGC 2196 - Cette information n'est accessible qu'aux fonctionnaires fédéraux, et qu'aux ministères et organismes fédéraux.).

Depuis le 1er février 2010, le Centre des pensions du gouvernement du Canada est chargé de transmettre aux nouveaux participants au régime de l'information et des conseils au sujet du régime de pension de retraite et des PSD. À la réception du formulaire Coordonnées du participant au régime (PWGSC-TPSGC 577 - Cette information n'est accessible qu'aux fonctionnaires fédéraux, et qu'aux ministères et organismes fédéraux.), le Centre des pensions envoie au participant l'Avis concernant la participation au régime et une trousse d'information sur l'adhésion au régime qui comprend de l'information sur le Régime de PSD ainsi qu'un lien vers le formulaire Désignation ou changement de bénéficiaire (PWGSC-TPSGC 2196 - Cette information n'est accessible qu'aux fonctionnaires fédéraux, et qu'aux ministères et organismes fédéraux.).

Formulaire Désignation ou changement de bénéficiaire (PWGSC-TPSGC 2196)

Depuis le 1er mai 2008, le Centre des pensions gère toutes les activités liées à la désignation d'un bénéficiaire en vertu du Régime de PSD.

Les conseillers en rémunération ne se chargent plus d'envoyer le formulaire Désignation ou changement de bénéficiaire (PWGSC-TPSGC 2196 - Cette information n'est accessible qu'aux fonctionnaires fédéraux, et qu'aux ministères et organismes fédéraux.) aux participants au régime, ni d'acheminer ce formulaire en leur nom.

Les participants qui veulent obtenir des renseignements sur le formulaire PWGSC-TPSGC 2196 et la désignation d'un bénéficiaire doivent s'adresser au Centre des pensions. Pour connaître les coordonnées du Centre des pensions, veuillez consulter le site Web Contactez-nous - Votre pension et vos avantages sociaux de la fonction publique.

Le règlement autorisant le Centre des pensions à accepter le formulaire PWGSC-TPSGC 2196 si l'administrateur général certifie que celui-ci a été reçu avant le décès du participant est toujours en vigueur. Si un participant envoie un formulaire PWGSC-TPSGC 2196 rempli à son employeur plutôt qu'au Centre des pensions, le service des ressources humaines de l'employeur est tenu d'apposer le timbre à date sur l'enveloppe dès sa réception. De plus, le conseiller en rémunération doit retourner au participant le formulaire accompagné d'une note l'avisant d'envoyer le formulaire au Centre des pensions. Une copie de la note ainsi qu'une copie du formulaire PWGSC-TPSGC 2196 doivent également être placées dans le dossier du participant. Si le participant décède avant que le Centre des pensions reçoive le formulaire, l'expert en pensions demande au chef du service des ressources humaines de l'employeur d'envoyer une lettre au Centre des pensions pour lui communiquer la date de réception du formulaire et la date de son renvoi au participant.

Personnes tenues de cotiser

La plupart des employés devant cotiser au régime de pension de retraite de la fonction publique doivent également cotiser au Régime de PSD.

Certains organismes gouvernementaux sont toutefois exclus du Régime de PSD puisqu'ils possèdent leur propre régime collectif d'assurance-vie. L'Annexe III du Règlement sur les prestations supplémentaires de décès répertorie les sociétés d'État et les conseils publics exclus.

Périodes de protection

Les employés conservent leur protection en vertu du Régime de PSD durant :

  1. les congés payés;
  2. les congés non payés (autorisés ou non);
  3. les suspensions;
  4. les périodes pendant lesquelles les employés saisonniers ne travaillent pas;
  5. les grèves;
  6. les périodes pendant lesquelles les employés de session ne travaillent pas.

REMARQUE 1

Lorsqu'un participant a accumulé 35 années de service ouvrant droit à pension, ses cotisations courantes cessent, mais il continue de cotiser au Régime de PSD tant que sa protection est conservée.

REMARQUE 2

Un participant qui atteint l'âge de 71 ans le 1er janvier 2008 ou après cette date cesse de verser ses cotisations courantes et d'indexation à compter du 1er janvier suivant l'année de son 71e anniversaire. Il conserve toutefois sa protection et continue de cotiser au Régime de PSD.

Les « nouveaux » employés âgés de 71 ans ou plus commencent à cotiser au Régime de PSD dès qu'ils répondent aux critères d'admissibilité (p. ex. emploi d'une durée de plus de six mois, d'une durée indéterminée, etc.).

Montant de la protection et des cotisations

Le Régime de PSD offre une protection équivalant au double du salaire annuel final ouvrant droit à pension d'un participant, arrondi au prochain multiple de 1 000 $.

Le taux de cotisation au régime est de 0,15 $ par mois, par tranche de 1 000 $ de protection.

EXEMPLE 1

  • Salaire : 30 485 $
  • Prestation de base des PSD : 61 000 $
  • (61 000 $ / 1 000 $ x 0,15 $ = 9,15 $)
  • Cotisation : 9,15 $ par mois

REMARQUE 1

Lorsqu'un participant reçoit une augmentation de salaire rétroactive, la prestation de base des PSD est élevée selon le nouveau salaire à compter du 1er du mois suivant la date d'autorisation de l'augmentation.

REMARQUE 2

Dans le cas d'un employé à temps partiel, la protection est calculée selon la semaine désignée de travail de l'employé. Le salaire est multiplié par deux, puis arrondi au prochain multiple de 1 000 $.

EXEMPLE 2

  • Salaire : (47 450 $ x (22,5/37,5) = 28 470 $ x 2 = 56 940 $)
  • Protection du régime PSD : 57 000 $

Cotisations au Régime de PSD

Ce sont toujours les conseillers en rémunération qui se chargent de commencer le prélèvement des cotisations, de fournir de l'information ainsi que le montant des cotisations relativement aux périodes de congé non payé (CNP) et d'attester le montant des arriérés ou des insuffisances de cotisations à la cessation d'emploi.

Les cotisations d'un participant sont payées par retenues à la source mensuelles, à compter du mois où le participant commence à cotiser au régime de pension de retraite de la fonction publique. Les cotisations cessent dès le mois où le participant quitte son emploi, décède ou est embauché par un organisme exclu.

Le montant total de la cotisation mensuelle est exigé pour chaque mois partiel de protection. Le premier et le dernier mois de protection sont considérés comme des mois complets aux fins de cotisation, peu importe la date à laquelle le participant est embauché, quitte son emploi ou cesse de cotiser.

REMARQUE

Les sociétés d'État sont désormais tenues de communiquer les cotisations au Régime de PSD des participants qui sont à leur emploi au moyen de l'Outil de saisie des données. En ce qui concerne les participants domiciliés au Québec ou en Ontario, les montants transmis doivent exclure la taxe de vente.

Paiement des cotisations au Régime de PSD pendant un congé non payé

Les cotisations au Régime de PSD à verser au cours d'une période de congé non payé (CNP) sont calculées selon le taux de salaire dont bénéficierait l'employé s'il n'était pas en congé.

Les cotisations sont toujours payables à taux simple, peu importe le type de congé. Le paiement s'effectue comme suit :

  1. par retenue à la source, si le salaire mensuel de l'employé est suffisant (lorsque seule une partie d'une période de paye est sans solde);
  2. au retour de l'employé, si le salaire de celui-ci est insuffisant ou si une période de paye complète est sans solde.

Dans le cas d'une période de CNP pris pour une raison autre que celles énoncées au point c) ci-dessous, si les cotisations n'ont pas été payées par versement forfaitaire au plus tard 30 jours après le retour de l'employé, le paiement s'échelonnera sur une période égale à deux fois celle de la période de congé.

Par ailleurs, si un employé prend un CNP en raison d'une maladie ou d'une invalidité attestée par l'administrateur général du ministère, le ministre peut choisir de prolonger la période de paiement pour éviter de causer une difficulté excessive à l'employé.

  1. lorsque le motif du CNP est l'un de ceux-ci : 
    1. l'employé est en détachement auprès d'un organisme international;
    2. l'employé est en détachement auprès du gouvernement d'un autre pays;
    3. l'employé est en détachement pour occuper un poste à plein temps et rémunéré, à titre d'agent négociateur de la fonction publique;
    4. l'employé est en détachement pour occuper un poste à plein temps et rémunéré, à titre de représentant d'une coopérative de crédit;
    5. l'employé est en détachement auprès d'une commission royale d'enquête du gouvernement fédéral, d'un conseil ou d'un organisme qui est mandataire de Sa Majesté du chef du Canada.

Les cotisations d'un employé qui s'absente pour l'une des raisons énoncées au point c) doivent être versées à l'avance au Centre des pensions sur une base trimestrielle, semestrielle ou annuelle, au choix de l'employé.

REMARQUE

Les cotisations au Compte de pension de retraite de la fonction publique et au Régime de PSD sont payées au moyen de chèques distincts. Toute cotisation impayée est prélevée sur le salaire de l'employé à son retour.

Paiement des cotisations au Régime de PSD à la cessation d'emploi

Le montant de tous les arriérés ou des insuffisances de cotisations doit être indiqué sur le formulaire Information sur la cessation d'emploi/retraite (PWGSC-TPSGC 2386 - Cette information n'est accessible qu'aux fonctionnaires fédéraux, et qu'aux ministères et organismes fédéraux.) à la cessation d'emploi.

Si les insuffisances de cotisations découlant d'une période de congé non payé ne sont pas réglées à la cessation d'emploi, le conseiller en rémunération propose au participant les options de paiement suivantes :

  1. Le participant peut payer la totalité du montant dû par chèque à l'ordre du receveur général du Canada, tiré sur un compte personnel.
  2. Le participant peut payer la totalité du montant dû en le déduisant de son indemnité de départ.
  3. Le participant peut payer la totalité du montant dû en le déduisant de sa pension lorsque celle-ci deviendra payable.

Taux de cotisation de l'employeur pour les sociétés d'État

Chaque société d'État, organisme ou conseil public figurant à l'Annexe IV doit verser chaque mois au Trésor un montant de 0,04 $ par tranche de 1 000 $ de prestation de base, pour tous les participants qui sont à son emploi à n'importe quel moment durant le mois.

Les employeurs recevront chaque mois une facture couvrant la part de l'employeur selon les cotisations payées par les employés et les arriérés reçus de ces derniers pour des périodes de congé non payé.

Salaire aux fins des prestations de décès

La prestation de base d'un participant au Régime de PSD est calculée selon son salaire. Les renseignements suivants aideront les employeurs à calculer les cotisations requises au Régime de PSD.

Par « salaire », on entend la rémunération reçue pour l'exercice des fonctions habituelles du poste occupé par l'employé dans la fonction publique, exprimé sous la forme d'un montant annuel :

  1. qui comprend toute prime ou indemnité dont la valeur est fixée par le Conseil du Trésor et qui est généralement considérée comme une rémunération aux fins de la pension de retraite;
  2. qui correspond à la somme de la rémunération reçue par l'employé relativement à un emploi à temps plein ou à temps partiel au sein de la fonction publique;
  3. qui équivaut au total de la rémunération reçue par une personne touchant plus d'un salaire relativement à un emploi à temps plein dans la fonction publique.

REMARQUE 1

Aux fins des PSD seulement, on estime que les employés saisonniers reçoivent leur salaire à temps plein ou à temps partiel (salaire réputé) selon le cas, même durant la saison morte. Si, durant la saison morte, l'employé touche un salaire pour un emploi à temps plein ou à temps partiel (qu'il travaille plus de 12 heures par semaine ou non au sein de la fonction publique), ce salaire doit être ajouté au salaire réputé, aux fins de calcul de la prestation de base.

REMARQUE 2

Lorsqu'un employé reçoit une augmentation de salaire pré autorisée (c.-à-d. une augmentation statutaire), le nouveau salaire utilisé aux fins des prestations de décès est considéré comme entrant en vigueur à la date de l'augmentation.

EXEMPLE 3

  • Augmentation de salaire pré autorisée le 15 mai 2008
  • Date d'augmentation de la protection en vertu du Régime de PSD : le 15 mai 2008
  • Date d'augmentation des cotisations au Régime de PSD : le 1er mai 2008

REMARQUE 3

Lorsqu'un employé reçoit une augmentation de salaire rétroactive à la suite de la ratification d'une nouvelle convention collective, d'une promotion ou d'une reclassification, le nouveau salaire utilisé aux fins du calcul des prestations de décès est réputé entrer en vigueur le premier jour du mois suivant le mois d'émission du document d'autorisation.

EXEMPLE 4

  • Date de signature de la convention collective : le 29 novembre 2009
  • Entrée en vigueur de l'augmentation de salaire rétroactive : le 21 juin 2008
  • Date d'augmentation de la protection et des cotisations en vertu du Régime de PSD : le 1er décembre 2009

REMARQUE 4

Aux fins des PSD, lorsqu'un participant retraité touche une augmentation de salaire rétroactive, le salaire révisé est réputé entrer en vigueur le premier jour du mois suivant le mois d'émission du document d'autorisation. Cependant, pour que le participant retraité puisse en bénéficier, l'augmentation doit être autorisée au plus tard le mois précédant celui où le participant est rayé de l'effectif (RE).

Exemple (participant retraité admissible) :

  • Date de signature de la nouvelle convention collective : le 15 mai 2008
  • Date de cessation d'emploi : le 27 juin 2008
  • Date d'entrée en vigueur de l'augmentation de la protection en vertu du Régime de PSD : le 1er juin 2008
  • Le participant est admissible à l'augmentation de la protection en vertu du Régime de PSD puisque l'augmentation est en vigueur avant la date du RE.

Exemple (participant retraité non admissible) :

  • Date de signature de la nouvelle convention collective : le 4 juin 2008
  • Date de cessation d'emploi : le 27 juin 2008
  • Date d'augmentation de la protection en vertu du Régime de PSD : le 1er juillet 2008
  • Le participant n'est pas admissible à l'augmentation de la protection en vertu du Régime de PSD puisque l'augmentation n'est en vigueur qu'après la date du RE.

Protection acquittée à partir de 65 ans

Si un participant atteint l'âge des PSD de 65 ans alors qu'il est au service de la fonction publique et qu'il a, pendant deux années consécutives, travaillé au sein de la fonction publique ou participé au Régime de PSD, il obtient automatiquement une protection acquittée de 10 000 $ à vie et sans frais. Autrement dit, le participant recevra 10 000 $ de sa protection en vertu du Régime de PSD sans avoir à payer de cotisations. Lorsque le participant atteint l'âge des PSD de 65 ans, ses cotisations diminuent de 1,50 $ par mois (soit la cotisation attribuable à la protection acquittée de 10 000 $), mais il doit continuer à payer les cotisations relatives au solde de sa protection.

REMARQUE

L'« âge des PSD » commence le 1er avril ou le 1er octobre suivant la date d'anniversaire du participant. Par exemple, la protection acquittée de 10 000 $ commence le 1er avril ou le 1er octobre suivant le 65e anniversaire du participant.

Réduction des PSD à partir de 66 ans

Le Régime de PSD est une assurance-vie temporaire décroissante. Chaque année, à compter de l'âge des PSD de 66 ans (c.-à-d. au 1er avril ou au 1er octobre suivant le 66e anniversaire du participant), la prestation de base est réduite de dix pour cent de sa valeur initiale. Si le participant est toujours au service de la fonction publique, sa protection en vertu du Régime de PSD ne peut être inférieure au plus élevé des deux montants suivants : 

  • 1/3 de leur salaire final arrondi au prochain multiple de 1 000 $; ou
  • 10 000 $, selon le plus élevé des montants (voir exemple ci-dessous).

Réduction des PSD, protection et cotisation au régime

  • Salaire : 34 850 $
  • Prestation de base des PSD : 70 000 $

Résume la réduction des PSD, protection et cotisation au régime de 60 à 75 ans.

Âge des PSD Réduction Protection Cotisation
60 aucune 70 000 $ 10,50 $
64 aucune 70 000 $ 10,50 $
65 aucune 70 000 $ 9,00 $ (10,50 $ - 1,50 $)
66 10 % 63 000 $ 7,95 $
(9,45 $ - 1,50 $)
67 20 % 56 000 $ 6,90 $
(8,40 $ - 1,50 $)
68 30 % 49 000 $ 5,85 $
(7,35 $ - 1,50 $)
69 40 % 42 000 $ 4,80 $
(6,30 $ - 1,50 $)
70 50 % 35 000 $ 3,75 $
(5,25 $ - 1,50 $)
71 60 % 28 000 $ 2,70 $
(4,20 $ - 1,50 $)
72 70 % 21 000 $ 1,65 $
(3,15 $ - 1,50 $)
73 80 % 14 000 $ 0,60 $
(2,10 $ - 1,50 $)
74 90 % Protection minimale (10 000 $ pour un participant retraité ou 12 000 $ pour un employé) aucune
75 100 % Protection minimale (10 000 $ pour un participant retraité ou 12 000 $ pour un employé) aucune

Taux commercial de cotisation au Régime de PSD

La protection des participants au Régime de PSD qui cessent de travailler au sein de la fonction publique et qui sont admissibles à une pension immédiate (pension immédiate ou allocation annuelle payable dans les 30 jours suivant la cessation d'emploi) continue automatiquement si ces participants ont, pendant deux années consécutives et sans interruption, travaillé au service de la fonction publique ou participé au Régime de PSD. Les participants non admissibles à une pension immédiate doivent indiquer s'ils souhaitent conserver leur protection en vertu du Régime de PSD et, le cas échéant, verser leurs cotisations à un taux plus élevé (le « taux commercial »).

Le Centre des pensions est maintenant responsable de conseiller les membres sur le taux commercial de cotisation au Régime de PSD. À la cessation d'emploi, le Centre des pensions fait parvenir à l'employé une trousse d'information sur la retraite qui, le cas échéant, contient une estimation du taux commercial de cotisation au Régime de PSD.

Les participants souhaitant obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le taux commercial de cotisation au Régime de PSD doivent s'adresser au Centre des pensions, dont les coordonnées se trouvent à la page Web intitulée « Contactez-nous - Votre pension et vos avantages sociaux de la fonction publique ».